We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty amazing. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pretty amazing. ”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

This place is super nice, fun and great value. Staff are friendly, helpful and native english speakers, the location is a little out of the way but that meant the beach was quiet. A really friendly feel to everything. The only downside I would mention is that the wireless connection is extremely temperamental and patchy. This didn't really bother me but I had to do a Skype job interview earlier in my travels so at other times have relied on a good internet connection so this may be worth nothing for anyone in the same position. That said you'd probably be better off going to an actual Internet cafe anyway.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank clinky24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    103
    49
    15
    16
See reviews for
24
129
102
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Its far away from had rin but does not matter at all, close to a nice beach they do transport to the parties, cheap, tab system is good. Best bungalows I've stayed in nice pool great bar and the staff are legends

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Shiralea was our favorite place in all of SE Asia! The location was great! The food was amazing! The great staff makes the place awesome! Beautiful grounds and great little bungalows.

If you're feeling generous and wanna make quick friends with other travelers and the staff as well, give the bell at the bar ring and buy everyone a round of shots!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CayoHeusoLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

An amazing location, with great value rooms and super staff! We had a great stay here, the staff were incredibly lovely and understanding when we had to extend our stay. We were given advice on things to do and even invited to the local music festival. We plan on returning here at some point in the future as we talk about it all the time and have such wonderful memories. Very clean, and a very high standard in comparison to a number of places that have backpacker status. Special thanks to Richie and his team.... :)

We actually visited in January 2012 but the options don't go back that far, we promised a review and of all the places we have reviewed this deserves a great big sparkly one!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AyshaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the shiralea backpackers resort for the full moon party and all I can say is WOW!

We arrived to the friendliest and most warming welcome from the staff! Who are absolutely amazing!

The accommodation was spotless, comfy and great value for money!

It was my birthday during my stay and they really made it one to remember!

This resort is so much fun and the staff make a huge effort to get everyone involved!

This is truly an amazing place, and we've made some great friends here.

I would recommend it to anyone, if I return to Koh Phangan I will 100% be staying here again!

The Welsh Lads

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank stef_1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights, the place has such a lovely atmosphere. The staff are so friendly and very helpful with anything you need. The accommodation was spot on. There was certainly nothing we could fault about Shiralea and defiantly would not hesitate to go back again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this spot a few days ago. We found the staff to be outstanding, food and drinks great and the room very clean. It is just a short walk to the beach but offers a great pool, hammocks and lovely setting for relaxing and reading if sunning is not your thing. It is about 30 separate bungalows built on a hillside with pathways in a coconut grove. One of our favorite places ever.

Room Tip: Bungalow 29 or 30 is away from the party area and nighttime action
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vona_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
6.1 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#36 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
5.9 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Salad Hut Bungalows
Salad Hut Bungalows
#3 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Life Bungalow Resort
High Life Bungalow Resort
#13 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiralea Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiralea Backpackers Resort

Property: Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Address: 58/18 Moo 8, Haad Yao, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 356 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shiralea Backpackers Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the stunning tropical island of Koh Pha Ngan - home to Thailand's famous 'full moon party' - Shiralea is a boutique resort designed to be a backpackers paradise. Welcome to a 'flashpacking' experience. Shiralea was built by a group of travellers who wanted a haven to return to. With a focus on 'good times' we created a friendly and vibrant atmosphere which puts our guests immediately at ease. Shiralea is a place where strangers become friends, we designed the resort with a social aspect which sets us apart, our guests love how they can do exactly what they want at Shiralea- whether that be a crazy night at the bar or a quiet one watching movies. Shiralea is the ideal spot to set up for a few days you'll never forget. Located 1 minutes walk from the beautiful Haad Yao beach. Our resort has all the creature comforts you could want and we cater for all budgets - hot showers, comfortable beds, wall-mounted fan or air conditioned bungalows, an ensuite in each bungalow and your own balcony with a hammock. In addition to our 30 bungalows, we have great facilities to keep you entertained, including a restaurant that offers delicious and well priced Thai and Western meals, a great bar, free wifi, large swimming pool with Jacuzzi and poolside bar, movie lounge, a games room with pool table and a massage hut. Shiralea has everything you need to enjoy your 'flashpacking' experience, but it's the memories that our guests treasure. Lose yourself in the fine art of doing nothing or celebrate balmy nights dancing into the wee hours with new friends. Our staff always welcome our guests with open arms, so all you need to do is bring a bag of basics and a smile. We invite you to join the fun. Book your stay with Shiralea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Shiralea Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiralea Backpackers Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing