We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan Manali Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baan Manali Resort
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed here with four friends in October 2011. ( Its taken me a while to review!) The bungalow's were exactly what we wanted. They were clean with lovely beds, a fridge, Mozzi nets and modern shower room. We spent many evenings out on the 'porch' in the hammock playing cards.

The couple who own the place are really down the earth and friendly and happy to help anytime. The food at the small bar/restaurant was really good and the fact that your pretty much staying directly on a small beach in an old coconut plantation was great too. It felt like we were on a quieter side of the island, it was peaceful and beautiful but easy to get a taxi into the parties if we wanted.

I highly recommend for a lovely stay on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raynsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    89
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
53
201
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

The bungalow is very nice and clean, the Staff is very helpful, the beach is beautiful and it is only 10 minutes walk from thongsala (a small city), very convenient... So as I said it is definitely the place to stay in koh phangan!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zivset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Just leaving this hotel and am really impressed with the service, hospitality, rooms, food and beautiful environment surrounding the hotel. Family owned business, they are very attentive and friendly. Rooms are quiet and clean which is very important for me. I would definitely come back here!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank liza c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

...wasn´t that nice. First the resort: it´s quite near to the village, which is , in my opinion, a big advantage when you stay more than 3 nights (so you have a lot alternation for restaurants and the night market is always a good option, when you are hungry or thitsty. Second, the bungalows were excellent. Very clean, trim and with air condition. Every bungalow has a nice sea view and a balcony to relax. The bath was quiete nice with love for details. The bungalows were not closely spaced - important to have enough privacy. The garden was also well trimed - we loved it. The owner, a french-israelic couple, were quite nice and "easy-going". Sometimes, we wished to get some more informations about what´s going on and where to go (f.e., there were a festival in town and the did not told us about it - OR - they recommend a restaurant, but it was closed on Tuesdays (and we were there - on Tuesday). The only big disadvantage was the beach: it´s not really good for swimming, because it´s within a bay and it´s always shoal. It was quite nice to go with the kayak to the (uninhabted) island. For swimming, I really have to recommend to hire a motorbike. Within 20 to 30 minutes, there are at least 2 beaches which were very nice for swimming. When you are not experienced with motorbikes or not williing to hire one, you can also go by taxi for about 300 baht to other beaches. Warning: it´s always better to stop a driving taxi than ordering one or going to the village, they demand more baht). The resort is really quit, don´t expect to have party nights or something else there. At about 10 pm the (very good) restaurant closes and after 10.30 it´s not possible to order some more drinks. Fortunately, there is a 7 Eleven in the village, which is 24 hours open, but walking disntance is about 20 minutes. Altogether, we had a really good time there for a quite good price. We absolutely recommend the Baan Manali, but not for those who like to party or need a good swimmable sea...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquaneuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The rooms were good. They clean the rooms every other day which wasn't great when kids running in and out with sand on their feet. A lot of jellyfish in the water when we were there so we were only in the ocean once, but all those things we could live with. The attitude was the main issue for us.

The owners do not smile a lot. Felt unwelcomed. The breakfast is ok. Not big quantities! My friend got one strip of bacon for his eggs and bacon. Fruitplatters were different size every time. My sister got way more fruit on her platter then mine + fruit that I didn't get. INSTANT COFFEE. Clearly trying to cut corners and saving some money. I think unprofessional is the word to describe this place.
The owners child played around the tables. cycling around, people needed to move their chairs for her to get around. They were also on the beach when we were there and I guess I feel the owners should not be on holiday next to their guests. At least not to let the child move around the tables with the owner after her (playing along)while people eating. And once he, the owner sat in a sofa by the breakfast just chilling looking at everyone..creepy! And she was taking smoothies from the restaurant walking around with it. Chilling also.

All those things sums it up. Unprofessional. You don't want to feel like ur in a buddies house when u are on vacation. Look like the whole reason they ever made a place like that was so they can live the comfortable life, did see they had friends over on the beach as well, having a fun time. In a service occupation you just have to step it up. (We didn't pay to have umbrella drinks next to the owners also having umbrella drinks if u know what I mean.) And with their icy attitudes it's not something I would come back to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CamillaWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked a bungalow in the Baan Manali Resort and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The bungalows are clean, nicely furnished, you've got your own veranda out front and a very comfy hammock. Bathroom among the best we've seen in Thailand. The resort is right next to the beach, wonderful sunsets included. Water might be a bit too shallow to swim during low tide but still nice to cool down a little. The restaurant/bar/breakfast area is beautifully furnished and looks lovely, especially at night with the lights on. Very relaxed atmosphere, not the partying crowd that might be associated with full moon parties on Koh Phangan. Room service is only every second day but that didn't bother us at all. If you need anything at all anybody at the reception is very happy to assist you.
The resort is just a few minutes walk out of town and not far from the ferry terminal. There is a gorgeous massage place just a two minute walk away that you should definitely try: pure relax - best massage ever, very pleasant, clean and beautiful place.
Contrary to some tripadvisor reviews we thought the owners were very nice and helpful whenever we needed anything. Breakfast is delicious. Do try the muesli (it's homemade) with fruit salad and yoghurt, it's very yummy. Also the crepes and the toast are great, everything homemade. We had dinner there as well a couple of nights and the food was very good. You should like dogs and cats however because there a some around, very friendly though :).
Would definitely come back and highly recommend this gorgeous resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flauschipoohbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for six days over New Years 2013. We traveled all over Thailand, and this was definitely my favorite destination. It felt like a family vacation, everyone was so laid back and friendly. Good service, good food, beautiful scenery, clean and well decorated grounds and bungalows... What more could you want? Oh, and the meal they made for us on New Years night was delicious! I will be recommending this to whoever I know that is going to Thailand. I love the music they play in the restaurant too.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Barron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
2.9 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#2 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
6.7 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#10 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
6.6 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
6.9 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Manali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Manali Resort

Property: Baan Manali Resort
Address: 210/20 Moo 1, | Ao Nai Wok, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Manali Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at only 10 min walking from the main village of the island, Baan Manali Resort is a quiet and relaxing nest, surrounded by coconut trees, facing the lagoon. Spread in a tropical garden, our 11 cozy bungalows, built in traditional way, offer all the modern comfort (AC, hot water, new beds, private balcony and hammock). At our bar-restaurant facing the sunset, you will enjoy our cocktails, family Thai cooking or European dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Baan Manali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Manali Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing