We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable rooms, restaurant lets it down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Impeccable rooms, restaurant lets it down”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Our room was incredible. Jacuzzi on the balcony was very luxurious.
The daily cleaning was delightful but the general hotel facilities let this hotel down. The restaurant food is overpriced and we only ate our free breakfast once in our twelve day stay. If you stay here there are some great restaurants down the beach. It was a slice of luxury but sad to see the hotel a bit run down. Go for the rooms alone.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aussiegirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    159
    103
    49
    52
See reviews for
113
225
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

First of all I would like to say that we have stayed for six times at Koh Phangan.
We stayed in the past in nice resorts like Rasananda, Santhiya and cocohut and based ourselves for booking salad buri on reviews on Agoda, booking and tripadvisor.

So we booked a pool villa for three nights, to be on a more secluded area of the island (we visited Had salad by motorbike before, the beach is nice).
So first we mailed the resort to arrange a pickup from the previous resort to theirs and they arrived one and a half our late! We had to pick up other german guests from Thong Sala, who had arranged transport from haad rin to salad beach, and these guests had to wait for 4 hours, drive to thong sala themselves and we're picked up then....real professional.
The resort is lying on a hill and can not be reached by motorbike. Too steep and dangerous. So they have a hotel taxi service for you for 250bht a person. totally overpriced and they know they make good money with this. You are depending on this, otherwise you are stuck. If you are with a group, they still charge you the 250bht and call songthauw to pick you up...
We arrived at the lobby (nothing fancy) and had to pay for the taxi. They looked strange because we asked a receipt. All hotelguests hanging around in the lobby area, in airconditioning.
We got the tickets for the breakfast, printed on a copy of the passport of a dutch lady and a lousy paper with facilities listed on. The paper also says the restaurant is not runned by the hotel...we wondered why....
As my wife was pregnant we asked for a non smoking room...but dissapointment again.
They drive you around in golf car (like in Santhiya, where you really need it), here the cars are totally useless, just to tip the driver. He also showed us the room, which was opened completely windows and doors, to mascade to smell of the smoke.
then waited to be tipped. The divan bed was full of tiny ants, the doors and windows do not close proper, so good for bugs and ants. Matrass is very hard and two separate airco's, one leaking. Bathroom with real rock in it and broken glass, rainshower, nothing fancy at all. The room is all in lanna style, popular 10 years ago and looked old and used. Totally not worth the price at all. Maybe for travelers who are not used of any luxury this looks like heaven but for experienced travellers like us...this was like a holiday resort in turkey.
The private pool was nice and good, cleaned automatically at night, making no noice. Unfortunately housekeeping and cleaning staff had to eat below a umbrella below our room in a very small place. Totally not worthy or respecful for these nice people.
The main pool is owkay... clean but not that big and people hang around there from morning till evening. We went eating at the restaurant twice. Afternoon and Evening, both thai dishes, totally not spicy, big portions and staff saluting us like a sailor with bonjour and saying my husband was hot with his tattoo's and really rude sayed how well he did by making me pregnant. We were shocked!
Breakfast was really poor! Coffee and tea not fresh, instant, some toasts, everything not well filled so things ran out and a woman baking eggs, who were still raw inside and pancakes for the kids. Nothing fancy at all!
Again the rudeness of the waiters, guests laughing with their jokes, stuffing theirselves with omelets and pancakes.

We met the german guests at the beach, who stayed at Salad beach, from same owners by the way, they did not have to pay for taxi from thong sala.

Salad beach is filled completely by day, the beach part for the hotel is full with sharp rocks so not suiteble for swimming nor bathing.
Three or four restaurants at the beach, filled completely and some thai massage places.

After one night sleep we checked out, got no refund, but we knew about this in agoda terms and were really happy to go to a REAL luxury resort on koh phangan. They even not asked why were leaving. We think because they knew we saw through the hotel's facade.

Salad Buri has nice reviews we think from unexperienced travellers who have no high demands on luxury or service. For people who are used to good 4 and 5 star international hotels and resort with luxury and great service this is a NO GO! 10 years ago, this resort was hot we think, now..... it's a real dissapointment.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank spipje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Coolangatta, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed here for just one night before we returned to Australia. We had promised ourselves a bit luxury before that crappy night flight home.

Even though we were only staying the night, the staff were wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble. The villa we stayed in was beautiful. A day bed set up near window, overlooking the resort, the beach and the ocean. The bed was probably a bit hard, but certainly the softest we slept on in Thailand. The breakfast was beautifully cooked, but the range was probably a little limited. AND OUR OWN POOL!! How cool to swim in your own pool and look at the views. I could stay here for a week or 2 easily.

The island is easy to navigate on a bike. Mostly good roads. Not too much traffic and it still has that Palm Tree Island feel. We had a fantastic 5 days on the island and it would be the place in Thailand we would return to for a relaxing break.

The only issue we had was that as it was Full Moon time we couldn't get a flight out of Koh Samui and had to get a fast catamaran and bus to Phuket to fly home. We booked at a local travel agent who advertised Lomprayah and A/C minibus to Phuket. We had issues dealing with Lomprayah and their associated companies before on our trip and were reluctant to do this. We paid extra for the A/C mini bus option and received assurance that all would be well. (The large buses are mostly pretty messy). In the end they tried to shunt us onto a big bus (which we refused to take) and would not refund our money. We were not alone - there were lots of people stranded at their office trying to sort out transfers. The first time we dealt with them our transfer just never showed up. Suggestion: Book your own taxi, then boat and organize your own transfer at the end. These people were rude, unhelpful and I would go out of my way to not have to deal with them again.!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodsimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We have booked for this resort just a 2 night stay and planed to check for our last night in other place but finally we have changed our mind to extend our stay
It was a good relaxing place with nice staffs, nice room and senerity around

We enjoyed the swimming pool, one time luch (very good test) and only one time for dinner-the food was so so... but "Soe" is one of the best waiter we have ever met

Over all, we enjoyed very much staying in this resort

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NathiaAllAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

very nice resort on lovely Bounty beach. easy to get an upgrade on low season. Lots of cosy restaurants nearby on the beach. Some rooms(bungalows) are uphill, ask for pool/beach area.

Room Tip: ask for pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frank-muyshondt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

I would recommend this resort for a short stay to relax and unwind. We thouroughly enjoyed our stay and loved relaxing by the pools and lazing around the beach. This was not the most convenient place to stay for the full moon party but was quite ok;

Positives:
Before staying at Salad Buri I had read many reviews and after reading quite a few negative comments I was pleasently surprised when we arrived. In brief; the drive from thong sala pier was not as long as I anticipated (about 20 mins - but don't take boat to Haad Rin), The rooms were beautifully decorated and the jacuzzi on our balcony was very luxurious, The pool was great, staff were very friendly and helpful, There were quite a few small restaurants and bars up along the beach outside the hotel which were great for lunch and dinner, The scenery around the hotel was beautiful - very tropical and natural

Negatives:
The beach was rocky outside the hotel but we walked about 100m up the beach and it was shallow but sandy and definitely swimable, there were quite a few dogs and at night time we were chased and barked at on two occasions while getting back to our rooms (this was the biggest issue for us), breakfast was very average in comparison to other places we had stayed, rooms were up quite a steep hill but the short walk wasn't really an issue for us (we had great views from the room), our friends who booked standard rooms didn't receive satisfactory service on arrival in comparison to us (we booked the premier rooms)

Full Moon party:
We stayed for three nights with a group of 8 (4 couples) to go to the full moon party. Although it is approximately a 40 min drive to Haad Rin where the full moon party takes place, we were happy to be far enough out of the party area to be able to relax, and transportation was easily arranged. The hotel staff were extremely helpful in organising transportation to and from the full moon party, they were looking out for us and when we left the beach to take us home! They seemed genuinely concerned that we made it back safely. Transportation was expensive in comparison to other parts of thailand, but still fairly cheap in comparison to transportation prices at home. Transportation was easy and fairly cheap when split across a group of 8, but might not have been convenient for people travelling in smaller groups

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Berry163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

This really is a very strange resort – unlike any I have ever stayed in before. First of all the good points – it’s well located on Haad Salad beach – one of the nicest and most chilled beaches in Koh Phangan. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable and staff are friendly. We booked this room on the internet before we arrived and if we are honest the main attraction was that we booked a room with a Jacuzzi on the balcony overlooking the sea. And it was a major luxury and a big plus, but in retrospect, I think we were a little dazzled by that one fact alone and overlooked the rest of the resort. Basically, the big problem with this resort is that it is on a very steep hill, so steep in fact that it is almost impossible to actually walk to your room from reception. So you have to take a golf buggy up to your room every time you want to get there. Fair play – the resort do lay on free buggies and they are quick to arrive, but it’s a major inconvenience and prevents you from just popping up to your room, plus the buggies don’t run once it gets late. The other thing that really annoyed us about our room was that it had the loudest air conditioning I have ever heard – so loud that we had to sleep with ear plugs in and you could still hear it! (and that was on the lowest setting!). We did mention it to reception but they fobbed us off with something about government regulations but that doesn’t exactly help you sleep! What makes these problems difficult to swallow is that the resort is not cheap – by far the most expensive place to stay at Haad Salad beach. I think we both felt that we were being overcharged for what we got – it’s like this resort thinks it’s a 5 star, but the facilities are more like a 3 star – pool and restaurant are just average. In our opinion, there are many cheaper, better and less strange (!) places to stay in both Haad Salad beach and Koh Phangan.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jzee033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.3 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#34 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
524 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
546 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Papaya Resort
Green Papaya Resort
#31 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
618 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maehaad Bay Resort
Maehaad Bay Resort
#36 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
271 reviews
7.8 mi away
Chantaramas Resort & Spa
Chantaramas Resort & Spa
#24 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salad Buri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salad Buri Resort & Spa

Property: Salad Buri Resort & Spa
Address: 60/2 Moo 8 | Haad Salad, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#13 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Salad Buri Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salad Buri Resort & Spa is set on the unspoiled and secluded beach of Haad Salad, once known as the ancient pirates hide out of the north west of Koh Phangan, Suratthani, Thailand. Where Southern mixes Northern, Salad Buri Resort & Spa is offering both surrounding mountain cliff and panoramic sea view vista.Our Accommodations are decorated in rich beautiful teakwood accents, spacious living quarters and excellent sea view verandas. All rooms featuring king size beds with limited twin beds, balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salad Buri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salad Buri Resort And Spa
Salad Buri Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing