We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic location, great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Hill Resort
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Sunset Hill is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. The staff is very easy going, helpful, enthusiastic and seem to enjoy working there, which contributes to a nice and friendly atmosphere. We greatly enjoyed using the infinity pool - open day and night, reading books on our huge balcony and eating in the friendly and informal restaurant.

The location is fantastic, elevated on a hill overlooking the sea (but make sure to get one of the rooms with sea view, ours was R05, a huge two-bedroom apartment with stunning 180 degrees sea view. The view in other rooms is partly obscured by electric masts).

Room Tip: The views of the rooms in the Rose building facing the sea have the best view by far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KariDag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    98
    37
    19
    11
See reviews for
43
204
29
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have visited this property since September and plan to share my great experiences but have no time to do yet. The hotel is on the top hill. Reception area & restaurant place in the area that you can enjoy the beautiful view during having welcome drink from Camila (The best girl who will do everything for you during you saty). Restaurant is simple and not 5 stars but we did not expect from this kind of property. Only one restaurant that they have.The room is wonderful with full sea view, it is " Wow " . Amenities & room set up are better than I expect compare to the rate that they charged. Garden in green and really nature touch. If they put more attention and hire better landscape people this hotel will be on the top of nuture and greenary atmosphere. Swimming pool is amazing located. Best pool view in the island. They have a small and simple spa service. it is good enough becuase they just start to provide this service. The owner Marcel & Yola are always in the property to welcome and provide support. They both are very polite, sincere and service mind. The driver is polite and give warm welcome when they pick up us from the pier by hotel pick up car.
Be careful if you ask mortocycle man to send you to the hotel you might be lost. The motorcycle pretend that they know the place but actaully they just want to take you and send to the wrong hotel. Reccomend to get Tuk Tuk if you don't want hotel to pick you up. It is very comfortable anyway. You can hire scooter during stay but be careful with driving caus of the hotel is up to the hill. During Full Party period you need to book hotel in advance, if not you will get trouble with the room available.
They have a great empty roof top that plan to be a top roof restaurant. I can say now that this will be the best view restaurant in the island. I am waiting to be back when the project are completed.

What I can summarize now is, the Sunset Hill is a great future hotel. It locate in one of the best place in Koh Pangan. In 1-2 years, this place will be very popular and of course that time the price will be big different. Please go now if you want to have a great experience before they upgrade thier hotel and price.
Thank you Sunset Hill Team to make my time happy. I will be back here when I have a chance to visit Koh Pangan

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBJB1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel is located in a beautiful place with a great ocean view.
The reception person Kamilla was the greatest among all hotel workers we met in Thailand. She was very friendly and helpful. There is a good restaurant in the hotel. Try glass noodle soup :)

The location is not the best one, it takes 5-10 minutes to walk to the main road but it is up and down the hill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vianen, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a great stay at this resort.
The big appartment with jacuzzi on the roof was perfect. The rooms als clean, the cleaningladies are very sweet.
We hired scooters ( you will need this) for 4 days. The views are amazing. The people are also great. What ever you ask, they will check it out for you.
The food is expensive but very good. Expecially the Padthai chicken! But if you walk down 5 minutes you will find other restaurants also.
We loved it here.

Room Tip: Choose the big appartment with jacuzzi on the roof! Its amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

What can I say other than fantastic. If you want a nice apartment at a very good rate with views to die for then look no further. What a view to wake up to or sit on the balcony and enjoy.
We hired a scooter from reception and within 5 minutes it was there. You will need the scooter to get to beaches and to save the legs when walking back up the hill as others have mentioned. My partner was worried about being on the back of the bike but after 2 minutes she was reassured. The road (only really one road), was practically empty and we never rode over 30 mph....no need.
The beauty of the scooter means you can visit all the local beaches at your leisure. We went to all of them within 10 kilometres (to the north). The best we thought was salad beach. Part of us thought how nice it would be to have had accomodation right on the beach, which we have before but were so glad that we chose sunset hill for the views, service and quality of room.
If the island was more developed these apartments would cost double easily.

It was a little quiet when we were there (9th sept for a week) so we didnt eat in the apartment but went to all four restaurants at the bottom of the hill. All served up delicious thai food at very low prices.

We was warned that the weather may be poor at this time of year and half the days were cloudy but this was actualy nice as you could lay on the beach all day and not feel uncomfortably hot.

great staff, very friendly and helpful......perfect choice and if back in phangan its a no brainer that this will be used again

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view.... most of them are
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonny777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights mid August and we were best impressed with the hospitality of the staff, the 180o panoramic view from our apartment and just the stunning views . Ok the pool is not alot to write home about but then the sea is only a hotel ride away or 10/15 min walk. Then there is the massage palour about 5 mins on scooter Wow what service and attention to deatil. The both businesses deserve to do well, Thankyou everyone for making our holiday so memorable, Who knows might even come back one day

Room Tip: Sea views are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IanGould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giv'atayim, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

amazing view with amazin british staff!!
it located on a top of a hill and from the pool you can see a little bit of heaven.
the restorant at the hotel give very good food (italian food too) with low price.
in the hotel there is 2 shuffels per day to 7/11 and to the beach.
the rooms are clean and beautiful with airco', clean bath, refregerator and microwave.
the hotel located far from the center and the moon party but down the hill is a place you can catch tooktooks and cabs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank or b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phangan hotels
6.2 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#2 of 92 in Ko Phangan
5.0 of 5 stars 506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
9.5 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#25 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,154 reviews
9.5 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#14 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
9.1 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hill Resort

Property: Sunset Hill Resort
Address: 81 15 Haad Chaophao, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the spectacular sunsets from the west coast of natural Koh Phangan island. The Sunset Hill Resort is located on a stunning hill overlooking the Gulf of Thailand, Koh Tao, Koh Samui and the Marine Park. This area is famous for snorkeling and diving as well as for the beautiful beaches Haad Yao, Secret Beach and Chao Phao, which are located within 10 minutes walking distance or 2 minutes by scooter. The luxury apartments have majestic ocean views from their round design terraces. Penthouse apartments also have a kitchen in the dining and living room. The resort has an amazing infinity pool and cozy viewpoint lounge bar/restaurant and open air deck where great food and beverages are served. Our knowledgeable multilangual reception staff can assist you to discover the island and any other holiday wishes you may have. We are looking forward to help you to create the fantastic holiday experience of your dreams! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Sunset Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hill Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing