We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, ticked all our boxes!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lighthouse Bungalows
Ranked #84 of 133 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, ticked all our boxes!!”
Reviewed January 24, 2011

The Lighthouse was the perfect place to stay for us, it is a bit of a trek to get there but its definitely worth it. It is a good 15 min walk from the main Haad Rin beaches but that distance allows you to be part of the party scene when you want, but walk away to peace and quiet when your done. Its a family run business and they couldn't have made us feel more welcome, even ate dinner with us a couple of times.
The rooms have stunning views, and they have bungalows for all price ranges from the cheap to the pricey so again can suite all. But VFM regardless of your budget.
if your lucky they may also pick you up and drop you off at the pier... Would say the best place we stayed in Thailand for numerous reasons.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarita12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    24
    14
    6
    29
See reviews for
6
57
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Myself and 3 friends stayed here for 9 nights from 26th Dec 2010 - 4th Jan 2011. We had two Bungalows which 3 of us loved (the 4th person not so much). Amazing views from each of the Sunflower bungalows, great ocean breeze coming in from the water, cooling you down as you lay back in your hammock relaxing after a night of drinking on Haad Rin...

It really was idealistic! The two owners were very friendly, offering us free rides to the town (not as far as other reviews have said - maybe a 10 to 15 minute walk, or 5 mins with a bike) and were more than happy to meet any requests we had for the rooms (extra sheets etc).

In the end, it was decently priced (~$45 for 2 ppl), located far enough from the party to sleep well (everywhere else you would still here the music all night long), the rooms were clean and comfortable enough to enjoy, and the service was good.

I would definitely stay here again if i came to another new years party on Haad Rin... :)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickEverett90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Our experience here was more than we expected- after a very friendly welcome, we settled into 3days of relaxation bliss. The food was superb and REALLY generous helpings!!! The service was really excellent- the owners and staff are very friendly- nothing is too much hassle! We took the cheaper room- and for the price there isnt anywhere better on the island! The view from ALL of the bungalows are exceptional and an ideal place to chill out! We would definatly reccommend this place to other travellers, friends and family! It really is a little piece of paradise!!! Thanks for having us!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyandsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2010

I don't usually write reviews but I had such a wonderful time at Lighthouse bungalows I felt I had to. Beautiful location, wonderul staff (especially Lola Mai) i'd really recommend this to anyone for a nice relaxing stay away from the hussel and bussel of sunrise beach.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2010

My wife and I stayed here over Xmas and New Years last year, and went back again in March. We love staying at Lighthouse for so many reasons. The views are amazing, the owners and staff are fantastic and the rooms are exactly what you want in Thailand. We loved being close to the party and far enough away to relax when you're done. The views from this gem are incredible and the snorkeling is is better. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katwijk, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2010

I stayed 2 months in the Lighthouse. The location is in my opinion the best in Had Rin. It is next to the beautiful quiet 'Leela Beach' and just outside the busy center. With the motorbike it is 3 min drive to the center and by foot about 10 min. There is also a great view over the ocean from the bungalows. I stayed almost straight above the ocean in one of the bigger bungalows with a nice big balcony. A great expierence. The staff is very friendly. By any small problem or something, it is getting fixed as soon as possible and they are always ready to help you.

Nathan de goey.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2010

I always stay in Light House bungalow when im in Koh Phangan, its near to haadrin where it all happens and far away for a good sleep at night (or in the morning)
Quiet and beautiful bungalows in different price classes and a great restaurant where you can hang out before you walk over the boardwalk to Leela beach which is the nicest beach near haadrin.
If you are planing to come for a fullmoon make sure to book in advance since its always fully booked every fullmoon. And when you are on Koh Phangan make sure to visit Cactus bar on Haadrin beach aswell for the best music and a great fun.

I cant wait to go back there.
A big hug to P Dam and Carla who always makes you feel welcome.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlllanYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.4 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
624 reviews
0.3 mi away
AmaresA Resort & Skybar
AmaresA Resort & Skybar
#99 of 372 in Ko Pha Ngan
74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moon Paradise Resort
Moon Paradise Resort
#71 of 133 in Ko Pha Ngan
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Suncliff Resort
Suncliff Resort
#49 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Little Paradise
Little Paradise
#109 of 372 in Ko Pha Ngan
50 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mr. Black Resort
Mr. Black Resort
#103 of 133 in Ko Pha Ngan
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Bungalows

Property: Lighthouse Bungalows
Address: Lighthouse | Haadrin, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lighthouse Bungalows 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the southern tip of Thailand's beautiful tropical island, Ko Pangan, is the intimate and secluded Lighthouse Bungalows and Restaurant. A cluster of uniquely designed bungalows with a beautifully appointed restaurant, built within an amazing boulder setting which overlooks turquoise waters and the island's magical sunsets. Two minutes walk to Leela beach and a 20 minute walk to Hadrin Village and Beach - Koh Phangan's host of the famous monthly Full Moon Party - you can relax within this tranquil setting and have access to the unique local Thai culture, lush tropical jungles and some of the most beautiful, secluded beaches in Southern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lighthouse Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing