We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Bad, Even the Toilet Wouldn't Flush” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunset Hill Resort
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“So Bad, Even the Toilet Wouldn't Flush”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

A group of six of us stayed here over New Years (Jan 2012) and couldn't have been more disappointed.

Where do I start with what went wrong:

1) The website is really far from the truth. First of all, you are overlooking an unfinished building and 4 telephone towers! Secondly, while they claimed that we were getting 3 separate rooms and a kitchen, it was really a studio room that connected to the adjoining room. Not at all what we expected.

2) One of our toilets wouldn't flush! Imagine not being able to take a dump or being stuck with a floater for hours. When we complained, they said that their sewer system was backed up. Is that really acceptable?

3) The hot tub on the roof looked like it had water from the pre-historic age: green and murky! They sent over people to "fix" it for the first two days we were there, nothing was fixed.

4) The location is at the top of a steep hill which is approx 400m from the main road. The taxis would not come up the hill, so no matter what time of day and how tired you are, you are going to walk up that hill. This got tiring quickly.

5) What Wi-Fi? They claim Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The reality was that the signal was extremely weak. Even when we connected to the Wi-Fi, we couldn't get onto the internet, because their router ran out of IP addresses. I had to explain this to the hotel managers when I left.

BOTTOM LINE: this is not a resort, their service is terrible, and their rooms are way-overpriced.

Stay in a bungalow on Had Salad, Had Mae Had, or Chaloklum. You will be on the crystal-clear green water and have a much better time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bobby-SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    116
    43
    26
    15
See reviews for
49
231
35
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

In terms of location, this place was extremely inconvenient. Given that the only modes of transport was taxi or a pick up truck this meant we paid a hefty amount on transport alone. In addition, given that the location was isolated it meant we relied on the resort's food - which was not up to standard (service and taste wise) given the prices they charged. We also came across problems with the resort's facilities - firstly, the hot water did not work for TWO DAYS, in which was not rectified for the entire stay. Secondly, the air conditioning had a major leak. Thirdly, there is a "in-room" option - however there is no telephone in the room (meaning you have to physically go downstairs to make an "in-room" order.

However, the only upside was that the staff at the resort were extremely friendly - although not particularly organised - there was no sense of communication when we enquired about certain things and no one got back to us.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wendy x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Visited here in October for the full moon party, promised I'd write a review but just home from travelling so havent had too much time to sit down on the laptop! I have nothing bad to say about this place, nothing at all. The rooms were fantastic with a view that makes you just want to sit on your balcony all day. The food is good, drinks are good, staff are fantastic location is good as long as u rent a moped! We didnt want to stay down at Haad Rin so this was the perfect place to get away. The beds were so comfortable, if you've been around Asia you will get a shock when you see its not a pile of bricks covered with a sheet haha - your back will thank you!

We have already recommended this place to every person we've met going to Thailand and out of 14 months travelling this was by far our favourite hotel :)

I hope that lovely dutch couple are still working there - They are fantastic!

Room Tip: Anything with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kg703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

Having invested quite a long time researching for a beautiful and relaxing resort I finally decided for the Sunset Hill Resort. I booked however only for 3 days, as quite often pictures can be misleading and I thought I could maybe find a cheap and nice resort once I am on the island. After staying 3 nights at Sunset Hill I was so happy that I stayed another week. While being on the island I also checked out some other resorts, which confirmed me that I made the best choice with Sunset Hill. The rooms are one of the most modern ones I have seen during my travels through South-East Asia. The view is amazing and makes you relax immediately. The staff made me feel welcome from the first minute I arrived. They were extremely helpful and friendly. I really enjoyed my stay and can honestly say that I doubt anybody would regret their stay at the Sunset Hill.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

This place is just great. We arrived just after the Full Moon Party. People were leaving the hotel and we have been upgraded and got the room with the best view on the ocean and the infinity pool.
Rooms are spacious with a nice terrace and very clean. Nothing negative to say about it.
The reception and house keeping staff were always friendly and professional. Thank you Adam! Also the place is quiet far from the party on the other side of the island. Perfect for couples!
Wish I was back there!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vanina82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

One of the best resort I have ever stayed! The room was amazing and the view..breathtaking !!! Great location, near of the most beautiful beach on the island. The staff was very helpful and the service was excellent. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Executive Studios have amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanie128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

The problem with booking in advance for a place like KPG is that the reality usually doesn't match the photos. Unless you know in advance where to stay, then you take your chance. But with Sunset Hill there is no such problem. There is no better place to arrive after a long journey to KPG than Sunset Hill. It has the wow factor, and you will have no better memory than your first glimpse of the stunning views from this hilltop location, especially at sunset.
I have stayed here for 2 separate one month stays in 2010/11 and been a long term resident. The management are european and the quality and service are top notch. It is not close to the beach, but the idyllic pool, balconies and bar restaurant more than make up for this, and excursions to local beaches and sights are easily arranged. Longer term travellers like me appreciate things like good internet, flat screen TV, fridge and kitchenette, top notch aircon and quiet ceiling fans. Hardly any insect problems at all. Only one thing to bear in mind is that it is at the top of a steep hill if you are intending to be on foot. But most people hire a scooter or jeep and taxis are easily arranged. Plenty to see and do and eat and drink in the surrounding area - including world class yoga schools. It occasionally gets busy on the full moon party weekend, but the party is on the other side of the island and Sunset Hill only attracts the discerning more mature party goers, not the rowdy teenage crowd. You will love this place.

Room Tip: If the best possible view is important to you, discuss this with the management - some are better th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.2 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
9.8 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#9 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
9.5 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#25 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
9.1 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
9.4 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#11 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hill Resort

Property: Sunset Hill Resort
Address: 81/15 Moo 8, Haad Chaophao, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the spectacular sunsets from the west coast of natural Koh Phangan island. The Sunset Hill Resort is located on a stunning hill overlooking the Gulf of Thailand, Koh Tao, Koh Samui and the Marine Park. This area is famous for snorkeling and diving as well as for the beautiful beaches Haad Yao, Secret Beach and Chao Phao, which are located within 10 minutes walking distance or 2 minutes by scooter. The luxury apartments have majestic ocean views from their round design terraces. Penthouse apartments also have a kitchen in the dining and living room. The resort has an amazing infinity pool and cozy viewpoint lounge bar/restaurant and open air deck where great food and beverages are served. Our knowledgeable multilangual reception staff can assist you to discover the island and any other holiday wishes you may have. We are looking forward to help you to create the fantastic holiday experience of your dreams! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hill Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing