We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing way to spend New Year's Eve!!”

Luna Lounge Thong Nai Pan Noi
Ranked #17 of 412 Restaurants in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Luna Lounge is a relaxed, funky restaurant serving a mix of local and western dishes. Only the freshest ingredients, local produce and seafood make it onto our menu. We have a great choice of house specialties seafood starters and BBQ. Our focus is fantastic quality and value for money, with great ambiance, service and atmosphere. We also have an innovative cocktail list and a varied wine list with some great value, delicious wines. We welcome you everyday for dinner (open from 6:00 PM).
Reviewed January 21, 2013

As from the title you can gather that I visited Luna Lounge with my partner on NYE as we wanted to push the boat out a little and do something memorable, Luna Lounge didn't disappoint!
We had read a number of reviews on TA about Luna Lounge and one of the things that impressed was the feedback given by the owners Cathy and Frederic. It is clear they are passionate about their restaurant and this is reflected in the quality of the food and service!
The food on NYE was a set menu priced at 900 THB per person which included a glass of bubbles upon arrival. The food was delicious and well presented and although a set menu there was still plenty of options. The wine list is extensive (for Thailand) and the cocktails are to die for. All in all it offered fantastic quality food and service at an extremely reasonable price.
We had finished our meal just before midnight and had ordered cocktails, with the fireworks about to begin we were allowed to leave the restaurant to go down onto the beach (with our drinks) to watch the fireworks. On our return to the restaurant we got chatting to the owners over a drink, they were extremely pleased we had chosen their restaurant and were eager to hear our opinion on the food, service and whole dining experience at Luna Lounge. They explained the lengths they went to in order to source the best ingredients from all over Thailand and beyond, this reflects in the quality of the food!
On getting ready to leave Frederic offered us a lift home (we were staying in Thong Nai Pan Yai) as we had had a small accident on the motorbike going to the restaurant. All in all our experience at Luna Lounge was truly memorable and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this restaurant to anybody and in truth I was amazed at some of the negative comments posted about Luna Lounge in the past. I can honestly say ignore those!!!

Cathy and Frederic, once again, thank you ever so much for making our NYE such a special occasion and apologies for taking so long to write this review!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mali_cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catimini_10, Propriétaire at Luna Lounge Thong Nai Pan Noi, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Mali and Lee,

We really appreciate your enthusiastic support about our food quality, wine list and cocktails. Our Christmas and New Year's eve set menus had more French touch than our regular menu. It was such a success with the guests that now we will had some of the dishes on our menu. Your feedback is very important to us!

We hope you enjoyed the end of your holidays in the North.

Kind regards

Cathy & Frédéric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

491 - 495 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great place to eat. Wonderful white or red snapper. I had the fillet eye steak since I needed meat. LOL

Thank Luis Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catimini_10, Propriétaire at Luna Lounge Thong Nai Pan Noi, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Luis,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you did appreciate our BBQ red snapper and our steak.

Best regards

Cathy & Frédéric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Finally we found in the island a different kind of resturant. A restu with a class, owned by a vert very french guy, who was so kindly to the customers.
I truly advise you all to go and try it. The problem is that the resturant is located far away from the village

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank traveler_isr_yot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catimini_10, Propriétaire at Luna Lounge Thong Nai Pan Noi, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear traveller,

We appreciate your comments about Luna. We are not so far! Only 5 minutes walk from the beach, which is also very good when the beach is windy as we are protected from the winds (except from our fans!).

Thank you very much.

Kind regards

Cathy & Frédéric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We went there on the recommendation of a Swedish couple in our hotel who love great food - and we loved it so much we have taken other people back along with us. Great mixed european/thai menu in a sympathetically modern, clean setting - lounge is a good description, ambient music, you can sit japanese style on floor cushions or at regular tables. The French owners threw in ther old lives when the place came up for sale and are working hard to put this place on the map. Frederic will happily chat through the menu and wine list with you Their very friendly healthy dog and cats may wander up and say hello, but they are not pests and soon work out who the animal lovers are. This is Koh Pha ngan, after all Try the prawns in cream cognac sauce, the tuna carpaccio, the massaman curry - strength to your taste - the tapas starters and the dessert trilogy. Not the cheapest meal that you will eat but it is certainly up there in terms of quality and value - and you do get what you pay for

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jujusunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catimini_10, Propriétaire at Luna Lounge Thong Nai Pan Noi, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Julie,

Your title sums up what many customers say when they reserve their last night for Luna : « if we knew we had come before so that we could come everyday! » It was a real pleasure to have you as guests so often and to be able to have time for chats.
Yes, the tuna carpaccio, Cognac prawns and trilogy of desserts are must-try! And yes, our "self-adopted" dog and our cats can wander around even if we try them not to annoy our guests. But we do love humans and animals and that's true that we are in Thailand where things are more relaxed. That's also why people love it!

Thanks again, it would be great to see you again next year!

Kind regards

Cathy & Frédéric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This restaurant was a short walk from the buri rasa hotel and am glad we made the effort as the food was amazing.

At first glance you would think that you were under dressed but was not the case. Looking slightly upper class compared to other restaurants proved looks can be deceiving.

We sat on the floor like in true japanese style but was a good change to sitting at the traditional table although there were plenty to sit at.

The menu was extensive and the food simply amazing with presentation like an a la carte restaurant.

It took a while to get a drink and the main meal which was a little disappointing but in saying that well worth the wait. We found out later that they were short staffed and if we would have been informed up front would have enjoyed the experience more than we did.

The portions were big to the point that i struggled to finish mine although there was still room for dessert.

Apart from the service being slow on the night, would highly recomend this restaurant  as the food was first class.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul24101964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catimini_10, Propriétaire at Luna Lounge Thong Nai Pan Noi, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Paul,

We are very happy you did enjoy our friendly and relaxed atmosphere. And we are always very pleased to read the guests had their best meals at Luna. Nevertheless we are sorry you had to wait for your meal. Usually we are very quick but sometimes everybody arrives at the same time and we need more time as we are a small restaurant and we try every dish to be perfect.

Thank you very much to have taken time to review Luna Lounge.

Kind regards

Cathy & Frédéric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Lounge Thong Nai Pan Noi also viewed

Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Luna Lounge Thong Nai Pan Noi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing