We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”
Review of Ando Loco

Ando Loco
Ranked #75 of 368 Restaurants in Ko Pha Ngan
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Authentic Mexican food at backpacker prices. Imported spices, slow cooked family style flavors incorporated by an American Chef with over 15 years in the business. Killer Margaritas including out Jumbo 650 ml Margarita made only with real tequila. Come see for your self!
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Adequate”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were expecting something special after reading some of the reviews on here. I was desperately craving a Mexican so we searched for this place. It was ok, but really nothing special at all and quite expensive for what you get.
I also wouldn't rate this place very highly in terms of cleanliness and hygiene etc.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Toby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    73
    31
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
1 review
“It's the real deal...”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Ridiculously good Mexican food and drink at reasonable prices -- down in the islands no less. They even had a sturdy pool table to work off your meal. Bottom line: if you're down in Koh Phangan, make it over to Ando Loco...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cvcjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun restaurant, good Tex-Mex & drinks”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We went with a group of 7 on a very dead Monday night and had an absolute blast. The food was tasty, though they were out of guacomele which was disappointing. I think everyone was happy with their dishes, which ranged from veggie enchiladas to a very good looking shrimp dish. Not the best restaurant on the island, but definitely a top 10 option for sure, a decent value and a good place to get a margarita taboot.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank nateblaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Nice Tex Mex in Thailand”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had one lunch here and really enjoyed it. The food was much more tex mex than Mexican, but it was tasty. They also had very good margaritas. I liked the passion fruit one.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MeliQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always Great Food”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I ate here several times in early 2013 and early 2012, and every time the food was great.

They have a big selection of Mexican classics with a little Thai influence here and there. The Tequila prawns are what I can remember now but you can't go wrong with anything. Big portions and authentic ingredients including imported Mexican hot sauces.

Try one of the big selection of Margaritas (made with good quality tequila) but beware... they are strong!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CareyJBaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ando Loco also viewed

Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Ando Loco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing