We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Kunovice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Honestly I have to say I didn't expect too much due to reviews on Tripadvisor. But there's not too much poit to worry. I think it's a great place especially for families with babies and children. There are 3 connected swimming pools, 2 of them are warm and pretty shallow, the third one is suitable for adults. There's absolutely no struggle to get a sunlounger as resort is reasonably sized. I mean there're more sunloungers then hotel guests. The staff had a good proficiency in Enlish and we found them polite and really helpful. I don't recommend to book standart or premier room as they are too small and you are squeezed in a small room with large bathroom. It's better to take private pool villa that is reasonably sized and reasonably priced. After one night in Premier room we moved to Private pool villa for an extra 900THB/night. But receptionisy originally asked for 1800 THB extra per night but I informed hm about promotion in his hotel I found on hotel webpages and then he agreed with a lower sum which I think wasn't too proffesional. I don't recommend to take Lagoon pool villa as there's a green lake instead of a lagoon full of mosquitoes. Also privacy there is an issue I think. Breakfast fair, evenings BBQ's delicious. Hotel rents new motorbikes for 200 THB/day.

Room Tip: take a private pool villa in lower end unless you want to improve your fitness or enjoy extensive se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear shachaf K

Thank you very much for your review. And we are so glad that you like our hotel. As you mention about the front desk are a bit rude and not too kind I do need to apologize about that for their English skill is not prefect and some of them can speak very little English that why some of the conversation is short and with a terrible English. Therefore we need to make a training more and more. But anyway thank you again for you nice review. Anyway we hope to see you again next year. For the room you can book directly with us then we can offer you a very good price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    155
    95
    47
    52
See reviews for
103
220
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Salad buri is located on a nice beach and a good location near some restraunts. We stayed in house 1, with a small " private" pool. First of all, it wasn't very private, there was a small pond in front and straight ahead was the check lobby, taxi drop off and restraunt , u won't feel very private because the people in the lobby can see you swimming along with the pedestrians and the guest next to you( there wasn't a fence) secondly, I shouldn't be complaining of the privacy because I didn't even think it was safe to swim in the pool, the light bulb and plastic covering it mwas broken! Next, the rooms weren't the cleanest. They were okay but the sheets and floors were dusty, there were coffee stains on the wall and spider webs in the corner, you can spot some gekos once in a while. Next, the service in the restraunt, the lady who seems in charge the most spoke well English, but wasn't exactly the most polite, she could make a joke, but when she was taking orders she can get a bit aggressive . We were ordering lime soda but she said she got confused and started yelling, she even said out loud that we were confusing her, we ended up explaining to her how to make it, but in the end we got a can of soda water a cup and piece of lemon. How smart, let the costumers make there own food. During the day, there were a few dogs around, and they were quite friendly and we liked them a lot. I understand that restraunts don't like animals and I wouldn't get scared if they yelled at them and shoo them away, but the lady in the restrAunt did more then that! She yelled, shooed and the worst part was, she had a whip and whipped the dogs in the restraunt! But excuse me, I believe that's ilegal here! After hearing and seeing the poor dog run AwY, the lady chased them and I believe she whipped them again. Poor dogs ! My stay wasn't the best, I'm not asking for a five star hotel but at least a civilized place where workers don't whip animals In front of guest and yell at costumers, also, in the suite they had a bath tub, but it couldn't be used because the fence had large holes in them!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous6723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Our Value Guest

We would like to say thank you for your review and also would like to say thank you for choosing to stay with us. Every piece of your review is very useful for us to improve and bring up the quality of our hotel. As you have mentioned about the services, we know that there is a lot that need to be improved and we will work hard to improve it. Also, as you have mentioned about "not animal friendly", in fact, we do love animals, but due to our type of business we see it not appropriate to have a dog walking around in the restaurant. Moreover, we use to ignore this kind of problem, but it ended up that we have received a lot of complaint about letting dogs walking around and this is not every one would love to have dogs surround them while they are eating. It is because of these, then we need to keep dogs away from the restaurant. Although, we are not the best hotel, but we did tried to do our best in order to meet customer's satisfaction. Lastly, we will keep improving our weaknesses and if there is a chance we hope that we will be one of your selective choice for your holiday once again.

Best Regards
Salad Buri's teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We went to Salad Buri Resort in February 2013.

The hotel is set within a very nice bay with bungalows looking down from the slopes.

The resort is nice however has a feel of slowly being run down with water features no longer working, broken deck chairs and ripped matts etc.

The bungalows are nice and large and kept very clean by the staff. However once again they are slowly getting run down with walls and furniture being a bit run down and significant amounts of mould in the bathroom due largely to having no ventilation system.

The restaurant serves very good Thai food, however the European options such as the pizza which is probably the worst pizza I've ever had need some effort put into them.

The staff as a whole were very nice however surprisingly few who spoke English which is surprising considering the fact pretty much all the guests did. We had a specific incident whereby we called the front desk after 10.30pm to find out that the night receptionist spoke no English which was quite disconcerting if something was seriously wrong.

Overall we had a very nice time at the resort however if I had paid the full price rather than the discounted price we got online I would have been very dissapointed.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Our Value Guests

We are pleased to here that you were feeling happy while spending your holiday at our resort. We are not the best hotel, but we did tried to do our best in order to meet customer's satisfaction. However, we do need to apologize if we do make you feel disappointed in term of the price compared to online price. Lastly, we will keep improving our weaknesses and if there is a chance we hope that we will be one of your selective choice for your holiday once again.

Best Regards
Salad Buri's teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The resort itself is well situated with a great beach and pool complex. The lack of language beyond Thai of the staff means even ordering lunch becomes a chore. Only book if you're happy with a lucky dip when it comes to service and a slow, lazy staff to serve you. Oh, and the 'massage' here is an application of oil at best. NOT a spa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanG81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montri P, Public Relations Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, regarding to the english skill of the staff we will trained them more and for them. And also we hope to see you again next year. For the room you can book directly with us then we can offer you a very good price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Ok. Let’s get the moans out of the way. I’m lazy – therefore wasn’t too impressed by my mountain top room (but brilliant views) – so asked to be moved to a lower level room and closer to friends – this they did the next day. Although my room was still a “healthy” walk up the hill! Also when I got to my first (mountain top ) room the battery on the safe was on its way out – phoned down to reception who sent someone up – who was not too happy – I explained in my best Thai that it was better that he changed it now (at 3pm) rather than 2am in the morning. Anyway it was sorted out – think they had to get another battery from a sister hotel. On the plus side. The staff seemed fine to me. Yes, they are young, but they are really trying and this could be why seemed nervous – remember they are having to cope with a load of languages and I think they did really well. They laughed at my bad Thai pronunciations and seemed happy to chat to us. They came round to check if you wanted more drinks, when we were lazing round the pool. If you don’t like their food (which I did) there are plenty of places nearby to eat in (Cookies is good as is Salad Hut) + they have a cab/taxi/truck which goes to Thong Sala (think it was 150-200 bht each) so you can buy yourself goodies.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review for the food at our restaurant we will improve the test of the food . And also we hope to see you again next year. For the room you can book directly with us then we can offer you a very good price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We arrived on Thong Sala pier to find a pick up from the hotel even though we had not requested, it cost 150 baht each which we did not mind paying.

Check in was quick and we got shown to our room by buggy even though it wasn't as far up the hill as some bungalows so this wasn't an issue for us.

Our room was small, not much room to store bags but we made space. The room was nicely decorated and the bed was v comfy. The bathroom was huge with an amazing power shower, loved it!

Breakfast is impressive with a good choice but lunch not great. Based on this we decided to give it a skip for dinner and ended up going to Salad Hut instead, yum food and lovely staff.

The pool is gorgeous with lots of sun loungers around.

We have a great relaxing time here and would recommend this hotel to friends to people who wish for a quiet beachside break!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chutzputz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. And also we hope to see you again next year. For the room you can book directly with us then we can offer you a very good price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Very good value for money. Very calm and peaceful. The staff is very polite and easy going. Perfect for families with young kids. Its really a piece of paradise. The only problem is if you get a room on the top of the hill, you will get tired going up and down. but for that they have a couple of golf cars.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrazilFeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. And also we hope to see you again next year. For the room you can book directly with us then we can offer you a very good price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#33 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Papaya Resort
Green Papaya Resort
#30 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Maehaad Bay Resort
Maehaad Bay Resort
#32 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salad Hut Bungalows
Salad Hut Bungalows
#4 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
339 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#16 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salad Buri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salad Buri Resort & Spa

Property: Salad Buri Resort & Spa
Address: 60/2 Moo 8 | Haad Salad, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#13 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Salad Buri Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salad Buri Resort & Spa is set on the unspoiled and secluded beach of Haad Salad, once known as the ancient pirates hide out of the north west of Koh Phangan, Suratthani, Thailand. Where Southern mixes Northern, Salad Buri Resort & Spa is offering both surrounding mountain cliff and panoramic sea view vista.Our Accommodations are decorated in rich beautiful teakwood accents, spacious living quarters and excellent sea view verandas. All rooms featuring king size beds with limited twin beds, balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Salad Buri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salad Buri Hotel Koh Phangan
Salad Buri Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing