We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Quiet and secluded but steep walk included” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chills Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chills Resort
Ranked #53 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quiet and secluded but steep walk included”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in Chills Resort for the New Year's period for a week.

It is located in Srithanu beach which is about 15 minute taxi ride from Thongsala Pier (cost about 150 baht per person). Had Rin beach is 20 minute taxi ride away and will cost 200-250 baht per person).

It's a very nice chilled out place (as the name indicates) and every room has spectacular views of the sunset over the sea. They serve great food although slightly more expensive than you would find in restaurants nearby.

One thing I didn't like and felt it should have been indicated in their web page was that you have to go down a very steep hill to get to the resort. Often taxis didn't drive down there so we had to walk up the hill to get to the taxi. I am not unfit but climbing up the hill was a bit of a drag on the hot days. I can imagine that it would be a bit of an issue for the elderly or parents with small children.

There were a few power cuts during our stay and a few times we had no water, but hey, it's Thailand, you expect those kind of things.

I wouldn't stay there if you are in Koh Phangan for Full Moon Party, because going to and back from Had Rin is time consuming and gets a bit expensive. We did mostly diving so we were fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    4
    1
    7
    3
See reviews for
5
23
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed at Chills for 10 days in October - it's set on a beautiful isolated cove overlooking the sea with wonderful sunset views. The food is top notch and the management very attentive to all needs. It's a relaxed, beautiful place with a homely feel. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank slinkyfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Nice resort with small but nice beach, with clear sea water and a rockpool with sea water.
Very friendly staff, with familial atmosphere. To prove how nice they are, they even let us check out at 4pm without any charges!
The manager loves music, they invited us to one of their jam session in a bar in the island, nice songs, nice voices. We had great night.
Rooms & bathroom are nice, clean, and cheap (800b for fan room in low season).
They can book ticket for you, without any commission (as compared to fares in Hat rin)
Only negative point, the restaurant is good, but a bit pricey compared to other restaurant in the area.
Stayed there for 3 days, definitly wanted to stay longer, a Highlight in koh phangan.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank palmierspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at Chills early October 2012. We got picked up from the ferry (no additional charge) by Johnny, who immediately started pointing out local hotspots on the way to the resort. Whether you want to visit a good Thai-/seafood place to eat, rent a motorbike, book a daytrip, hail a cab, go to a party, he's your go-to guy. We rented a 1 room bungalow with adjoining bathroom, which was great, with a really nice ocean (and sunset!) view. Chills resort is a small place right on the beach with a very personal feel to it. The staff makes you feel right at home. And then there's the food. It doesn't really matter what you order (curry, seafood, western food), it all tastes wonderful. The beach in front of the resort is a little rocky, but the rockpool and the reef totally make up for it. If you want sandy beaches, hire a motorbike and head north for a bit. Make sure to visit the jam (at a beach bar closeby) on saturdays for some live music!

I'd recommend this place to anyone who isn't just on Koh Phangan for the full moon party and is looking for a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere - for a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evanwoerden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bd
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

The place was perfect to get to know the island by scooter. We spent a wonderful time with the best Cook of the island and the Manager of this wonderful place. The Beach is not as long and sandy as the ones in the north but the waterquality and the reef which is about 50 infront of the resort helped us to Love this place even more.

The size of the resort and the very warm friendly athmosphere were great for us (couple both 28y). It was worth every cent. It would be wrong to expect a four seasons Hotel. This place is different and more casual which is also a reason for why we should come back one day.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MathesG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Our room was nice and comfortable, right on the water. The location was beautiful although a little hard to get to. Most taxis refused to drive all the way to the resort. It is quite far from Haad Rin and we spent a lot on taxis. Our room was not cleaned once until our last day, after which we found money missing from both of our suitcases. Whoever cleaned our room went through our suitcases and stole money hidden in them. There was no safe in our room either. It is a really nice place to stay, but if you do stay there then do not leave any valuables in your room.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronnieeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

I stayed here with 2 boys from 15 and 17 years old.
This is the best place to be on Phangan. The view is stunning, the area is quit and the family is really nice and helpful. Had a good time with Robert and the family and good laughs. Robert also organises Jam session in a beach café close.
The bungalows are beautifully decorated, enough space and you can see the ocean from your bed. The food is almost the best in Thailand and if you want fresh fish, they are going to catch it for you.
You can rent scooters close to the place, but be careful on the roads. Cheap taxi's bring you in 10 minutes to Thongsala en 20 minutes to Haadrin.
I really wished I could stay longer(I stayed for 8 days).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank muriel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.0 mi away
Phangan Cabana Resort
Phangan Cabana Resort
#61 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
3.6 mi away
B 52 Beach Resort
B 52 Beach Resort
#75 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Loyfa Natural Resort
Loyfa Natural Resort
#11 of 327 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shanti boutique hotel
Shanti boutique hotel
#32 of 130 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sea Scene Resort
Sea Scene Resort
#21 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chills Resort

Property: Chills Resort
Address: 14/12 Moo 8, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a peaceful bay, with private beach. Only 15 minutes from the main town Thongsala, and a short distance from the village of Sreethanu. All the rooms and bungalows have sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chills Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing