We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greatest place ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Greatest place ever”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Such a good buzz here! Rooms are good pool is great food is great but the people running the place are what make it!! Lots of activities and always entertainment at the bar! The bell ring is one my fav things! Pool tv room! Paint party flip cup beer pong! Massages!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahbentham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    103
    49
    15
    16
See reviews for
24
129
102
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is my favourite place of all the places I have ever stayed. Shiralea is incredible. It's your home away from home and more; with meals that leave you satisfied, staff that know how to have an awesome time, accommodation that keeps you happy, a pool that is open 24/7, a pool table and TV area where you can just kick back with friends new and old, and by night, the restaurant/bar turns into party central with great tunes and good vibes. This is your one stop shop when visiting Koh Phangan. Just stay here, you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizathewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Awesome extras and great food service. The rooms were very clean and surrounding gardens were well maintained and presentable. The pool area was great and the beach was close in proximity. Best massages in Thailand!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros13De
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Excellent staff who look after you, great pool to swim around and cool off in, close to the beach and just overall an excellent place to chill out with a beer and listen to some tunes whether it be at the bar or in the pool. Must try an attitude adjuster before you leave and ring the bell!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adzy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Loved it. Private bungalows in a pretty garden setting, really close to the beach but also has a very enticing pool. The staff were so friendly and helpful and included everyone, especially for the moon parties, and the bar could be really good fun with theme parties when they have tour groups thru and for moon parties, so an easy place to meet other travellers. On site masseuse was a dream, also good area for watching movies. Easy to get around the island and explore from here, and nice to not be in the chaos of a city! An awesome place to chill out, hoping to go back at the end of my trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Just9603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We planned staying 4 nights and ended up stayin nearly 2 weeks.
We" stayed in a fan bungalow that had all we needed. Comfy bed, loads of space to put away or hang up your stuff, in room safe, large bathroom with good hot shower, cozy terrace where you can relax in you own hammoch. All the bungalows are located in a nice garden.
Best thing about Shiralea is the welcoming atmophere. We felt so at ease there. Staff are very friendly and helpfull. They provide the guests with games and activities in the evening (RING THE BELL) and they try to make sure you are having a good time.
The resort has a nice pool, so if the 3 minute walk to the beach is to much on your lazy day, you can cool down here.
The resort also has a wide range of activities/tours that you can book through them. They work together with 'Sail Rock Divers' so you can arrange your diving experiences!
The restaurant food is fantastic! Best kitchen we've had in Thailand so far. Its not super cheap, compared to street stalls, but knowing how good everything tastes we didn't mind spending a little more.
The resort also has an outside are where you can watch movies and next to it a pool table you can use free of charge.
They organise transport to the moonparties and have free blacklight paint available to all guests.
The bar area is the place to be! Its a great place to meet new people, they play music every night and with some beerpong and shots you will enjoy yourself for sure.
Now and then a tour group might stay for a couple of days, but don't be shy and join in on the fun (definately stick around if you ike free shots).
The place puts a smile on everyones face, even the kitchen ladies have a blast each day taking out the garbage.
If you are looking for some peace and quiet, this might not be the best place during high season. When the bar is busy it might go on untill 2 AM so sleeping could be difficult depending how close your bungalow is.
Overall a little piece of Thailand to call home! Will be visiting again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salix88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Amazing! Beautifully set out, fun and friendly for the whole family. Amazing view, clean rooms, wonderful staff, great food, whole package in one. Worth the visit, looking forward to returning as soon as possible.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanalenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
6.1 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#36 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
5.9 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Salad Hut Bungalows
Salad Hut Bungalows
#3 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Life Bungalow Resort
High Life Bungalow Resort
#13 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiralea Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiralea Backpackers Resort

Property: Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Address: 58/18 Moo 8, Haad Yao, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 356 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shiralea Backpackers Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the stunning tropical island of Koh Pha Ngan - home to Thailand's famous 'full moon party' - Shiralea is a boutique resort designed to be a backpackers paradise. Welcome to a 'flashpacking' experience. Shiralea was built by a group of travellers who wanted a haven to return to. With a focus on 'good times' we created a friendly and vibrant atmosphere which puts our guests immediately at ease. Shiralea is a place where strangers become friends, we designed the resort with a social aspect which sets us apart, our guests love how they can do exactly what they want at Shiralea- whether that be a crazy night at the bar or a quiet one watching movies. Shiralea is the ideal spot to set up for a few days you'll never forget. Located 1 minutes walk from the beautiful Haad Yao beach. Our resort has all the creature comforts you could want and we cater for all budgets - hot showers, comfortable beds, wall-mounted fan or air conditioned bungalows, an ensuite in each bungalow and your own balcony with a hammock. In addition to our 30 bungalows, we have great facilities to keep you entertained, including a restaurant that offers delicious and well priced Thai and Western meals, a great bar, free wifi, large swimming pool with Jacuzzi and poolside bar, movie lounge, a games room with pool table and a massage hut. Shiralea has everything you need to enjoy your 'flashpacking' experience, but it's the memories that our guests treasure. Lose yourself in the fine art of doing nothing or celebrate balmy nights dancing into the wee hours with new friends. Our staff always welcome our guests with open arms, so all you need to do is bring a bag of basics and a smile. We invite you to join the fun. Book your stay with Shiralea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shiralea Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiralea Backpackers Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing