We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concrete boutique?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
See Through Resort Haad Yao
Ranked #56 of 132 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Bergen,Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Concrete boutique?”
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Ummm....
Like it or loathe it? A giant grey matter along a nice stretch of beach. Interesting. Well, sizewise they've made the most of it I would say...not much on the lot of land that isn't built on. Didn't the the boutique feeling tho. The rooms were a decent size and colourful...As it was pissing down when we were there, it was nice to have a multi channel telly(big room/small telly) We were on the 2nd floor, didn't explore the hotel as such, but with what I saw of the straight into pool rooms, I'm glad wedidn't pay for that. We had a balcony..umm kinda..we had the roof.. concrete and with no drains we got our own paddlepool. The place seemed slightly deserted when we were there. There were loads of people at the place next door, so ate there. The staff in the hotel restaurant seemed to like load techno beats, and although in concrete, we felt the rhythm.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trine1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    64
    41
    24
    31
See reviews for
23
106
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here!

Location: Right on the middle of Haad Yao beach - one of the nicest beaches on the island. Plenty of bars and restaurants in the area but not like the mayhem of Haad Rin (where the full moon party is). It's easy enough to get a taxi to Haad Rin for about 200 to 250 baht per person.

Bar/ restaurant area: One of the best on Haad Yao beach. Really relaxed area. No problems with hygiene. The kitchen has big windows so you can see in, which I liked. The food is delicious... try the prawn toast!

Staff: Everyone was very helpful and friendly - particularly the two girls on reception.

Rooms: Clean. Quite spacious. We had one of the pool access rooms. It was pretty cool but we hardly used the pool to be honest. The pool is in the shade for much of the day.

From the street the building looks like something that landed from outer space but I wouldn't let this put you off. It's nice inside and round at the beach.

I advise you to be cautious when booking online. We booked with someone on the email address admin@haadyao-seethroughresort.info and paid a deposit. When we arrived at the See Through they did not have a room for us (nor for another couple who had used the same booking method). This was a bit of a stress as it was new year and the entire island was booked up. Luckily the See Through had a cancellation so we got a room after a couple of hours. The staff were very helpful in that time - trying to arrange alternative accommodation.

Overall, we had a great stay at the See Through... If only they could have done something about the rain!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThatViki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2010

I stayed at Seethrough last January with my girlfriend, and loved every minute of it. I haven't written a review of it until now. We are planning on going back again this winter, so I decided to check the latest reviews...

I must say, don't believe anything this last guy said. He obviously made a bad impression and was rude with the staff. That's why they reacted in such a way. And who cares what kind of tattoo someone has... It's Thailand!!! (And, on a side note, I wonder if he was aware that what westerners percieve as a swastaka is actually an ancient buddhist symbol for darma.)

Regardless, this is an awesome resort; very relaxed, great food, and great value. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, but not bothersome. I highly recommend this place. To me, HAAD YAO is the best beach for people looking for a relaxed environment, beautiful beaches, and a few nice people. Any experienced traveller will love this place. If you've never left your own state/province, maybe you should stick to the Ritz-Carlton type resorts.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etten-Leur, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2010

After reading all the good articles of this hotel we booked it on booking.com. After contacting them twice they picked us up at the harbour. But we were surprised that the man who picked us up had a swastika in his neck. I think nobody should have this, but especially a hotel clark shouldn't.

The room we arranged was not what we expected, and also the environment of the hotel was very poor! When we said this at the lobby, they told us that we could check out and leave......That was not what we expected but when i said OK they told us that we have to pay for all the three days that we've booked!! That's not what booking.com told us so we did not accept this. The manager was coming by, but not to help, but to sit down behind his laptop and just listen....When i asked him (there was a very frightening atmosphere came up, because all the staff was around us) he told us we must pay and leave. Because we became afraid we paid and called a taxi to pick us up. They litteraly told us when we payed that we should leave the hotel asap.....

So this was a hotel where we had a very bad and frightening exprience whit the staff!! Lost money and we even doesn't stay....there Don't believe all this reviews because i think the owner is wrightening them by himself!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teun100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

After 2 weeks in busy Chaweng we arrived Haad Yao See Through Resort . The hotel were excatly what we looked for. A quite nice beachfront hotel.
here we could relax. When the adults could be on the mattress reading a book INSIDE the restaurant our son could in the hammock with his Pc with a free internet access. The restaurant was actualy on the beach.
The only drwaback was that the restaurant some times played music we didnt like, but this was not a big issue ;-)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonnySc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We stayed in Koh Phangan 6 days.
Our hotel is See Through Hotel in Haad Yao beach.:)
The nature, beaches, the accomodation were excellent! The foods are perfect!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank szaszy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

See Through resort is a small, quirky hotel, bar and restaurant on what is, for my money, the best beach in Kho Phangan. Having spent two days in Bangkok and the best part of 24 hours on trains and boats to get here, myself and my two friends were seriously in need of some relaxation and, boy, did we pick the right spot. The building itself is long and thin and raw concrete - sounds weird but it worked. The rooms were good value for the price, not massively luxurious but perfect for the purpose. The beach is amazing and See Through really make the the most of it. Service can be a little slow if you're used to European hotels, but absolutely the norm for Thailand. I found the staff friendly and very discreet - perfectly happy to talk to you but not in your face all the time. There are 4 or 5 neighbouring hotels to explore of a similar small size, and a local shop with ATM, but don't come here if you're looking for a built up area with loads of bars and clubs, this is still a quiet island for chilling out and recharging your batteries.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pipadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.2 mi away
Longbay Resort
Longbay Resort
#39 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
High Life Bungalow Resort
High Life Bungalow Resort
#12 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haad Yao Villa
Haad Yao Villa
#137 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seaboard Bungalows
Seaboard Bungalows
#58 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bounty Resort
Bounty Resort
#62 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haad Son Resort & Restaurant
Haad Son Resort & Restaurant
#64 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to See Through Resort Haad Yao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about See Through Resort Haad Yao

Property: See Through Resort Haad Yao
Address: 85/6, Moo 8 | Haad Yao Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — See Through Resort Haad Yao 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your See Through Resort Haad Yao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haad Yao See Through Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing