We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan Manali Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baan Manali Resort
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Castro Valley, California, United States
1 review
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for six days over New Years 2013. We traveled all over Thailand, and this was definitely my favorite destination. It felt like a family vacation, everyone was so laid back and friendly. Good service, good food, beautiful scenery, clean and well decorated grounds and bungalows... What more could you want? Oh, and the meal they made for us on New Years night was delicious! I will be recommending this to whoever I know that is going to Thailand. I love the music they play in the restaurant too.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Barron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    89
    27
    6
    3
See reviews for
54
205
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Traveled from California with our 3 year old son. Right away we loved the newly constructed bungalows under the shade of trees. Even better we were welcomed by a view of the ocean at our feet and a direct shot of the sunset. If tranquility with the ease of walking to the nearby town is what you're looking for, well, this is it. The owners are a young hard working couple and their pride shows in their well maintained property. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

A real stroke of luck! A stunning setting, cozy bungalows with high standards and friendly staff. The place is family owned and they are service minded and very nice. The bungalows are located basically on the beach. Food is cheap and incredibly good. We stayed here for 5 days in early August. If you want to stay in a quiet place with good, cheap food, nice bungalows and incredibly beautiful environment you should definitely come here. It is also cheap to stay here. If we return to Koh Phangang we will stay here again. Baan Manali Resort are getting the best recommendations from us.
Thanks for the great 5 days! Sincerely Madelene, Larry and Julia

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madelenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koh phangan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Found this resort to be excellent and would highly recommend it.
Staff are very friendly and really nice people, they made our small son feel very welcome.
Great setting with lovely views. Rooms are very clean and beautiful, will return for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlife2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We booked just a night in advance for 600 bath. Rooms are very good, European style- you can see, that the resort is owned by a french guy, the rooms had a really good standard. But when we arrived, he told us the price will be 600 for every additional night we stay- an hour later he informed us, that he was wrong and the rate will be 900.

It's in walking distance to the pier (10 min.) and moving is quite expensive with the luggage, so we decided to stay- and it was a good decision.

Bed was the best we had so far in Thailand, room was large, well maintained and location was great- had sea view, it was quite, a small beach, palms all over and near to the main village.
Downside may be that there's no pool and the beach has brown sand, not the white one- but that's not even an minor issue.
It's a small resort, and the service is great. We were told where to rent the motorbike without getting betrayed, I damaged the sink and the owner repaired it without charge and within a few ours.

If you don't want to party (if you do stay in the south) this is a great place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

There is no other place like Baan Manali - the combination of the quiet atmosphere, gorgeous view, beautiful pampering bugalows and the sweet owners - made our experience there wonderful and we did not want to leave!
We found Baan Manali by chance, spent there five nights, and still could not stop admring the place for a second. The bungalows are a 5 star standard, there is amazing attention for details in all regarding comfort, service and decoration. It is also located in a comfortable 7 minute walk from Thong Sala pier and town, where there is a great market and all the neccesary services.
In short - do not miss this place !!

Room Tip: all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gili m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

My first impression at reception was just "Wow". The setting for Baan Manali is absolutely stunning. Facing out onto a lagoon with a stretch of white sand beach. Beautiful and relaxing even just to look at! It's about a 15 minute walk to the main village, and there are shops and a good massage place along the way, as well as an English pub called The Mason's Arms, who very nicely showed an Irish hurling game on tv for us.

The rooms we were in were lovely. Very clean, big bathroom, loads of light and good air-conditioning. There was a hammock outside each room, and also more down at the beach. There were very comfortable open sided huts on the grass by the beach where you could just chill out and relax, or head down to the sand and lie out there. The water is shallow, but you can still swim there in the late afternoon when the tide is back in.

Breakfast was included in our stay, and there was a good range of choices. We had pancakes a few days and they were tasty, if a little bit on the cool side. We got lunch when we arrived and I didn't really enjoy the chicken and rice I got, it was too greasy for me.

The place seemed family friendly, there were children's toys around, and some very friendly kittens running around, which is a big plus for me!

It's an ideal place to just unwind. Not the best location for anybody looking for mad nightlife, but I was very happy here, and would return in future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bookworm79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
2.9 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#2 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
6.7 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#10 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
6.6 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
6.9 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Manali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Manali Resort

Property: Baan Manali Resort
Address: 210/20 Moo 1, | Ao Nai Wok, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Manali Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at only 10 min walking from the main village of the island, Baan Manali Resort is a quiet and relaxing nest, surrounded by coconut trees, facing the lagoon. Spread in a tropical garden, our 11 cozy bungalows, built in traditional way, offer all the modern comfort (AC, hot water, new beds, private balcony and hammock). At our bar-restaurant facing the sunset, you will enjoy our cocktails, family Thai cooking or European dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Baan Manali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Manali Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing