We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Careful with the owner!!! Stressful and very mean woman!!”
Review of Hut Sun Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hut Sun Bungalows
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Hi,

2 friends of mine and myself went to Hut Sun last month and we stayed there 3 days.
Place is ok, rooms are good value regarding price (it was at low season though) and location is nice. Except for the mosquitos but this is mother nature's fault..
First negative point: the owner. She is very stressful so don't go there if you want to relax! She keeps speaking to you very fast so she could sell you anything and get anything from you as you just want her to stop talking and stressing you out like this..
Other negatice point: the owner again... We rented 3 scooters and it was dark when we took them. We checked everything and they were taking notes on the contract. However, when we returned the bikes the owner asked for 3000 bahts to one of my friend as she said he had an accident because of some scratches. We did report the scratches on day 1 but apparently they didn't write them down on the contract. Everything was planned to scam us! Careful when you rent a scooter, always double check any scratche and report it on the contract!!! Again, ok place but very bad owner...

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jotapies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 80 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

This place is fine for the amount you pay. There's no daily clean of your room, it's not in a good location, it says beach view... But it's more like a slither of beach view, and the beach sucks. No biggy though.
The staff are nice enough and te food is a good price, and tastes pretty good.

Don't hire a moped from these guys!! My friend and I watched as they tried to con a couple into paying to replace a panel that had been scratched (apparently by them...) and staff wouldn't give their passports back!

We had a aircon room, and it was nice enough!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Never before have i felt so much anger about a hotel.
All rooms where full but mine.. I got a room in the basement. After seing it I agreed to pay 300 B a night and booked it for 7 days..The room was nothing speciel but it had a shower, toilet and a madres on the floor.
I didnt expect much for the price.. But the nigthmare began after 7 pm.
3 dogs was living just outside my door and everytime someone passed on the road they barked.. All night..
The room temperature was about 45 degrees and only posibility to cool it down was to open windows and door. The fan in the room was very noisy and not and option.
At 2 am other hotelguest was extremely noisy in the restaurant just upstairs.. Staff didnt mind doing anything about it.
The garden in the hotel is a dumping ground.
The following morning I asked to get my money back and got it exept for that one nigth i stayed there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelRefslund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We where very close to the sea. We just got there without a booking and had a great time. If you like luxory and warm water, or you don´t like dogs than don´t go there. We loved the sunset and we relaxed a lot when we stayed there. Perfect price and the food was ok, but not the best there is on the Island. Sometimes the staff was very friendly, sometimes a bit moody. Especialy the lady´s. But the boys are superfriendly!! If you walk 10 minutes to the right than you will find a lot off cute and good restaurants. It´s up to you!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan84neke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We came to Hut Sun After pre-booking a small bungalow the day before from Koh Samui
due to the Full-moon party we wanted to be sue we could find accommodation before leaving. When we showed up they did not have the bungalow we booked but a small room on the 3'd floor which could not take since the stairs had no railing and a free fall 7 meter down, which would be very dangerous for the kids. We told them that we did not have much choice since basically the whole island was booked but they agreed that i could run down the street to check the nearby hotel for availability while they kept the room, i returned after 7-10 mins to find out they had rented out the room. After arguing the fairness of the treatment and considering we had 2 small kids they basically told us to get of the premises, i insisted on keeping them to our confirmed booking but ended up being threatened by the angry sisters and the very unpleasant owner.
We have been traveling in Thailand for 7-8 yr. (every Christmas) and this experience is the worst ever i Thailand.
NOT RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mobius6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Low cost place (600 baht double room en suite with a cold shower) on a nice beach. Rooms lack anywhere to sit out, bungalows have small verandahs. Only two sea front bungalows have the view of the bay. Nice people and restaurant. WiFi in restaurant and some rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MillOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Myself and my husband stayed at the Hutsun on our honeymoon, we were thoroughly looked after by Ging (owner) and her family, we stayed in one of the garden bungalows, it was all we needed, one double bed with a mosquito net, leading on to a bathroom, with cold shower and toilet. Each bungalow has a raised area outside the room, where you can sit outside or on a hammock.
Its a peacful place to stay with the beach a stones through from the garden.
HutSun also has a bar and restaurant, we ate there 3 nights - lovely food!!! Cocktails are great too!
If you need laundry washing, Ging will be more than happy to help at such a low cost!
It worked out approx £9 per night - ABSOLUTE bargain!
We have just booked to go back in Jan 2010, an would 100% recommend Hutsun to couples, single people travelling and families with childen!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonj25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.1 mi away
Phangan Cabana Resort
Phangan Cabana Resort
#68 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haad Chao Phao Bungalows & Hostel
Haad Chao Phao Bungalows & Hoste...
#147 of 384 in Ko Pha Ngan
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Benjamin's Hut
Benjamin's Hut
#9 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Phangan Cove Beach Resort and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Jungle Hut Bungalow and Hotel
Jungle Hut Bungalow and Hotel
#57 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paragon Spa Resort
Paragon Spa Resort
#1 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hut Sun Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hut Sun Bungalows

Address: 48 Moo 8 Chaophao Beach | Suratthani, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 384 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $11 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hut Sun Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hut Sun Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hut Sun Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing