We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic bay, funny staff, nice bungalows in all prices - highly recomendabel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandy Bay Bungalows
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Sandy Bay Bungalows is one of the earliest resorts in the fantastic bay, family owened and with updated standards of the bungalows along the way. Was recomended by friends, who have been here several times, also for 3 months. Very nice sunsets over the bay, a very good barbecue with fresh fish and gigant scrimps every night, a good bar with layedback music. And a swimmingpool, if you prefer, but the beach is great. There is also a reef 50 meters from the beach - it is not great but has some nice colourfull fish.

We where here 3 years ago (2010), and the prices has gone up here - as well as in most other places. Beachfront bungalows (in the sand) is 2.500 bath and lowest price in the back area is 700 bath. The bungalows have all airconditioning or fans, a terrasse, bath, and some also have a hammock - if your don't, then buy one in town for 350 bath or so - it is great with a cold drink and a view to the sea.

You can also find bungalows of lower standard elsewhere from 300 bath, but then you must realy be backpacking.... if you want to find a more secluded, more quired or cheaper area, it is altso a great place to be, while you explore the island on a motorbike (200 bath a day - and drive carefully).

This end of the beach is more quired, and in the other end you find more life, music, a hotel with good standard - and higher prices.

They serve Thai-food as well as steaks ect. Thai dishes from 200 bath, and a steak for 350 bath.

The staff is a story in itself. If you want "yes sir" waiters etc., you should not go here. Things are done in the Thai way, and they show a lot of personality and humor. If you expect "yes sir" waiters, you will find them rude, and you should stay at a big resort with international standard (with prices times 5) - and maybe you should not be in Thailand at all ? We like them a lot, know their names, and they also remembered us from 3 years ago. They are very helpfull and do a high - but Thai way - service, nice.

It is very clean and neat here, the bungalows are cleaned every 2. day, the beach is cleaned every day, and the pool is clean to.

The place is highly recomendabel, if you don't want international standard or backpacking standard, and we would like to come here again anytime.

Susanne and Gorm (Denmark)

Room Tip: Book in adwance, if you are here in the highseason - december to marts (included)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanneLundbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 204 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

We just got back from an amazing trip to Thailand and we spent 4 nights at Sandy Bay. We were a group of five, with three in one bungalow and myself & my boyfriend in another. We had a great, basic bungalow right on the beach. Haad Yao is a beautiful, quiet beach that looks exactly like a postcard! There's also some lovely places to eat- I recommend getting seafood BBQ and going to highlife for breakfast. The suit guy next door to the resort is a legend and you can get a relaxing aloe Vera massage out the front.
The downside is sadly the attitude of some of the staff. Danny and Boom Boom (if that's his real name!) are friendly and will let you play from your iPod on the beach bar. However the lady that runs the show is very rude. We decided not to eat at their resteraunt as we were consistently overcharged- so make sure you check the bill, not just the final total. Also one of our group was yelled at by 3 separate staff when there was confusion about what she'd ordered for breakfast. And check what price you are paying for a ferry ticket and transfer. We were overcharged and persistently asked to pay for a transfer when we got to Koh Samui. When we arrived at the port, there were clear signs stating that our ferry ticket included a transfer at the other end- something the manager would have been aware of. The sum of money is small (would have been 500 baht for nothing) but it's the principle.
In a nutshell, I'd come back to Haad Yao beach but stay at a different resort.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnjFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days and had an absolute ball. The pool and beach area was awesome and the whole vibe was enjoyable. The staff are very friendly (Danny is a nutcase, in a good way) and assist with taxi's, tours, scooters, ferry's and much more, The food is great and reasonably priced, the burgers in particular are unreal when you want a day off from Thai food. The bungalow that we stayed in was very basic, just what we needed, as well as a balcony with a hammock and a great view. I would certainly come back here.

Room Tip: Preferably with a view, and not too many stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Sandy Bay is located directly on the beach at Haad Yao giving guests fantastic access to the beach and the sea. You don't 'go' to the beach at Sandy Bay, you 'are' the beach at Sandy Bay!

Rooms are clean and well maintained with daily sheet and towel changes which couldn't be nicer after a hard day in the sun.

The only real issues I had with the place was the food that appears to cater for an exclusively non-Thai clientele. Simple basics like fresh chillis and fish sauce are missing from tables so patrons are unable to doctor the chef's best efforts as they arrive from the kitchen. This isn't specific to Sandy Bay, many of the surrounding restaurants seem to be missing these Thai staples and this is probably due to the fact that everywhere is catering for tourists. If you are going to eat at Sandy Bay, best to forget that you are in Thailand and to opt for the non-Thai options.

Lastly, there are certainly some members of the team who bring quite a lot of an attitude with them, there are quite often fake smiles followed by scorns that you just don't expect as a paying guest of any establishment, be it in Thailand or anywhere else.

Overall, I think that Sandy Bay is still 'Very Good', due mostly to the quality of the rooms and their paradise location.

Room Tip: Rooms directly on the beach are what you come to Sandy Bay for so if you don't get one of these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Herriotcube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We attempted to stay here so booked a fan room advertised for 500baht with complimentary transfer tv and wifi. The staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. When we arrived we looked at the room as the place wasnt much to look at. The room was dark and a little smelly and there was no tv but worst of all no wifi -not even in public area. We decided after much deliberation we would leave as what we booked was not what we got.

We asked them to drop us to the port where we would get a boat to Ko Samui and they charged us 300baht for a hotel van (not like we had a choice) We booked our boat to Koh Samui through them and they charged us 600baht but when we got to the pier we learned it was only 400baht with transfer so we actually paid 900baht in total. They assured me they would refund us our 500baht for our room but a week later we still haven't heard anything so in total paid 1,400baht instead of 400 so really feel like we got screwed.
Places like this ruin tourism around the world and simply shouldn't be in business. Do yourself a favour and don't be next and don't support these crooks.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Sandy Bay is undoubtedly the best we chose.
Its a beautiful place - You will feel at home.Beach bungalows are nicely done,neat and have own hammock for every bungalow/room.
We went to phangan for seven days and decided to stick to this place. Loved the food.
Especially vegetarians would adore this place for food.My husband is a Veg and we were little hassled before planning phangan - But this place was way to good - Had awsome breakfast items were all fresh. Staff is friendly and helpful - they helped us hire scootys. Location is awsome -You have Diving centres, Spas, tailors and a small market also - all walking distance from this place. Infact I had my first Diving experience here at sail rock. Beach is not very crowded and neat. You can take long walks with your spouse - evening time they generally put a net for volley ball and other sports. They also have a very clean pool. Had a lovely time.
Its a small and a cosy place - Would surely go back here :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RT82Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Right everyone please please please listen to me as i write this review. i tell you with total confidence that this hotel should not be visited. its is ABSOLUTELY CORRECT when people have said that the staff attitude is horrendus because it really really is (with the exception of danny the barman). everybody is rude, lazy and have about as much motivation as a rock. please see reason in that this place does not recieve over 10 terrible reviews for nothing! I speak especially to the younger backpackers visiting thailand and english speeking travellers since the manager seems to have something against these the most. i witnessed first had a disgusting argument between some curteous dutch girls who had spent a fair sum of money for theyre lunch. the manager was ruthless and began shouting at them because they wanted theyre 10 baht change. im sorry but 10 baht or no 10 baht it still belonged to the girls. The manager justified her unhospitable manor by saying they didnt eat theyre enough. excuse me but they had just paid for their room for 7 nights which was expensive enough for the service they receieved. so please as the latest review do not go here!!! you are made to feel on edge during your stay and all the staff care about is your money which when it comes to it, is of central importance to them rather than you enjoying your stay. Lets put a stop to this once and for all and let the un-thai-like staff get what they deserve - sod all!! stay further up the beach or 'high life' on the cliff top for fantastic customer service and the same beautiful beach and views.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jamesm92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.1 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#12 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
308 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#20 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaboard Bungalows
Seaboard Bungalows
#77 of 396 in Ko Pha Ngan
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
High Life Bungalow Resort
High Life Bungalow Resort
#10 of 396 in Ko Pha Ngan
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Longbay Resort
Longbay Resort
#38 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
#75 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Bay Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Bay Bungalows

Address: 54/1 Moo 8, Had Yao Beach, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 396 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Owned Beach resort with private beach, pool and genuine beachfront rooms, majority of rooms not directly on our beach have a sea view ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandy Bay Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Bay Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing