We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best seafood place in Koh Phangan”

Fisherman's Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #14 of 358 Restaurants in Ko Pha Ngan
Price range: $1 - $16
Cuisines: European, Asian, Thai, Soups, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ban Tai's original seafood restaurant opened more than 8 years ago by a local fishing family who have fished in the area for generations and have exceptional knowledge of local seafood. Offering a wide selection of fresh local seafood and traditional Thai home cooking with some signature dishes creating a unique dining experience. The restaurant is located on a stunning beachfront next to Ban Tai pier with the option of seating on traditional long tail fishing boats. Finish off your meal with a delicious dessert or one of our many fresh fruit cocktails served in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Don't miss out on this local treasure. A must while visiting Koh Phangan! Booking advised during busy months and always around full moon and half moon periods and for larger groups at all times. Large Groups max 8 persons Opening hours kitchen 1pm until 10pm varies in low season
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Simply the best seafood place in Koh Phangan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

When you are in Koh Phangan, you need to try barracuda filet here. It's simply the best! Their fish is fresh, souces are beautiful, desserts lovely! They have a good selection of wine and drinks. Food is just delicious here, it's a MUST! It's not the cheapest place on the island but definitelly worth every penny!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThailandIsTheBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,059 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,658
    309
    70
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

First visit was new years day. We hadn't booked so rocked up and managed to get a table. Everyone was clearly too hungover to think about coming out for a nice meal. We were seated in a long tail boat at the front of the restaurant which was lovely, maybe a little dark! Starters, mains and wine were all amazing! My friend has the whole fish (grilled) and I had the seafood curry which was amazing! Over all a great meal with a great atmosphere! The second visit was a few days later. This time we booked. Arriving on time our table was not ready so we sat at the bar for a drink which was not a problem. This time the restaurant was full and very manic, total different atmosphere! The food and drinks again were incredible! I had barracuda fillet and my friend the green curry! We also had a chocolate mousse for desert which was great! Only criticism would be that it was a little too busy on our second visit which ruined the atmosphere of the gorgeous restaurant which was a shame! Best seafood on the island and 100% worth a visit (or two)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charliieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding dinner experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

One of our best meals in Thailand. Very romantic, great athmosphere, right on the beach. Delicious food and super attentive service. It was a very busy night before the full moon party, yet the owner took the time to talk to each table to make sure everyone was happy with their experience. They deserve all the high ratings! Make sure to call day ahead for reservations in high season, definitely worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nycgirl2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

What an absolutely perfect place! I've just got back to our resort after going here with my husband for our last night on this island. Now, I am the first to admit I can be hard to please when it comes to eating out - not just for expecting good quality food but also excellent service. So, WOW! about this restaurant. We booked a couple of nights ago after reading the reviews & we're glad we did as it was fully booked (understandable!).

Firstly, the staff & their service is out of this world. I eat out a lot & eat in some of the best restaurants in the world & the service was absolutely world class. Friendly, professional, speedy, informed & genuine.

Secondly, the ambiance is just perfect. Perfect lighting, perfect music, comfortable seating & the tables are perfectly spaced so you feel you have privacy (unlike so many western restaurants). We sat in the restaurant & then down on the beach to finish our cocktails.

Thirdly, The food. I could eat it all over again this instance! Fresh, perfectly cooked, flavoursome with wonderful menu selection & options. We had Thai fish cakes, squid tempura to start. Then steamed Red Snapper & King Prawn House Speciality Curry for mains & then brownie & ice cream for pudding. If I was to make one comment it was that the prawns came in the sauce but needed shelling - I certainly didn't mind de-shelling them-but I just wanted to gobble up all the tasty sauce but some of it got lost in the process. But that's just a matter of being clever though & after 2 perfect mojitos, cleverness he evaded me. (so a tip would be take the prawns onto your rice plate & remove shells there & return to sauce with rice).

It's true they don't have a card machine & we were a little short (too many delicious cocktails) so took a wander to the cash machine which took about 5 minutes & was no problem at all. In fact, from our point of view, it was a nice thing to do after a 3 course meal. The only thing I would say is if you have any mobility problems & no one else to go to the cashpoint for you, do make sure you take enough with you or just be aware what you spend as, take it from me, it's easy to get carried away in there!

If you're on Ko Phangan it is the main thing you should do!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cassiswilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best on Phangan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Easily the best seafood around. Tempura perfect, salads delicious, fish ridiculous! hats off to the chefs in the kitchen. Amazing

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Astra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Fisherman's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing