We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lighthouse Bungalows
Ranked #78 of 133 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Queensland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice, very comfortable”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed here with my partner and a small group of friends. It was a beautiful place to stay.

The slight walk along the boardwalk to get to the bungalows is very short, but still provides great removal from the hustle and bustle. The bungalows are comfortable and very relaxed. Food at the restaurant is reasonably priced and quite nice. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank armatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    24
    14
    6
    28
See reviews for
6
57
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

One of the best places we stayed because of the stunning view from our bungalow! The bungalows are basic but clean. Leela beach is just 2 minutes away and really beautiful, most of the time there where just a few other people there! It is close to Haad Rin, I think a 15 minute walk over the beach and through Coconut hotel. This is a shortcut, be sure you take this shortcut and not the other one! ;) We paid 950Bath for a bungalow for 3.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

If you are looking for a Place to escape from all the tipical touristic stuff on kho phangan - the Lighthouse bungalows at the end of lela beach - is the Perfect adress! Such a silent & peaceful Place you cannot Imagine. The accumondations are very Nice and clean. We Stayed in the sunflower Bungalow which is Built right into the Sea just amazing! Just like the Rest of Bungalows they offer at the Lighthouse Bungalows. The staff at the Lighthouse are Super friendly and they Helped us whereever they could! They offer A delicous range of traditional Thai cusine for fair prices. The Way to get to this beautiyful Place is quite a challange but it was Always Fun because at the end you will Not Believe your eyes! def. worth it. We can recommend this Place to Everyone who is Not Expecting a luxioury Posh Thing on this beautiful Island! Best stay on kho phangan so far.

We will definatliy will come back - we are looking forward! Special Thanks to Karla and Dam

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gastsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Lighthouse Bungalows for 6 nights in early August. The view from our balcony was lovely and the sea breeze meant that we didn't miss air conditioning that much.

As others have said, getting to the place is not easy and it takes about 20 minutes to walk to Haad Rin. This is a good thing if you're looking to escape the Full Moon Party but you don't to need go that far to get away from the noise and madness.

It's also a horrible trek in the heat when you first arrive because you have to drag your bag down the length of Sunset/Lela beach. We were not offered the option of being collected from the top of the beach as others have mentioned and the number given to me in the confirmation email did not work when I tried calling to ask for a lift.

Our bungalow was clean and in good condition but it was very basic. The general "resort" was not well kept and looked very messy. With a bit of work the place could easily look a lot nicer and that is a shame.

The food was poor in terms of quality and presentation but the staff were friendly and pleasant to deal with. Language was a bit of a barrier at times.

Given the option we would not stay at Lighthouse again. It's not the worst of places but there are better options nearby which provide more comfort, better facilities and nicer food for only a bit more money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnMcAvinue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

If you dont mind the short hike to get to the bugalows then it is a wonderful place to stay! The rooms are far from luxurious but they have everything you need and have the most wonderful views from the balcony which had a hammock. The distance from the main beaches is just right, they are within walking distance but are away from any loud noise. We stayed in a double fan room for a very reasonable price of 360b per night (£7.40). The beds are covered by a mosquito net which was good as there are a few creepy crawlies around! The staff were friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krista M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Getting here can be interesting. Make sure your cab drops you on the beach access. If you get left to walk over the hills then be prepared for a proper hike! But the views and the peace and quiet make it worth the trek. Food is simple, but cheap and wholesome. Rooms are basic, but ours was clean and well maintained. No more mosquitos here than anywhere else you will be pleased to know. Couple of good beach restaurants and bars just ten minutes walk. If you love going to sleep with the sound of waves on the rocks and waking with the sunrise streaming through the window then this is the place for you. They trust you to write down any drinks that you take from the fridge if there is nobody on reception - don't abuse the system!
(If you get a water taxi at high tide they can drop you at the jetty right next to the reception)

Room Tip: Sunflower bungalows are a top choice unless you are on a serious budget!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnBownas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here after looking around and staying in some awful places on the beach - this place was a haven! We loved our room with a sea view and hammock on our balcony. The guesthouse owners were very helpful and made us feel very welcome. The place is found at the end of Leela Beach (Hat Seekantang), a short walk along a wooden walkway round the rocks. We would recommend this place to anyone wishing to chill out, relax and enjoy Thailand.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RavindraL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.4 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
615 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunset Beach Club Resort & Spa
Sunset Beach Club Resort & Spa
#29 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
78 reviews
0.3 mi away
AmaresA Resort & Skybar
AmaresA Resort & Skybar
#88 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Suncliff Resort
Suncliff Resort
#46 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moon Paradise Resort
Moon Paradise Resort
#63 of 133 in Ko Pha Ngan
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cocohut Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Bungalows

Property: Lighthouse Bungalows
Address: Lighthouse | Haadrin, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lighthouse Bungalows 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the southern tip of Thailand's beautiful tropical island, Ko Pangan, is the intimate and secluded Lighthouse Bungalows and Restaurant. A cluster of uniquely designed bungalows with a beautifully appointed restaurant, built within an amazing boulder setting which overlooks turquoise waters and the island's magical sunsets. Two minutes walk to Leela beach and a 20 minute walk to Hadrin Village and Beach - Koh Phangan's host of the famous monthly Full Moon Party - you can relax within this tranquil setting and have access to the unique local Thai culture, lush tropical jungles and some of the most beautiful, secluded beaches in Southern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lighthouse Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing