We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff great vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Had an amazing time here, hut in good condition...great beach just down the hill n the Aussie staff friendly n helpful!plus the beautiful dog twix that lives at the hut at bottom of the hill!will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Godrick17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan R, Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2014

Godrick,

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay there mate, hope we see you again sometime in the future!

until next time, Sabai Sabai!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (710)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 710 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

This place was everything we expected upon reading the rave reviews on TA. The staff are excellent, food is incredible, and bungalows are basic but clean and comfortable. Great location, not far from the beach and a few lovely restaurants. On site facilities including large screen TV and pool table also huge bonuses. Excellent value for money! You won't regret staying here :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan R, Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2014

Thanks for the review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the resort.

Our staff try very hard to offer everything you need to have a great holiday in Koh Phangan.

Hope to see you back on the island soon.

Regards
Shiralea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Shiralea Backpackers Resort is exactly what we had hoped for when looking for Bungalows on Ko Phangan. The Bungalows are great, the staff is immensely helpful and always friendly, the pool is delightful, and they just put in new bathrooms. Super close to the beach. Personally I loved having all drinks and food charged to the room, truly allows you to forget about money and relax.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IH8Jobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan R, Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2014

Thanks for the great review.

The staff pride them selves in being friendly and helpful and were all glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Were really hope that you choose to stay with us again.

Regards
Shiralea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

This is our 3rd time staying at Shiralea and we had a great time. The staff are great and after only a couple of days you feel like part of the family.

The bar is large and set out very well and has a great atmosphere. It also serves great good for very reasonable prices.

The huts have plenty of room ( we stayed on coconut heights ) they are cleaned whenever you want.

Haad Yao is great beach soft sand and warm water also has great sunsets to enjoy. No doubt we'll be back again at some point!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Rob002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Clean rooms and comfortable bungalows (we got one with AC, not sure if they all have it or not). Staff was friendly and helpful. Very close to the beach (about 2 minute walk!). Quieter side of the island which is nice. Took about 45 minutes to get to Haad Rin for Full Moon Party. Free Wifi in the bar and pool areas. Bar hosts some fun activities like trivia and also a great spot to hang out and meet other backpackers.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

shiralea was by far my favourite stay in thailand. the bungalows are clean and quite big, and the pool is really really nice. they also have a restaurant with western/thai food, and you can all put it on a tab. plus they have all day breakfast! the people that work there are more than amazing. the beach is a two minute walk, but to go to the city, you need a motorbike. coming back to shiralea for sure!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Our stay at shiralea was all we could ask for the huts were spacious clean and had a hammock on every balcony. Shiralea was by far the most welcoming place we have been to in thailand, the staff were brilliant always helpful brilliant to book onward travel with and they can all have a laugh. In particular v, kim and Dan were all so easy going and great to be around. Shiralea is set in a beautiful place it is 2 mins to ATM and shops and the beach. The beach is one of the best I have been to although the water is very shallow, you have to go there for the sunset! The food at shiralea was fab I think me and my partner worked our way through all the Thai dishes! All the food and drinks were reasonably priced. The first room we stayed in had a fan was really good and the second a bit more expensive larger hut with aircon which was also great. The only problem we did have was there was a cockroach in our room with air con one night, however we are in thailand and there are bugs so you just have to get over it. We did say to the staff about it who said no one had said it before and they hadn't seen any which I completely believe I do think it was just a one off. Overall it was a fantastic place to stay and we both hope to come again without a doubt!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeAsia_explorer_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#19 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
581 reviews
5.4 mi away
Coco Garden Resort
Coco Garden Resort
#9 of 413 in Ko Pha Ngan
414 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seetanu Bungalows
Seetanu Bungalows
#23 of 413 in Ko Pha Ngan
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Silvermoon Beach & Jungle Resort
Silvermoon Beach & Jungle Resort
#26 of 413 in Ko Pha Ngan
92 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Life Bungalow Resort
High Life Bungalow Resort
#13 of 413 in Ko Pha Ngan
388 reviews
1.9 mi away
Loyfa Natural Resort
Loyfa Natural Resort
#18 of 413 in Ko Pha Ngan
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiralea Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiralea Backpackers Resort

Address: 58/18 Moo 8, Haad Yao, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 413 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $15 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shiralea Backpackers Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the stunning tropical island of Koh Pha Ngan - home to Thailand's famous 'full moon party' - Shiralea is a boutique resort designed to be a backpackers paradise. Welcome to a 'flashpacking' experience. Shiralea was built by a group of travellers who wanted a haven to return to. With a focus on 'good times' we created a friendly and vibrant atmosphere which puts our guests immediately at ease. Shiralea is a place where strangers become friends, we designed the resort with a social aspect which sets us apart, our guests love how they can do exactly what they want at Shiralea- whether that be a crazy night at the bar or a quiet one watching movies. Shiralea is the ideal spot to set up for a few days you'll never forget. Located 1 minutes walk from the beautiful Haad Yao beach. Our resort has all the creature comforts you could want and we cater for all budgets - hot showers, comfortable beds, wall-mounted fan or air conditioned bungalows, an ensuite in each bungalow and your own balcony with a hammock. In addition to our 30 bungalows, we have great facilities to keep you entertained, including a restaurant that offers delicious and well priced Thai and Western meals, a great bar, free wifi, large swimming pool with Jacuzzi and poolside bar, movie lounge, a games room with pool table and a massage hut. Shiralea has everything you need to enjoy your 'flashpacking' experience, but it's the memories that our guests treasure. Lose yourself in the fine art of doing nothing or celebrate balmy nights dancing into the wee hours with new friends. Our staff always welcome our guests with open arms, so all you need to do is bring a bag of basics and a smile. We invite you to join the fun. Book your stay with Shiralea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Shiralea Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiralea Backpackers Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing