We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private and quiet”
Review of Sunset Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Bungalows
Ranked #65 of 137 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We rented a private bungalow for over a week and it was great. The room was air conditioned and had a new and very comfortable bed. The location was great, next to Haad Yao Divers, small town, and beach. The owners were wonderful and you felt like family. Food was excellent. Bungalow was basic, but very clean and comfortable. Had a refrigerator and 7\11 is right next store. AC worked great. Best part was you felt hidden away when you were in the room, but had easy access to everything when you wanted it. We were there in the low season, so we had the beach, bar and restaurants almost to ourselves. Felt extremely safe and secure.

Price was absurdly affordable!

Room Tip: Get bungalows facing guesthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nashuaslick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 23 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at Sunset Bungalows in June 2012 for a few nights. Situated on the main road (not busy in the slightest) fronted by Apache bar, there are many bungalows and rooms in the guesthouse (for someone on tighter budget) all of which are very well maintained and comfortable.

The owners and staff are very approachable, kind and helpful. The area is very quiet and a 15 minute taxi journey to Thong Sala and 30 minutes to Haad Rin, if you're planning on going to the Full Moon Party. It's very easy to get there and back.

Haad Yao beach is 200 metres walk and one of the nicest, cleanest and surprisingly quietest on the island. For snorkeling it's great!

I ate many times in Apache bar, which serves very tasty Thai cuisine and shockingly good western dishes like Spaghetti Bolognese, beef/pork steaks and homemade burgers, if you've had enough rice!

Definitely Sleep and dine here if you get the opportunity, it's a lot better and more authentic and atmospheric than the restaurant on the beach front (Haad Yao) and lot better value for you money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I stumbled across Sunset Bungalows after arriving on Koh Phangan on a long holiday after planning to travel around, but we enjoyed this place so much we ended up spending nearly 3 months here!

There are around half a dozen rooms, some in a 2-storey guesthouse and a few newly built bungalows around 200m (short walk) from Haad Yao beach. All rooms with their own bathroom/AC/fan/hot water.

The bar/restaurant 'Apache Bar' is set just off the main road and serves a good selection of Thai & Western food along with a wide choice of Thai and European alcohol. All set in an al fresco atmosphere, with candlelit tables in the evening and a pool table/bar area if you fancy a few drinks after your meal! I highly recommend Mina's famous Massaman curry!

All in all, this is a really fantastic little place, family-run and with a great atmosphere. Excellent budget for travelers (around 500/600THB inc hot water/AC etc) and a good chance to meet other travelers from around the world.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Sunset Bungalows is next to Haad Yao Divers and is joined with the restaurant, Apache, which is run by Nima and her husband. We stayed there for 8 nights during Feb Full Moon party. Firstly, Haad Yao is a really beautiful place which has the perfect mix of beach bliss and enough going on the evening not to get bored. After walking all around Haad Yao beach, Sunset Bungalows was the best value for 600Bt per night for a big clean room with hot water and air con. The hosts are a family (who are sometimes a little run off their feet) but nice to support a Thai family business! Would definitely recommend staying here for the value. Free wifi and cheap food at the Spache restaurant too. The Masaman curry was yummy!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FleeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank kiteul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank pytchoune22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apachebar H, ผู้จัดการ at Sunset Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Mario S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apachebar H, ผู้จัดการ at Sunset Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,536 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wild & Wandering Backpacker Hostel & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
0.0 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
0.0 mi away
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Bungalows

Address: 84/2 Moo.8 Haddyao, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $17 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Bungalows 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haad Yao Sunset Bungalows is a new small budget style resort in the center of Haad Yao. There are some stone bungalows, wooden bungalows and some hotel like rooms. All rooms are spacious, brand new and located in a quiet garden setting. The beachfront is just a minute away. The enclosed Restaurant and Bar offers Western Kitchen and the best Thai Kitchen on the beach. This is the place if you like the old Haad Yao feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunset Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing