We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, lovely, lovely”
Review of Dolphin Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dolphin Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2011

This place does everything right: though few (if any) of the bungalows have a direct ocean view, the sound of water can be heard everywhere thanks to the koi-filled fountains around every bend of this very green, very friendly property. Prices are reasonable (we paid 800baht for a bungalow with hot-water; 600baht with cold). Restaurant serves mainly western food, but there is a fantastic Thai resto next door (also with reasonable prices).

Room Tip: Book for the duration of your stay- we didnt and were shut out due to high demand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshuamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 149 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2011

Thank you so much Giet and Kim for your wonderful hospitality , you have made my stay in Thailand so much easier, it is difficult when I cannot speak Thai, and you looked after all my arrangements for me and made my stay on Koh Phangan remeberable.
I look forward to staying in your tranquil gardens that the bangalows are nestled amongst again and eat your great food.
Mem

Room Tip: Quiet Oasis, email Kim she is English speaking, kimgiet@hotmail.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mem123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We found the secluded beach to be a beautiful spot to spend a few days. The resort has a really nice lounge on the beach with many comfey spots to relax and nap. Very well designed. Unfortunately we had a terrible bungalow experience where we woke up one night with bed bugs/fleas all over us and the bed! Blood filled bugs. Our neighbors complained of a snake in their room.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank jsilcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

After reading the reviews here my expectations were maybe a little too high. Somehow I pictured a beautiful remote beach with only one cosy resort ... Well, the beach is ok (there was a lot of rubbish when we were there). The resort is nice (next to at least a dozen other resorts), but very dark (hardly any daylight comes through) and lots of mozzies. Staff was very helpful and the decor is beautiful, so I would recommend it during the dry season. Can't really recommend the whole location (incl. the resort) in the wet season. There is nicer beaches/places on the island.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank travelbee37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Were lucky to get the last bungalow in the place!

The best thing about this place is the lounge areas, wonderfully furnished and relaxing-especially the background music! The food is quite pricey but delicious, I recommend the Penang Curry and Coconut shakes.

The room was very clean and comfortable and nicely furnished. Bit disappointed with the price- 700B for a small bungalow with cold water and fan! Lack of natural light is quite annoying also.

Staff all extremely friendly especially the owner.

Thong Nai Pan Yai beach is quiet compared to other beaches but not quite a tranquil as we wanted- loads and loads of families, plus the boats moored in the bay were a drag when you wanted to swim!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambee124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

My partner and I stayed at Dolphin for 3 nights in February and we both wished to stay longer. The beach is gorgeous, very shallow at low tide but the water is clean, and such an amazing colour! The highlight of Dolphin is mostly definitely the 'living/relaxing' areas - they have been thoughtfully designed and each little area would be a pleasure to relax in. The food was also very delicious, and the staff were incredibly helpful to us.
I would love to return there - it really was the highlight of a long trip in Thailand.
We stayed in the basic bungalow and it was all we needed.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

I am sooo happy I found this place! It's nice and quite, very friendly staff, nicely decorated Bungalows for reasonable price. Loved the Breakfast there, the lounges and the overall 'vibe' I got from the place. Unfortunately there are too many taxi boats parked right in front of the place, and it's hard to swim through them. Also the water is a bit low and we had difficulty to actually swim there. We will be back that is for sure, and I hope the place stays as quiet and chilled out as it is right now.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvaBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.4 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#37 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Starlight Resort
Starlight Resort
#50 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#16 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pen's Bungalow
Pen's Bungalow
#114 of 396 in Ko Pha Ngan
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Havana Beach Resort
Havana Beach Resort
#26 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Limelight Village
Limelight Village
#9 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bungalows

Address: 61 Moo 5, T. Bantai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 396 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $13 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To all our friends the new Dolphin Bar % Cafe is soon to be launched at its new location in Thong Nai Pan Yai.Find us in the heart of the village close to Thai Terrace Bungalows..Another creative space for travellers and friends to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Dolphin Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing