We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard beds and lizard Central!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset Bungalows
Ranked #78 of 128 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Hard beds and lizard Central!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

This is by far the worst place we've stayed in by far! The beds were like sleeping on a cardboard box with only a tiny blanket for a cover. The worst part was there was a hole in the Roof in the bathroom and resulted in a huge amount of lizards coming through it, we don't mind the odd lizard but jeez!! And to top it off an iguana came through it, I like Jurassic Park but...! I always like to give one positive and that is that it was near the Haad Yao beach.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steviekerr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    1
    1
    6
See reviews for
3
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

As it was over the new year period, we expected to pay more than usual for a hotel. We found this bungalow as it was one of the only ones available. We paid £100 a night for a bungalow ( 5000 baht). This was an outrage and would have rather stayed on the beach. The room was old, on a total slant, the window was cracked, the door handle broken, no safe or secure area. Very little room and dirty bathroom. Upon arrival we had to make our own bed and had been given one towel and no form of quilt/sheet. We asked the staff for one and we got given one which absolutely stunk and was very dirty and had to change again.
We could put up with all of this because of the good area - near a great beach. However, we could not sleep for the 3 nights we stayed. There are cockrels crowing from 3am and Dogs howling ALL NIGHT. We felt like we were living on a farmyard and often returned to our room t find stray dogs asleep on our doorstep. The staff were very neglectful, the value for what we paid was absolutely disgusting, I have stayed in nicer hostels for £12 a night. The aircon was a broken fan but we didnt bother to complain because we didnt expect anything. We stayed about 12 minute walk from the beach which wasnt a problem but not at all what it was shown on the pictures. I would not recommend visiting this hotel, especially if you are given such an outrageous price, previous reviews give an opposite opinion which attracted us but please believe me this was a disgrace and put the beautiful thai islands to shame.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraSherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We booked this because we were late wirh our bookings and because of the Fullmoon Partys, most hotels were fully booked. When we arrived at the bungalows, we were very dissapointed.
Positive: The landlady and her boyfriend are very friendly and helpfull. The Bungalows are big. and new. The Aircon is very good.
Negative: The bungalows are very, very basic. And they did not clean ours during our 5-nights-stay. We don´t mind basic bungalows, but we do mind them, if they are this expensive. We have payed around 45 Euro and were very disappointed with the standard. Also the location ist not very good. TO get to the beach you have to walk through another resort. And the WIfi in the room does not work. Again I have to say, if we had payed 30 euro, everything would have been okay. But not for 45 Euro.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andi3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We are quite conflicted with this review. The bungalows (the ones at the back of the property, near to the 'hotel block' rooms) at Sunset bungalows are lovely. They are very comfortable, air con which works well, a big comfortable bed, hot shower with a good water pressure, fridge and nice big balconies with chairs and tables. It has an excellent location, a minute's walk to both the 7-11 and the beach.

Sid (the owner) and his staff are lovely and kind people. However, there is a major problem we had whilst staying here. The cockrels which are kept on the property, without fail woke us up every morning at 5am and were then crowing all day! Not really something you want while on holiday and wanting to rest and relax. We raised the issue with Sid but he said there was nothing he could do (even though the cockrels were his brother's and could have been moved to a different location). When we say they were noisy, these cockrels were underneath the bungalows and even on our balcony at one point and there were 5 of them! We didn't see any guest staying longer than a couple of days due to the early morning wake up calls!

Without the cockrels this place would be great to stay at. As it is, with the cockrels being so noisy we cannot recommend Sunset bungalows for a relaxing and restful stay unless you have a good set of earlplugs or can sleep through loud noise. It's a shame, because as we say the owner is lovely as are the bungalows.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loubbyloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, NH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We rented a private bungalow for over a week and it was great. The room was air conditioned and had a new and very comfortable bed. The location was great, next to Haad Yao Divers, small town, and beach. The owners were wonderful and you felt like family. Food was excellent. Bungalow was basic, but very clean and comfortable. Had a refrigerator and 7\11 is right next store. AC worked great. Best part was you felt hidden away when you were in the room, but had easy access to everything when you wanted it. We were there in the low season, so we had the beach, bar and restaurants almost to ourselves. Felt extremely safe and secure.

Price was absurdly affordable!

Room Tip: Get bungalows facing guesthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nashuaslick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at Sunset Bungalows in June 2012 for a few nights. Situated on the main road (not busy in the slightest) fronted by Apache bar, there are many bungalows and rooms in the guesthouse (for someone on tighter budget) all of which are very well maintained and comfortable.

The owners and staff are very approachable, kind and helpful. The area is very quiet and a 15 minute taxi journey to Thong Sala and 30 minutes to Haad Rin, if you're planning on going to the Full Moon Party. It's very easy to get there and back.

Haad Yao beach is 200 metres walk and one of the nicest, cleanest and surprisingly quietest on the island. For snorkeling it's great!

I ate many times in Apache bar, which serves very tasty Thai cuisine and shockingly good western dishes like Spaghetti Bolognese, beef/pork steaks and homemade burgers, if you've had enough rice!

Definitely Sleep and dine here if you get the opportunity, it's a lot better and more authentic and atmospheric than the restaurant on the beach front (Haad Yao) and lot better value for you money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I stumbled across Sunset Bungalows after arriving on Koh Phangan on a long holiday after planning to travel around, but we enjoyed this place so much we ended up spending nearly 3 months here!

There are around half a dozen rooms, some in a 2-storey guesthouse and a few newly built bungalows around 200m (short walk) from Haad Yao beach. All rooms with their own bathroom/AC/fan/hot water.

The bar/restaurant 'Apache Bar' is set just off the main road and serves a good selection of Thai & Western food along with a wide choice of Thai and European alcohol. All set in an al fresco atmosphere, with candlelit tables in the evening and a pool table/bar area if you fancy a few drinks after your meal! I highly recommend Mina's famous Massaman curry!

All in all, this is a really fantastic little place, family-run and with a great atmosphere. Excellent budget for travelers (around 500/600THB inc hot water/AC etc) and a good chance to meet other travelers from around the world.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Pha Ngan
0.0 mi away
The Ford Sunset Beach Resort
The Ford Sunset Beach Resort
#23 of 128 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Sunset Resort
Sea Sunset Resort
#68 of 128 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moon Dance Magic View Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Haad Yao Villa
Haad Yao Villa
#142 of 351 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dragon Hut Resort Koh Phangan
Dragon Hut Resort Koh Phangan
#34 of 128 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jungle Hut Bungalow and Hotel
Jungle Hut Bungalow and Hotel
#46 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Bungalows

Property: Sunset Bungalows
Address: 84/2 Moo.8 Haddyao, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Bungalows 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haad Yao Sunset Bungalows is a new small budget style resort in the center of Haad Yao. There are some stone bungalows, wooden bungalows and some hotel like rooms. All rooms are spacious, brand new and located in a quiet garden setting. The beachfront is just a minute away. The enclosed Restaurant and Bar offers Western Kitchen and the best Thai Kitchen on the beach. This is the place if you like the old Haad Yao feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Sunset Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing