We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay and happy to recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
Ranked #38 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed January 7, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Salad Buri for nine nights, from the 27th of December until 5th of January.
We stayed in a delux twin room, which is just one up from standard room. 204 was the number. The room was large, had a designated lounge area, nice balcony with views of resort grounds as well as a large bathroom, plenty big enough for two friends sharing.
The resort only has 52 rooms however is set on large grounds. The resort was running at full capacity when we stayed however it never felt like it.
There are three stunning pools that lead directly onto a very pretty beach. The staff could not have done more, they were very gracious and helpful and great fun. The reception staff were excellent as were the pool and restaurant waiters. It has a designated area for massages which we enjoyed daily, the ladies there are just lovely and it is about £8 for an hour treatment, unbelievably cheap. The area where the resort is set is perfect. It is at the far end of a long strip of beach. Along the beach area are a whole host of more than acceptable hotels just more low key, with less facilities, but it's good because it makes the beach busy with varied people. There are massage places all along the beach as well as many restaurants and bars. It is definitely quieter than Haad Rin but we are in our mid 30's so wanted to chill during the day and then when we wanted more night life we just jumped in a cab ( arranged easily by the hotel) and went into busier areas of the islands. You are no more than 20 minutes in a fun and bumpy cab to lots of places. We went to the half moon and full moon parties, great fun but two nights down there was enough and we were happy to be back to peace and quite to recover at our lovely resort. There are two additional recommendations I would make, be sure to visit the Amsterdam Bar for stunning sunsests, drinks and food. It is actually a place that sells joints and its an open air bar with people chilling and smoking but don't let that put you off. My friend and I don't smoke and you just go up there, listen to awesome music, drink great cocktails and eat delicious Thai food whilst enjoying an incredible view, probably best on the island. The smoking thing does not effect you at all, the venue is awesome. Also the best restaurant on the Island is Fishermans Village down in Baan Tai, incredible restaurant, set on water, food is out of this world, setting is amazing, just go there!!! ( again only 30 minute in fun cab) I would definitely recommend you stay at Salad Buri, it was £450 for 9 nights including breakfast sharing a room. We didn't want 7 star luxury but we also didn't want to be sleeping in hammocks walking to communal toilets and this hotel is smack bang in the middle of the two. You get room service, air con, balcony's, laundry service, mini bars, robes and slippers, great pools and drinks areas but its just super relaxed and beautiful all in one. I hope that entices you to stay, we loved it!!!! Also get a scooter they are a fantastic way to see the island. Enjoy

Room Tip: We got upgraded for the last three nights to a lagoon room, amazing for fun but you are never in you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katiej186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 494 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed at Salad Buri arriving Christmas day and into the New Year in a Pool Villa. The Rooms are nicely decorated although we felt the space was a little missued and could be designed better, some space was totally wasted in the living area. Another aspect that anoyed me was the bathroom, here they had a rain shower that drenched the entire bathroom after use as it has no screen. The room itself was very clean and we had great views over the beach from our bed room and balcony from our very own private pool, although not once was i in this as it was freezing cold, would be much better to have this temperature controlled as i felt this was a bit of a waste of money not been able to enjoy it.
The staff we found very friendly and the F&B manager was always more than helpful and would do his best to accomadate, nothing was ever any trouble. The staff in reception were the same they always had a smile on their face and were very helpful organising pick ups, car rentals and boats etc.

We tended to eat further down the beach alot but the few meals we had in the restaurant weren't as bad as I had anticapated from the previous reviews. I do agree with some previous posts that the hotel is expensive but the resort itself is beautiful had the sun been shining I am sure we would have enjoyed our stay alot more but thats something we cannot control. I would recommend this hotel but perhaps on one of the less expensive rooms as we did not have an opportunity to enjoy the pool even on 2 out of the 8 days we had sun.

The hotel also arranged a taxi service to the full moon party, by this time we had been joined by our friends to bring in the new year, the taxi driver could not have been anymore miserable such a kill joy wouldnt even let us turn on the radio!

Overall the hotel was located on a beautiful beach with the resort rooms perched on the hill and should I return to Koh Phangan i would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 719Bumblebee31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Writing this at 4 am because I cannot sleep because of the wild dogs roaming around outside an barking like crazy, no one answering at reception phone so not much we can do, so first thing there are lots of stray dogs roaming the resort and beach

The resort is not 4 star, as others have said its 3 star at best. Hotel staff on reception are surly and unhelpful, food is ok in restaurant. Considering the amount of resorts available in Thailand I definitely think this place is massively over priced for what you get, I would look elsewhere, my wife booked this resort but she never checked the reviews on here, had she of done so we would have looked else where. Wi fi signal very poor also throughout resort, I was told itvwas because of the weather, bear in mind it was sunny and blue skys so work than one out!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmb7508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We had a family room with a very big balcony and jacuzzi in one of the bathrooms. The room was very nice, but sea view was blocked by a roof. The hotel was on the beach which was nice, and also had some nice pools. Roomservice was good and prices too. Food in restaurent was good, and price was fair- we got 20% discount in the hotel restaurent because we lived there. Free Wi-Fi which was very slow though. A good place for couples or familys. If you want to go to Fullmoon party i recommend choosing a hotel at Haad Rin instead. Salad Buri is like 30-40 minutes away from the hotel by taxi. Hotel arranges taxi from hotel to fullmoon at good prices (200bath/person).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tobias L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We love the rooms in this hotel as they are a great standard for koh phangan, and haad salad. The pool, beach, and surrounds are idillyic. However, staff seem to be a one-for-all, and its not good enough. As in our waiter could be sent up cutting the shrubs when its quiet, then rush back down for service. The restaurant is ok. Better on the beach. Staff just need to be trained better i think - they all seem on edge - this is usually a management fault. A happier atmosphere would make all the difference in the place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank River0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We stayed here in December 2011 for our honeymoon. We paid 6500b for a lagoon pool villa. The room itself was nice, although the bed sheet had a yellow stain, it had a nice partial view of ocean, however people at the pool area look straight into our room. A few niggles like curtains that are so thin, the room is very bright, very early, the shower ran out of hot water, and we were later told we needed to have our aircon on for hot water to work, we did and still no hot water. Speaking of aircon, it dripped water all over our luggage.

We booked through wotif.com, and the description said a sleeping room connected to a living room through an open air terrace and private swimming pool. However we were told the 'living room' was not for us to use, and was locked. I'm still not sure if this was in fact for us to use. Regardless this room had s bed in it and could not be used as a living room.

The staff member when we arrived simply said 'sit down'...no welcome etc. The reception felt more like a tacky travel office. I especially told the staff in advance this was our honeymoon, and we saw it written in their book when we arrived. However absolutely no effort was made to make it more special...unlike beautiful Sareeraya Resort Koh Samui. The resort maintenance is poor, stained bed sheets, filthy seat covers in restaurant, broken pieces of the garden etc. The buffet breakfast was terrible (given what we were paying), warm milk for cereal, deep fried onion rings, and omlettes that were pretty much deep fried. The restaurant down the beach was much better, and friendlier staff.

Other issues before we arrived were, I emailed the resort twice in the days leading up to our stay to arrange pick up from the pier. They did not reply. I had to ring them. Then to be charged 300b for the transfer...not what you would expect from a self rated 4 star resort.

Other issues, we wanted privacy, around 9am a man walked into our private foyer as we had just showered. He wasn't in resort uniform. He then cleaned our private pool...which was probably the cleanest facility at the resort.

I am pretty easily pleased when it comes to resorts, but this resort, for the first time has compelled me to write a review. My advice, it is only a 3 star resort at best, and therefore is highly overpriced. Stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Wouldn't recommend any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BushBandit77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montri P, General Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Hi There,

First of all i would like to say thank you for choosing our resort for your special honeymoon we are very sorry that our resort did not meet your expectations and you felt you had to say “terrible” after only one night’s stay.

We are very transparent as our location in Koh Phangan which can also be found in international & local guide books Haad Salad Beach is historically regarded as the location to go to, to get away from the craziness of Haad Rin and Baan Tai or other central tourist locations on the island.

Thank you very much for your comments on how nice and beautiful the resort is,if you spent much more time.And for the " pier pick up" as long as i ask to the staff who make you checking in on that day actually we send already the driver that can pick you up from the pier but you are late 1 day checking in so we didn't know if what time you arrived in the pier which the pier is not really close to our resort.

We take your comments very seriously as to the disappointment that you felt in your stay in our resort. Your comments however have been passed on to resort management as we are always looking to improve in all areas of customer service and satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review. We hope that we have addressed the points you raised in our response and would like to wish you continued happy and safe travels in the future.

Salad Buri Reort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We got a Villa on the top of the mountain with a swimming pool. The rooms were nice and clean and the view was amazing. Shortly after we arrived it started raining, and it didn't stop... There wasn't much to do. The people at the restaurant and reception was not smiling or seemed happy. The receptionist was more interested in looking at facebook... The food in the restaurant was okey, so was the breakfast. The Spa was really great - the herbal treatment mask was excellent! There is a restaurant a little further down on the beach with cushions on the floor. They are really nice and the food was better.

Room Tip: Choose a room with good view up on the hill. It is also great exercise for your body :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bjørn Tore J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#34 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Papaya Resort
Green Papaya Resort
#30 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Summer Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
1.2 mi away
Maehaad Bay Resort
Maehaad Bay Resort
#35 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salad Buri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salad Buri Resort & Spa

Address: 60/2 Moo 8 | Haad Salad, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#13 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $41 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salad Buri Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salad Buri Resort & Spa is set on the unspoiled and secluded beach of Haad Salad, once known as the ancient pirates hide out of the north west of Koh Phangan, Suratthani, Thailand. Where Southern mixes Northern, Salad Buri Resort & Spa is offering both surrounding mountain cliff and panoramic sea view vista.Our Accommodations are decorated in rich beautiful teakwood accents, spacious living quarters and excellent sea view verandas. All rooms featuring king size beds with limited twin beds, balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salad Buri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salad Buri Hotel Koh Phangan
Salad Buri Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing