We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lighthouse Bungalows
Ranked #86 of 132 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
LONDON
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

As long as you dont mind the walk to get there, these bungalows are really quite nice. the view from private balcony is nice. quite pieceful setting where they are. Karla who runs the place is really friendly and helpful.

A bit pricey, but overall worth it.

stayed june 2010

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingbenny999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    24
    13
    6
    28
See reviews for
6
56
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

I stayed here over April full moon with my partner and some friends. Me and my partner stayed in Daisy Bungalows as did my one of my friends. The rest of my friends booked the Rose Cottage, then moved to Sunflower Bungalows (Rose Cottage is up a really steep hill, only stay in this one if you're reasonbily fit lol). Firstly the main reason I booked this place is because of the view and what a view. Really, it was amazing!!

The cheaper (Daisy bungalows) rooms are very basic could do with some repair - my friends bungalows outside light didn't work (although I'm sure if she had have asked they would have bought her a new one as they fixed ours when ours broke) and the toilet seat was broken (western style toilets). However this didn't retract from the fact that this is an amazing place to stay. The resort is built into the rocks, really cleverly and in the Sunflower bungalows (they are amazing, I really recommend staying in these after seeing my friends room!!) you get a piece of rock in your shower and a really big balcony. My balcony was pretty decent though, it had a hammock in it and there was space to string a second hammock, so we spent many an hour just chilling there both of us. If you get the one furthest away from reception you get the biggest balcony with the best view!!

I don't agree with the person who complained about this place when they said about the walk along with beach with your heavy rucksack, as Karla, the fantastic owner was happy to pick us up from the pier (Haad Rin Pier) and drive us down to the walkway of the resort. She dropped us back to the pier when we left as well. The walkway to this resort is amazing, its a photographers dream, its so beautiful buit into the rocks. Its very well made and sturdy. There is even a look out platform where we sat and watched the sunset one day. I liked the fact that it wasn't in Haad Rin as Leela Beach feels more like tropical paradise than sunrise beach, where the parties are. Yes it is a 20 minute walk into town (along gorgeous Leela Beach and then up a small hill), however it is worth it to feel that you're actually in Thailand, not on an 18-30 holiday. While in this resort we saw 2 monkeys in the trees behind the kitchen area and we saw lizards sunning themselves on the rocks by the walkway. It was fantastic!! Also the food here and also in Leela Bungalows where we sunbathed in the daytime was great (Leela Bungalows did the best fruit shakes EVER, just what you need on a hot day when you're sunbathing). Leela beach also never got very busy, so there was always plenty of space to sunbathe and take in the beauty of the beach. Not too many sunbeds laid out like some places, spoiling the beauty of the place. There was also a really cool tree platform that I spent hours reading on.

Lastly the the staff were really friendly and helpful. Karla especially, was amazing. My friends were very hard to please and I feel that she went above and beyond what she had to. I would return in a second. Thanks Karla & Dan, we had a brilliant time there!! (Donna & Nat - the ones that left to get married in Koh Samui) xxx

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rocketface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

This place was beautiful. Probably an 8 minute walk into town, but who cares since the walk takes place on a beautiful beach and picturesque board walk? We stayed for a week, our room had an amazing view with a perfect hammock and light breeze. The room itself was basic, but large and clean. The staff was incredibly friendly and the food at the restaurant was great. Great part about this place is that it's quiet, but the parties and town are still incredibly accessible. Its possible to arrive and leave by getting a taxi from the ferry to the Coco Hut hotel and walking down the beach for 5 minutes, or by getting a taxi boat from same hotel. A little rustic, and all in all, a beautiful stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sazzer011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

I stayed here with my fiance over the full moon period in April for 7 nights, although we left after 6 as we were so fed up of the place. It's extremely difficult to get to, you have to trek along the beach for 15 minutes before you even get to the bridge to the reception, which is not much fun when you have 20kg of luggage on your back, and probably even more difficult if you had a suitcase.
The room itself is falling apart, a wooden box with huge gaps in the panels so we had all manner of insects and geckos getting inside. Yes there is a mosquito net, handy although if you have it down you then can't feel the fan on the bed at night. (we paid for air con but didn't get it)
We accidentally broke the cardboard like door, they charged us £40 for the "repair" of it which was a couple more flimsy panels to hold it together, then they had the cheek to charge us £100 for the new door, which wasn't even put on the room whilst we were staying there.
Yes, the view here is amazing but this is literally the only thing going for this place. If that is all you care about then stay here, we moved after 6 nights to the Sunrise Resort on Haad Rin Nok beach and had a swimming pool and the beach on our doorstep, with a stunningly kept hotel style room for less than we were paying at the Lighthouse. Save your money and go here!

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnaJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lighthousebungalows, Owner at Lighthouse Bungalows, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
We are very sorry you didnt enjoy your stay at Lighthouse as most of our guests are happy with their rooms.We would have upgraded you to an aircon room if you had mentioned it when you arrived, but you had only booked a fan room.
The door needed replacing as it was destroyed. The customer told us they came home drunk and lost their key and they kicked and broke the door so they could get in and would be happy to pay for it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

The Lighthouse was the perfect place to stay for us, it is a bit of a trek to get there but its definitely worth it. It is a good 15 min walk from the main Haad Rin beaches but that distance allows you to be part of the party scene when you want, but walk away to peace and quiet when your done. Its a family run business and they couldn't have made us feel more welcome, even ate dinner with us a couple of times.
The rooms have stunning views, and they have bungalows for all price ranges from the cheap to the pricey so again can suite all. But VFM regardless of your budget.
if your lucky they may also pick you up and drop you off at the pier... Would say the best place we stayed in Thailand for numerous reasons.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarita12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Myself and 3 friends stayed here for 9 nights from 26th Dec 2010 - 4th Jan 2011. We had two Bungalows which 3 of us loved (the 4th person not so much). Amazing views from each of the Sunflower bungalows, great ocean breeze coming in from the water, cooling you down as you lay back in your hammock relaxing after a night of drinking on Haad Rin...

It really was idealistic! The two owners were very friendly, offering us free rides to the town (not as far as other reviews have said - maybe a 10 to 15 minute walk, or 5 mins with a bike) and were more than happy to meet any requests we had for the rooms (extra sheets etc).

In the end, it was decently priced (~$45 for 2 ppl), located far enough from the party to sleep well (everywhere else you would still here the music all night long), the rooms were clean and comfortable enough to enjoy, and the service was good.

I would definitely stay here again if i came to another new years party on Haad Rin... :)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickEverett90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Our experience here was more than we expected- after a very friendly welcome, we settled into 3days of relaxation bliss. The food was superb and REALLY generous helpings!!! The service was really excellent- the owners and staff are very friendly- nothing is too much hassle! We took the cheaper room- and for the price there isnt anywhere better on the island! The view from ALL of the bungalows are exceptional and an ideal place to chill out! We would definatly reccommend this place to other travellers, friends and family! It really is a little piece of paradise!!! Thanks for having us!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyandsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.2 mi away
Leela Beach Resort
Leela Beach Resort
#71 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.6 mi away
Suncliff Resort
Suncliff Resort
#44 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AmaresA Resort & Skybar
AmaresA Resort & Skybar
#79 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moon Paradise Bungalows
Moon Paradise Bungalows
#58 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#28 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Bungalows

Property: Lighthouse Bungalows
Address: Lighthouse | Haadrin, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lighthouse Bungalows 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the southern tip of Thailand's beautiful tropical island, Ko Pangan, is the intimate and secluded Lighthouse Bungalows and Restaurant. A cluster of uniquely designed bungalows with a beautifully appointed restaurant, built within an amazing boulder setting which overlooks turquoise waters and the island's magical sunsets. Two minutes walk to Leela beach and a 20 minute walk to Hadrin Village and Beach - Koh Phangan's host of the famous monthly Full Moon Party - you can relax within this tranquil setting and have access to the unique local Thai culture, lush tropical jungles and some of the most beautiful, secluded beaches in Southern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lighthouse Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing