We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a last minute stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lelax Beach Resrot
Ranked #85 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good for a last minute stay”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

When getting off the boat having not booked a place to stay we decided to stay here, after a lot of pestering and bartering with the Thai sellers. We got an air con room with a double bed for a little less than priced advertised at the hostel.

The room was okay, little shabby (some DIY jobs needed) but generally quite clean. The location of the resort was in the middle of nowhere. 10 min walk to the nearest restaurant and that's pretty much it.

In the resort You can see the beach from the pool and also your hut. The pool is nice, but missing some floor tiles. The beach was alright, nothing special, no waves and very shallow, was pretty dirty if I'm honest.

Breakfast was a disappointment as it wasn't included in the deal. And to top it all off the food was expensive and came out cold.

Overall our stay was average (as we hadn't booked in advance). One night was enough.

My advise- barter your heart out if you are buying on the spot with the Thai ladies. As you could save a lot of money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    40
    50
    45
    124
See reviews for
8
77
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Very bad so sorry we stayed here. Its in d middle of nowhere, expensive, and don't get me started about d staff pure and utter useless and very bad english! The food is so expensive and is nothing special! D beach is not nice there either!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle-daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This place is a shame. The staff is very poor, there is nothing around. They won't help you or tey to get a lot of money out of your pocket. Though the beach is 5 seconded walking and the swimming pool pretty good don't come here unless you're looking for a place to sleep (or not) after the full moon party. The business is based on parties and taxis, the restaurant is too expensive for what it is an there is really nothing around. The room was clean but no mosquito net which can be a problem in this area. This hostel is gonna be proposed when you arrive at the pier by a very good guy and if you're in a rush or it's raining (like for me) you might get caught by this pretty chat.
Run!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireFROZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of 7, divided into 2 shacks, 4 double beds. First impression it looked like a shanty town. Lots of dogs and cats wandering around and sleeping on the decks. No hot water at all. A trickle of water out of the shower and taps. Shower and sink were one!! The bathrooms were an outhouse attached to a thatched shack. The toilet and cistern leaked so water everywhere. The shack itself was grubby and in dire need of a DIY job. There was holes in the floors so bugs and cockroaches were crawling into the room. Lighting was very poor in room, no safe to store items in the room itself and had to be stored in a safe room in reception where you bought a padlock for the locker. the door had to locked via a padlock.the beds were uncomfortable and springy. There was no duvet covers only a grubby blanket. There was towels provided which would have seenbetterdays and needed a good bleach and wash themselves. Mosquitos were everywhere and went thru bottles of spray. A coconut fell thru a neighbours roof one night!! No air xonditioning only two wall fans which were so loud!!

On the positive side though. The pool was lovely. A bit dirty but lovely and nice sun loungers surrounding it. Located right beside a beach and has beautiful views. Sunloungers aren't comfortable but are bearable. The restaurant on site did lovely food and staff were friendly. A good pool area attached there so evenings can be nice and relaxed.

It's located a good 15 minute taxi ride away from haad rin and costs 100 baht. It's located away from the main road and is a short walk to the reception from main road.

For a short stay on a budget, defiantly recommend it. Highly recommend for any full moon parties. It was cheap minus the cheerful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMissMalibu_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night for the Half Moon Party. It was much better than I expected. The bar area overlooks the beach, perfect to have a bite to eat with a few beers at sunset. Staff were great! Only negative would be that my room didn't have a safe which I felt a little uncomfortable about.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Honestly I'm used to travel on a budget and looking for cheap hostel but I've seen a lot better than this one for the same price. Because they know people will come for the full moon, no efforts are made. The bungalows are really small and not that clean.
You can find better than this hostel for the same price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyrilbru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I loved this resort. For a bungalow with a fan, it was quite cheap (split between two it's 300 baht each - if you're travelling solo, find someone willing to share!). Can get quite hot during the day in the rooms, but at the night the fan is more than enough. Bathrooms are open-aired which is awesome! The resort is right on the beach, has two pools, and the restaurant has really good food (their mixed fruit smoothies are actually the BEST I've ever had). The food is on the pricier side though, but what do you expect considering how cheap the bungalow is? Very fast service though. The one issue I had is the wifi - when the place fills up (mainly around Full Moon Party time), the wifi cuts out. Also one of the girls behind the desk is extremely rude - was not accommodating in the slightest :( Apart from that, beautiful place to stay and a great place to meet people!

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in the crappy sheds at the entrance of the resort (which they try to pull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenchristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.4 mi away
Baan Busaba Hotel
Baan Busaba Hotel
#64 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
39 reviews
0.8 mi away
B 52 Beach Resort
B 52 Beach Resort
#76 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
88 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mac's Bay Resort
Mac's Bay Resort
#47 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
6.4 mi away
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
#38 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phangan Beach Resort
Phangan Beach Resort
#26 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lelax Beach Resrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lelax Beach Resrot

Property: The Lelax Beach Resrot
Address: 145/10 Moo 1 | Ban Tai Subdistrict, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Power Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lelax Beach Resrot 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lelax Beach Resrot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Power Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing