We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare Land Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Ranked #39 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

When coming to this hotel, it is a very expensive transfer as its the furthest point and the roads are awful getting there. My girlfriend bust her head open as the tuk tuk taxi drove to fast on this 'off roading experience' and she come out of her seat, actually all of us did. Why risk it? It takes 45mins of this stupidity.
Its too remote and quiet for us personally but truthfully, their really is not much to do around here. Im writing this review whilst at the hotel, surely that says it all that im reviewing on holiday?? Stay down south in koh phangan, more people, cheaper and much more fun. Its costs over 1000baht each way to get haad rin from this prison. I certainly wouldnt return.
Their is one plug socket in the whole bungalow, no fridge, no tv, no air con and the water is yellowish. Why stay here?! We stayed in a standard bungalow. Surely that isnt standard?lol..its more hostel type. The upgrade to superior is double of what we had already paid on top!!
Yes the pool and the beach are nice and the view from the beach is beautiful but to me, its really not worth it. I was going to rate Dreamland Resort (Nightmare Resort) a 2 or 3 until last night, our toilet had a bad leak and the bathroom started to flood at 9.20pm. We informed reception and they got the maintanance guy out and after an hour he arrived. Turned the sink and shower on, flushed the toilet and said everything was fine. I pointed to the leak on the toilet which was clearly dripping rapidly and he started yelling in my face "ITS OKAY, ITS OKAY". We cleared him off and had to inform reception the following morning who got it fixed properly that day. Honestly, this place isnt worth the money, the hassle or the beautiful beach.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craigs5373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 248 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

Me wife, me and two good friends of us, spent two nights and 3 days in this wonderful Resort. The bungalows are simple, but more than good enough, clean, aircon, hot and cold water and TV. What more do you need ?. The food was excelent, all staff very polite and nice. My be the best of all in Dreamland is the beach, can hardly be better.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, they also have large family bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janptur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Even though it was the more expensive accomodation I was during my budget-ish travel in Thailand, it was really good spent money.
The bungalow was clean and quiet, the staff kind and efficient, I could use both a sun lounge on the wonderful beach as the swimming pool.
Very good food at their restaurant on the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilmatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a family bungalow with 2 beds because it looked a little bigger than some of the other bungalows and I read where they had been refurbished recently. They actually aren't as big as the pictures appear on their website but they were quite comfortable for just the 2 of us. Another plus is that they have had a makeover and are very clean. The only disappointment was that they aren't as close to the beach as some other bungalows. While we felt a refreshing breeze at the beach when we headed back to the bungalow the breeze was blocked significantly by the trees and other bungalows in front.
Service at the front desk was excellent (they even called a restaurant on Noi beach for us & scored us a free ride from the restaurant). As others have mentioned the service, or lack thereof, at the restaurant was just plain poor. At times we had to get up and ask one of the staff for a menu. They were literally just sitting around and ignoring us. Another time, after waiting for our bill we just gave up & figured out how much we owed and gave the money to the nearest staff person. I suggest you try some of the other restaurants on the beach. They all have comparable menus but the service is much better.
The pool and beach are wonderful as advertised. This is why we travel the extra time on a bad road to get to Yai beach!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wand3r3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

When we were there the sea was very calm, the beach very clean and the resort was quiet.

Yes it certainly was a bare knuckle ride to the resort and we passed several motor byke/scooter accidents on the way, but arriving at the site we realised it was definitly worth it.

It is a great place to relax and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed at Dreamland Resort from January 2nd through to the 5th, 2013 and aside from the white knuckle taxi ride over the narrow, partiallly unpaved mountain road getting there, we loved every minute. Although we were disappointed we were unable to take a boat trip to go on a snorkeling trip because of the rough seas, that is not the fault of the resort and those waves did provide us with hours of fun.

My only complaint was the enormous amount of garbage on the beach. Everything from flip flops to light bulbs ... and lots of them. The staff tried their hardest to keep their section of the beach clean but the debris just kept coming and their efforts were futile. I don't know if the debris was a result of the waves at that particular time or if the beach is always littered.

As others have mentioned, the rooms could use a makeover and I was sorry there wasn't a hammock on the patio but they were clean with a TV and a fridge and for the amount of time we spent in the room, it was more than adequate.

The pool and swim up bar were lovely and the onsite supermarket, very handy. The little village, which is a short 5 minute walk away (that takes you past a pond with a water buffalo hanging out in it) is worth a visit.

If you come to Phangan for rest and relaxation, then Dreamland Resort might just be the place for you.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mykaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Nice location, nice pool on lovely beach, but hotel is tired and in need of a little bit of energy and focus on service from the staff. Rates are fairly cheap although still not great value for mobey as there is no breakfast included.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davieskim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.1 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#15 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
165 reviews
6.0 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Havana Beach Resort
Havana Beach Resort
#25 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,515 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thongtapan Resort
Thongtapan Resort
#32 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
262 reviews
6.3 mi away
Beck's Resort
Beck's Resort
#43 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort

Address: Thong Nai Pan Yai, 11 Moo 5, Ko Pha Ngan Ban Tai, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $16 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Phangan Dreamland Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing