We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for full moon, nothing else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Relax Beach Resrot
Ranked #87 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good for full moon, nothing else”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This place is a shame. The staff is very poor, there is nothing around. They won't help you or tey to get a lot of money out of your pocket. Though the beach is 5 seconded walking and the swimming pool pretty good don't come here unless you're looking for a place to sleep (or not) after the full moon party. The business is based on parties and taxis, the restaurant is too expensive for what it is an there is really nothing around. The room was clean but no mosquito net which can be a problem in this area. This hostel is gonna be proposed when you arrive at the pier by a very good guy and if you're in a rush or it's raining (like for me) you might get caught by this pretty chat.
Run!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireFROZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    40
    50
    45
    124
See reviews for
8
77
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of 7, divided into 2 shacks, 4 double beds. First impression it looked like a shanty town. Lots of dogs and cats wandering around and sleeping on the decks. No hot water at all. A trickle of water out of the shower and taps. Shower and sink were one!! The bathrooms were an outhouse attached to a thatched shack. The toilet and cistern leaked so water everywhere. The shack itself was grubby and in dire need of a DIY job. There was holes in the floors so bugs and cockroaches were crawling into the room. Lighting was very poor in room, no safe to store items in the room itself and had to be stored in a safe room in reception where you bought a padlock for the locker. the door had to locked via a padlock.the beds were uncomfortable and springy. There was no duvet covers only a grubby blanket. There was towels provided which would have seenbetterdays and needed a good bleach and wash themselves. Mosquitos were everywhere and went thru bottles of spray. A coconut fell thru a neighbours roof one night!! No air xonditioning only two wall fans which were so loud!!

On the positive side though. The pool was lovely. A bit dirty but lovely and nice sun loungers surrounding it. Located right beside a beach and has beautiful views. Sunloungers aren't comfortable but are bearable. The restaurant on site did lovely food and staff were friendly. A good pool area attached there so evenings can be nice and relaxed.

It's located a good 15 minute taxi ride away from haad rin and costs 100 baht. It's located away from the main road and is a short walk to the reception from main road.

For a short stay on a budget, defiantly recommend it. Highly recommend for any full moon parties. It was cheap minus the cheerful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMissMalibu_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night for the Half Moon Party. It was much better than I expected. The bar area overlooks the beach, perfect to have a bite to eat with a few beers at sunset. Staff were great! Only negative would be that my room didn't have a safe which I felt a little uncomfortable about.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Honestly I'm used to travel on a budget and looking for cheap hostel but I've seen a lot better than this one for the same price. Because they know people will come for the full moon, no efforts are made. The bungalows are really small and not that clean.
You can find better than this hostel for the same price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyrilbru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I loved this resort. For a bungalow with a fan, it was quite cheap (split between two it's 300 baht each - if you're travelling solo, find someone willing to share!). Can get quite hot during the day in the rooms, but at the night the fan is more than enough. Bathrooms are open-aired which is awesome! The resort is right on the beach, has two pools, and the restaurant has really good food (their mixed fruit smoothies are actually the BEST I've ever had). The food is on the pricier side though, but what do you expect considering how cheap the bungalow is? Very fast service though. The one issue I had is the wifi - when the place fills up (mainly around Full Moon Party time), the wifi cuts out. Also one of the girls behind the desk is extremely rude - was not accommodating in the slightest :( Apart from that, beautiful place to stay and a great place to meet people!

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in the crappy sheds at the entrance of the resort (which they try to pull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenchristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We booked this resort 3 months before the April full moon party in a bid to land ourselves in a comfortable, convenient location. We got it very wrong!

We paid for a standard bungalow which still cost the equivalent of £22, we immediately regretted our decision.

Bungalow was a wooden shack, with no air con, just a noisy fan. The heat was stifling and probably the main attraction for the countless number of cockroaches and lizards we came into contact with in our room! The en-suite bathroom is technically another outbuilding, with holes in the bathroom roof, where the insects get in. The shower didn't work very well and the sink was a plant pot.

The staff were extremely unhelpful and the manager told us we had 2 choices when we complained after our first night- pay 3000 baht for an upgrade to a deluxe bungalow or move to another standard, we did the latter, didn't make much of a difference!

Breakfast was average, food off the menu was over priced and under value. It was a good 25 minute taxi from the full moon which we were quite happy with though.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaG2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I arrived in Koh Phangan hoping to sort out some accommodation at the pier and that's how I heard about this place. There was not much accommodation available owing to the Full Moon Party the night before. Staff were very casual and there seemed to be quite a few just hanging around reception giggling all the time. My room was nothing to write home about, except for ants and the plants growing through the roof of the bathroom... They have a strict policy on no food from outside the hostel, so I ate in town and then I got told off by a waiter for not eating dinner at the resort!

Swimming pool is only available 9 am-10pm and there are fines for this (and everything else) if you break the rules! Laundry was expensive at 50 B per kilo, but it was a quick turnaround. Wifi is pretty sketchy.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavieenrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.4 mi away
Baan Busaba Hotel
Baan Busaba Hotel
#64 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
40 reviews
6.0 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
0.8 mi away
B 52 Beach Resort
B 52 Beach Resort
#78 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Beck's Resort
Beck's Resort
#44 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phangan Beach Resort
Phangan Beach Resort
#31 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
461 reviews
4.6 mi away
Suncliff Resort
Suncliff Resort
#45 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Relax Beach Resrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Relax Beach Resrot

Property: The Relax Beach Resrot
Address: 145/10 Moo 1 | Ban Tai Subdistrict, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Power Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#56 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Relax Beach Resrot 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Relax Beach Resrot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Power Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing