We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, brilliant staff, perfect week :)”
Review of Sunset Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Hill Resort
Ranked #16 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I had been to Koh Pha Ngan on many occasions before but had never had the opportunity to check out this part of the island. My friends and I (6 of us in total) wanted to attend the full moon party but wanted or accommodation to be far more secluded than the madness of Haad Rin. Sunset Hill was absolutely brilliant. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by the wonderful staff, in particular Anna made it feel like home from home :) Prior to our arrival, sylvester had been really helpful in advising us via e-mail also. Our rooftop penthouse was spacious and luxurious. The reception and eating area faces the most stunning view. The food was beautiful and we had wifi to be able to communicate with home (Ireland). The infinity pool was simply paradise, we spent many morning and evenings there relaxing before and after activities. The staff aided us and advised us regarding activities and organised pick-ups. Taxi's into town were prompt and allowed us time for a drink whilst taking in the spectacular sunset from the balcony.
I would recommend Sunset Hill to anyone travelling to Koh Pha Ngan. Thoroughly enjoyed stay and and would love to go back again. You experience the bast of both worlds of Koh Pha Ngan here - the craziness of the night life and the rural bliss of Thailand.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenkelly500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset-Hill, Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Hi Karen and friends,

Thank you very much for this great review! We love hearing that we've found the right balance for people who like to visit the famous Full Moon party and at the same time enjoy the amazing features of Koh Phangan island. Great guests create a great Full Moon party vibe!

We are already looking forward to have you stay with us again!
All the best,
The Sunset Hill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 552 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile


Booked this as it was a third of it's advertised rate and it was full moon so price looked very good. This part of the island is my favourite part as its more relaxed and has far better beaches.

Hotel is located just a short climb from the coast road with stunning views and good beaches. The staff were very attentive and very helpful. The views from the superior rooms and infinity pool are great. What made me surprised was the number of rules displayed in each room, this isn't a young backpacker hotel so most people who stay here are responsible and do not need to be given a book of rules. Unfortunately the Internet isn't that good in the rooms probably the slowest i have encountered in 2 yrs in Thailand, most of the time it could not be used which was disappointing, when it did work it was very slow, this isn't due to the location of the hotel as the restaurant at the bottom of the road had excellent wifi day and night so this needs improvement. Reception wifi was ok so room wifi needs improvement as it's pointless having it.
Overall i was very satisfied with my stay but disappointed with wifi in rooms.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank DJGoldenboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Sunset-Hill, Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Steve,

Thank you very much for your nice review, fairly describing our resort and informing the readers why they should surely come and experience this beautiful part of the island!

Sorry to hear about your difficulties connecting to our free WIFI in the rooms. The reason for this is that during Full Moon Parties our resort is usually fully booked and most people nowadays use multiple devices (phone, ipad, laptop) which means their are many connections to our routers and internet lines at the same time, which sometimes causes them to be overloaded and not allow any more connections. We acknowledge this issue and therefore have upgraded our Wifi system and now installed an extra internet line and router for our guests, which solves the issue.

Regarding the information and rules booklet in the room, we understand this is clearly unnecessary for well behaving guests like yourselves and most of our guests are indeed very lovely and careful during their stay in our apartments, they can just ignore this booklet. However since we are located on Koh Phangan, which is famous as a party island and backpacker heaven, we have occasionally (more often during the Full Moon party period) guests who misbehave, brake things in the room, have all night loud parties or leave the Aircon on and all windows open when they are out. For these guest the rules book is unforuunately necessary. We sincerely hope it won't be necessary anymore in the near future.

Thanks again for your terrific review and we are looking forward to have you stay with us again and use our upgraded fast Wifi!
Best regards,
The Sunset Hill Team
Sylvester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Firstly, everyone should be aware that this property is on the more isolated (and much more rural) part of the island and up a steep hill. For us, this was one of the big advantages after escaping the craziness of Bangkok and the tackiness of Haad Rin.

Once you've found a taxi driver to take you up the hill, you're greeted by an oasis of calm within a stunning setting overlooking the marine national park (with its eerie green glow at night) As others have mentioned, there's no direct beach access but just down the hill is a lovely, secluded and pretty quiet beach. Just make sure you keep some energy for the walk back up the hill! :)

Staff member Wii was on reception and was a delight to deal with. Check in was easy and we grabbed dinner (as the kitchen was closing) which was delicious. The room itself was large with a sizeable balcony overlooking the ocean and a fully equipped kitchen. We found that the aircon wasn't all that great but the fan above the bed was pretty good to get the breeze. The wifi was just about usable in the room but speedy on the rest of the property. The resort very much has the feeling of a family run place. It doesn't feel hugely private (gaps in the door and you can see into the neighbouring rooms)

We were very concerned when we were told of construction of the third block and that there may be noise from 10am - 5pm, we were looking forward to some R&R but actually we didnt encounter any noise or disruption from the construction at all. As others have mentioned there are quite a few rules to abide by - turning the a/c off, no flushing toilet paper, signing out towels etc, all understandable in a small resort I guess but again made me feel like I was staying in a guesthouse really. Just different to chain hotels with much higher margins I suppose.

Overall, this place is a decent choice if you are on this part of the island. It is isolated so without a hired jeep or moped you're a little bit stuck but the location pretty much makes up for it.
I have to give another shout out to Wii who was very helpful and extremely friendly, even with the large amount of questions we had for her - she helped to organise our onward travel and jeep hire, a credit to the team.

Room Tip: If you're in Thailand, always go for a sea view, yes its more expensive but you're on holida...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We only stayed for one night, on our way from Ko Samui to Ko Tao. Had we spent another night or two, we might have had a better time — we didn't get to experience the sunset here, though I'm positive they are truly stunning, with Ang Thong Marine Park on the horizon.

The day got off to a rough start. We had arranged in advance for a 400B pickup from the ferry. Our ferry arrived a half hour late, and our ride had either already left or never shown up. We had to squeeze into a fully crammed songthaew that took forever to leave the dock and stopped a bunch of times before we made it to the hotel. This would have been fine but we were already on a tighter schedule since we only had one night on the island and wanted to check out a few spots before the sun went down (partially my fault for being a bit too ambitious).

When we got to the hotel, there was no one at reception and we had to wait about 5 minutes or more before we could check in. I know it's island time, but we were already feeling frustrated from the ferry pickup and ready to unload our bags and hit the beach.

To their credit, the staff was very nice and super apologetic, bringing us a fresh fruit plate later that evening. Peter, the manager, also gave us a free ride to and from Haad Yao, which was nice, but we were unable to also check out Haad Salad as I had really wanted.

The room was nice, and the balcony was great. Of course, the views were spectacular. The TV didn't seem to get any channels (though maybe I just couldn't figure it out... not really a big deal) but there was a pretty bad sulfur smell coming from the toilet. Not very pleasant or romantic, and it bothered my lady quite a bit.

All in all, kind of a letdown, though I'm sure our experience was worse than most others.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saganist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We highly recommend Sunset Hill. Sure you do not have direct beach access but the setting of the resort and the spectacular panoramic view you get of the ocean and the sunset make this place very special. The crew at Sunset (Wii, Peter, Mio - not sure about the spelling sorry! - and the newly hired Dutch woman) makes you feel at home right away and will go the extra mile to please you. Thank you Peter for calling the restaurant about our daughter's b-day, this was a great surprise and she was very touched! The rooms are great (we were in a penthouse suite) with lots of room and large terrace. The furniture inside needs to be upgraded though. Bedding is very comfortable. The restaurant is also very good and the prices of the food and drinks very reasonable compared to the other places. It caters to all tastes (Western or delicious Thai). Well done Sunset Hill. Would definitively come back.

Room Tip: Choose a sea-view room in the Rose building (the oldest building but with no other building in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndianOceanFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I think we enjoyed the stay at Sunset Hill Resort the most thoughout our whole trip though thailand. Staff was wonderful and helfpul with all our questions. We had a beautiful room with a private terrace and a stunning ocean view. Even though we stayed there during fullmoon party and the hotel was fully booked, it was still very calm and not crowded at all. The infinity pool is really cool, too. Most of the time we were there by ourselves.

It's about a 15 Minute walk down the hill to get to the beach and all the restaurant. The beach was really clean and the ocean was really nice to swim in. It was calm and not crowded. We really enjoyed eating at the restaurants at the beach at night. The 15-minute walk was total ok for us, you might think about staying there if you're not good at walking up and down the hill. The hotel offers a shuttle to and from a (different) beach, which we took one day. We found the beach there to be much more crowded and dirty, so we went back to walking the next days.

Only downside: we booked breakfast and were really disappointed. One could only choose one beverage and one option from the breakfast menu (for example two small croissants with butter and jam or muesli with fruit and yoghurt), which did not leave us full and content. If you wanted anything extra (like juice or even ham with your egg), you had to pay for it. We think, if breakfast is included, anything should be inlcluded and one should not be hungry after breakfast.

In a nutshell: We loved our stay. Staff was so friendy and made us feel very welcome. The hotel was calm and not crowded at all. Beach was a bit to walk but beatiful. We would totally stay there again and recommend staying there.

Room Tip: Definitely pick a room with ocean view. It's stunning. We enjoeyd our stay the first nights in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orchideenfreundin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Shame on us for not getting to this sooner.....sorry Sunset team.......I would like to start by responding to others' critique of the location; plain and simply, the resort's location on top of the hill not only adds to its mystique, but also provides the most spectacular full sunset-scape (hence the name for the resort) over the water on the west side of the island.....our initial booking was for 2 nights in early December; we ended up staying 21; left for a week, then came back for one more week.....the rooms are large, spacious, open, extra clean, have stove top burners, a fridge, microwave in some, stereo, many channels to choose, wifi, a/c and plenty of room in the washrooms. The rooms in the main wing are a few years old, while the new wing was just opening during our stay; magnificent new room choices with peaceful and secluded garden views or more sea and sunset.... once again, the views are truly spectacular. Infinity pool over looking the Gulf of Thailand and sunset...imagine a cocktail in hand while wading about as the sun sets.......the food is very good with lots of western and local choices, as well as fresh coconuts, smoothies, extensive coffees, wine and cocktails... but most importantly, the staff is incredible.....from the maintenance workers, the groundskeepers, to housekeeping, front end staff, and management.....all so friendly, warm and polite...I will not begin to list names as I am afraid I do not remember or know each and everyone and wish not to do a disservice by neglecting to mention one name...and believe me, after being there for nearly one month, everyone got to know everyone......very social place and ended up going to different parties with some other guests....from one end to another, everyone was willing to bend over backwards....the extremely helpful front end staff are more than willing to help arrange travel plans, day trips, scuba diving, motorbike rentals, party tickets, etc....name it, it was getting handled........short term motorbike rentals are generally about $5-6/day.....we paid $3/day for our month......mini marts, multiple restaurants, and beaches are all within a few hundred meters away.......Thong Sala, the main town on the west side, is about 20 mins away (btw, average speed is about 40km/hr); it has night markets, oodles of cheap shopping, the local ferry terminal and much, much more.....cab would cost about $5....although I did hitchhike a couple of times when I could not drive the bike, and usually got picked up by the third vehicle; got to love the peaceful, yogi, friendly, loving side of the island ;) ......you're in Thailand, relax and enjoy the slower pace and the peaceful ways on the west side of Koh Phangan.......thank you again everyone at "Sunset" for providing a warm home for the month and an epic chapter in our 'round the world adventure. Cheers from the two smiling Canadians!

Room Tip: We are suckers for the sunsets...if you are too, ask for a room in the middle on the third floor in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZeekTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
9.8 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#10 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
683 reviews
6.2 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#5 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
738 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,595 reviews
9 mi away
The Coast Resort - Koh Phangan
9.4 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#17 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hill Resort

Address: 81/15 Moo 8, Haad Chaophao, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $61 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the spectacular sunsets from the west coast of natural Koh Phangan island. The Sunset Hill Resort is located on a stunning hill overlooking the Gulf of Thailand, Koh Tao, Koh Samui and the Marine Park. This area is famous for snorkeling and diving as well as for the beautiful beaches Haad Yao, Secret Beach and Chao Phao, which are located within 10 minutes walking distance or 2 minutes by scooter. The luxury apartments have majestic ocean views from their round design terraces. Penthouse apartments also have a kitchen in the dining and living room. The resort has an amazing infinity pool and cozy viewpoint lounge bar/restaurant and open air deck where great food and beverages are served. Our knowledgeable multilangual reception staff can assist you to discover the island and any other holiday wishes you may have. We are looking forward to help you to create the fantastic holiday experience of your dreams! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hill Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing