We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's just an average place to stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baan Haad Yao Villas
Reviewed January 12, 2014

On our arrival, we were told that we were been upgraded to one of the villa's from the standard room we had booked. So we were duly shown the villa's and spent one night in them. Both the one's we were given were high up, having to climb narrow unlit stairs that hadno hand rail and a good drop both sides. To say they were basic is understating it. The bathrooms had no roof, you could look at the sky and ttherefore allowed all the creatures you find in the tropics to just come in. They were dirty most uncomfortable. The bedroom had an ill fitting mosquito net over the bed and didn't make for a good nights sleep.
The following day we asked to be moved and were given the standard rooms we had booked. These weren't much better but at least they were less attractive to insects. As to the general upkeep of the resort, it was poor. The pool was dirty, pathways uneven and generally un cared for. Shame because it could be nice.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank simonsutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Baan Haad Yao Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 62 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

This was a nice place to stay two minutes and you were on the beach. This fmaily run hotel had good service and assisted in booking some trips and assisting with things. ALthough we had to move rooms it was not really a problem the one dissapointment was the room was not cleaned daily. THe pool was a little old sadly. The breakfast was good and a lovely place to eat it. The bungalow we had was very large but poorly lit which was a shame. Overall good but some room for improvement.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faceyreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We booked 6 nights via agoda and decided to stay another 48 nights, the walk-in monthly rate just couldn't be turned down, which was 25% cheaper than the best price found on the whole Internet for long stays. The bed was very comfortable with mosquito net, there was a good size fridge, a hot water kettle that kept water hot so you didn't have to wait for your cappuccino, just watch you make sure the button goes back to the top and don't be too heavy handed to achieve this. The tv had fox movies, discovery channel, bbc news, nickelodeon and a few other with all thai channels. The rooms have outdoor bathrooms, even staying in the rainy season mosquitos were not really a problem considering. Although staying in an ocean view room you could not see much of the ocean through the trees, the best place to see the sunset was the beach and it was a minute walk back, it is a flat well kept surface, so nothing strenuous at all, it is dark at night so use your mobile phone light or buy cheap torches before hand. The view within the grounds was nice due to the well kept garden, all the trees, very peacefully environment. I found the service from the staff good, very nice people and no one to dislike, yes, had to ask for room cleaning once in a while, but it isn't a problem. Only ate once at the hotel as it was nicer to eat at the beach with the sea breeze or by 7-11 a restaurant "crave" is highly recommended for burgers etc. Over the entire stay the pool was clean most of the time and was cleaned reguarly, we had a few days of constant rain so it wasn,t cleaned everyday, it is very nice when you can have the pool to yourself and it had shaded areas from the trees for those not wanting to be in the sun too much, also you can use the pool at night. The staff were always looking after the grounds and doing refurbishments, our villa had a loose tap which was easily lived with. All in all we were very satisfied with our stay, the only thing we would have changed would be to take a DVD player as fox movies constantly showed the same movies night after night. The location we found to be perfect, haad salad is the next beach up but nothing more to be had than what you get at haad Yao, but the best thing was it was 15 minutes by bike/taxi to get to koh Ma (haad mae) where the snorkelling which is a bit more special than haad Yao. You can see loads of fish just meters from the shore at haad Yao, we saw the odd squid and a huge big eyed fish hiding away in some rocks. Is good to see hoards of big fish feeding. When you get to te beach from the hotel you will see what looks like a flag about 25-40 metres out, the water gets deeper here, really liked the snorkelling here, so many people stick to the shallows and they do not know what they are missing. Sunsets are very nice here, the beach is never over crowded not even around full moon. The white sand and warmth of the water is very relaxing, the odd small motor boat coming in and out so nothing to worry about. Paradise!

Room Tip: Has pool villas and higher rooms so take your pick.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 420Glen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

1. Slow service from reception
2. They gave our friends room away even when they had paid in advance! The girls had to sleep in our room on hard camper beds. No discount was offered only a free basic breakfast for 1 morning.
3. The girls slept in our room for 2 nights with no refund or discount.
4. Very very hard beds.
5. Dirty restaurant.
6. Dirty swimming pool
7. yellow water coming from shower and tap, which made me sick one morning.

but amazing location- 2min walk from lovely beach and chilled bars.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivia j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I'm not the biggest outdoorsy person, so at this point of my trip, I just wanted to be comfortable. The room was large. I had the superior villa with sea view. It had a nice view, but the majority not ocean. Mostly the vegetation around, the pool and a little ocean. The beach looked nice, but I didnt swim there. The staff was amazing. They picked us up from the pier, then the same day we mentioned going to town and they offered another ride since they were going that direction. There was a locker with a key in reception where we could leave our valuables. Breakfast was good and made to order. Decent location. They had scooters to rent, which was an awesome experience. NIce patio

The netting for the mosquitos was gross. It had spots on it, so we took it off and put it on the floor. But surprisingly the mosquitos there were not so bad. Didnt love the bathroom. The water pressure was good, but there were holes in the tub and floor, I believe to drain water, but i felt like something might crawl out (I said I was super outdoorsy:). They didnt provide many toiletries. There was one small bottle of something that had no name, so we just used it as hand soap. No shampoo or conditioner or labeled soap. There was a spot of one of the towels and the hammock on the patio, but it was molded-looking and dirty.I would recommend this place it you want an outdoorsy place to stay. But, after driving around the island, I thought Had Rin had the most amazing beach...but that's where the loud parties are, so it depends on the time you go.

Koh Phanang is awesome! Rent a scooter if you feel comfortable, was amazing to scoot around the island

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liyah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We ended up at this hotel having arrived at the pier and finding a man sitting in a car with the hotels name on it! I had seen this hotel on the website and we decided to go and have a look.
The man charged us £10 to get there which was a little expensive seen as we ended up staying at their hotel, alot of hotels do free pick ups.

When we arrived at the hotel the man showed us a villa by the pool, well it was amazing. Lovely wood, a massive balcony, living room, huge bed, sofa in the room, fridge, tea making facilities, hair dryer. It really was nice.
The man charged us £25 a night 1000 baht. I was pleased with this price as i had seen it for more on the internet.

We stayed for 3 nights, during our stay there was only two other couples there, which we hardly saw.
The pool was amazing, we were the only ones using it during the hours of 8-4pm and after 4pm some thai children would use the pool, but this was no problem they were very sweet.

The hotel itself is only a few minutes walk to the beach, which is lovely.

We got a motorbike out and really enjoyed exploring the island.
There is not alot of choice near the hotel for food, so having the bike just gave us access to all the markets near the main pier.

I would definately recommend this and if we return to thailand then this hotel will be on the top of our list.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emilyh1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This resort has nice large rooms surrounded by a pretty well kept garden. The staff are friendly and although their English is not too good they are very helpful. The room itself is a spacious wooden cabin with a rather unusual bathroom. Part of the bathroom is open above (has no roof), but we found this quite charming. Unfortunately there were a lot of ants in the bathroom and the toilet was leaking. The shower was also almost coming off the wall. The bathrooms could definitely do with an update.
No complaints about the room itself, which was clean and nicely furnished.
The resort is not on the beach itself, but only a few minutes walk away. The beach is clean, with lots of nice restaurants mainly specialising in Thai food. Unfortunately this is not a good swimming beach as there are too many sharp rocks in the water. However the resort does have a beautiful swimming pool, with a small kiddies paddling pool attached.
Overall the resort is not bad value if you are on a budget, as the daily rate includes breakfast as well.
With a little TLC this resort could be improved greatly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the pool area. These rooms overlook the pool and are on level ground.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.1 mi away
Haad Yao Villa
Haad Yao Villa
#153 of 379 in Ko Pha Ngan
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaboard Bungalows
Seaboard Bungalows
#57 of 379 in Ko Pha Ngan
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bounty Resort
Bounty Resort
#59 of 379 in Ko Pha Ngan
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
J.B. Hut Bungalows
J.B. Hut Bungalows
#31 of 379 in Ko Pha Ngan
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haad Yao Over Bay Resort
Haad Yao Over Bay Resort
#50 of 379 in Ko Pha Ngan
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
See Through Resort Haad Yao
See Through Resort Haad Yao
#55 of 135 in Ko Pha Ngan
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Haad Yao Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Haad Yao Villas

Address: 56/16 Moo 8 | Haad Yao Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 379 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $22 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Haad Yao Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Baan Haad Yao Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Haad Yao Villas Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing