We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Type of Thai Food”

Fisherman's Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #12 of 399 Restaurants in Ko Pha Ngan
Price range: $1 - $18
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Ban Tai's original seafood restaurant opened more than 8 years ago by a local fishing family who have fished in the area for generations and have exceptional knowledge of local seafood. Offering a wide selection of fresh local seafood and traditional Thai home cooking with some signature dishes creating a unique dining experience. The restaurant is located on a stunning beachfront next to Ban Tai pier with the option of seating on traditional long tail fishing boats. Finish off your meal with a delicious dessert or one of our many fresh fruit cocktails served in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Don't miss out on this local treasure. A must while visiting Koh Phangan! Booking advised during busy months and always around full moon and half moon periods and for larger groups at all times. Large Groups max 8 persons Opening hours kitchen 1pm until 10pm varies in low season
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Type of Thai Food”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This restaurant rocks your taste buds! The food the atmosphere the staff are just perfect! the drinks are awesome especially the Pina Colada's!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Osmosiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,725
    328
    72
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best seafood I have had in a long while”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Wonderful service, really nice location and atmosphere, good music and excellent food.
We visited Fishermans 3 times and they never failed to surprise us.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mari-anna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ohio
2 reviews
“amazing seafood and view”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

this place was just the most perfect restaurant we visited while on Koh Phangan, the ocean view only added to the lovely set up inside the restaurant itself, staff were always on hand for anything we need, service was quick and the fish was cooked perfectly everyone heading to koh phangan need to try this place at least once

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super yummy food in beautiful location”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Must be one of the best restaurants on the island. Really nice location, super staff and amazing food and drinks. Really peaceful and idyllic settings. if you are on the island and what a fancy-ish seafood dinner, go here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joss F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fresh food in a unique set up”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

I have decided to go to Fisherman's after the good reviews and I was satisfied with my experience.

The restaurant set up is very nice and atmospheric. The possibility of eating in a real fishermen boat add that touch of difference (I would have eaten in one but my husband said it was way too uncomfortable).

We had fish cakes and clams as starters and prawns with curry and fish and chips as mains. All was delicious...a special mention goes to the fact that fresh fish was used both for fish cakes and fish and chips which gives a total new dimension to what we usually eat in the west. The best of all are definitely the clams.

I have to be honest that what is really nice in this restaurant is the service which is excellent. ..at least our waiter was..but all seemed very attentive and efficient.

I definitely recommend it...prices are similar to a restaurant I Europe so on the high side for Phangan.

Book beforehand as it's always full.

Helpful?
Thank fairyjany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Fisherman's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing