We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably just above average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Probably just above average”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The restaurant and bar part of the resort is excellent, as is the swimming pool. The bungalows themselves are not too good. They are advertised as having hot showers but ours was stone cold, as was some other guests that we spoke to. 3 out of the 4 lights didn't work in our bungalow and the windows weren't very secure. The location is really remote and far away from the fullmoon party but there's a nice beach nearby. Our bins weren't emptied despite us leaving them where we were asked.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiralea_Management, Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Rachel D, thank you for your review and the kind words on our facilities we provide at Shiralea. We are very sorry however that your room caused you troubles and did not live up to the standards and expectations that we usually set and provide at Shiralea. We apologize that the some of the amenities provided in our bungalows were not working. All rooms are provided with sufficient working lights and also hot showers, we wish you had brought this issue to our attention during your stay so we could have fixed the problem, usually it's just a minor electrical fault that can be taken care of very easily. We are undergoing some renovations of all rooms at Shiralea at the moment and have asked for the bungalows to be checked over by an electrician so we hopefully don't have this issue again. Thank you again for your review and we wish you safe and happy travels. Chok dee kahp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    106
    51
    18
    18
See reviews for
24
133
107
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here over Christmas in 2010. I have seen via webpages and Facebook that Shiralea has grown and has become even more popular. As students and young adults, this was more than we needed, a clean, simple bungalow with a fan and a hammock on our little balcony. The owners/ managers are very helpful and provide you with anything you want to know about the island. The other staff are very welcoming and overall, we really felt like we were at home. The atmosphere is very chilled, almost like a stoners paradise.
However, some parties at night went on way too long. (We were warned of loud music until 12am, meanwhile it actually only ended after 2am). It was very loud and we could not sleep, this was the only frustrating because we had a taxi fetching us at 5am the next morning and I am a person who really needs there sleep!

We tried to book again for this year, unfortunately they were sold out for the amount of rooms we required. Would definitely recommend this place if you can book in time!!

Room Tip: Book in advanced! And preferably away from the bar area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Me and my two friends stayed here a few days after the full moon party. It was like heaven after leaving had rin ! The accommodation is perfect! The pool is just an added bonus considering how little it costs to stay here and the staff are brilliant especially Vee and Joy, they definitely made our stay the best! If you go to Koh Phangan and you dont stay here, you are missing out !! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie_Anne91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We loved our stay here. The room had cold A/C and hot water, as well as 2 large beds.The owners are super friendly and provide a relaxed beach vibe. The food is also really good and cheap. The bar where the food is served is a great place to relax or meet up with other backpackers. It is a 5 min walk down to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee0232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Planned to stay for 2 nights, stayed for 8 it was so good. Amazing food, lovely staff. Clean rooms, 2 min walk to the beach.
Really easy to walk into town, and to other bars.
The staff are super helpful, will keep you updated with anything worth seeing whilst you're there. They're just like a little family, welcoming and full of love.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarthLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

What a shame the staff have gone a bit mental without the bosses there and in a effort to impress some young chicas have now turned the place into a slightly sad party lodge .. Had a wicked first four days now am sitting on my balcony blasted (and I mean blasted) by cheesy euro dance from the bar..the guys and 'ladies' at the bar must be aurally challenged... And I'm no wall flower... Ask miss Riebel... but this is to the point where I'm checking out in the morning whereas I was gonna stay another week and bring friends over..what a shame for lovely place .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahplaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

As backpackers go it was really awesome and was nicer than any others i've stayed in, it has everything you need and more. The staff are simply fantastic and go above and beyond. Loved every second and Shiralea and would go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca_1982_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
546 reviews
6.1 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#35 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
242 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Life Bungalow Resort
High Life Bungalow Resort
#11 of 372 in Ko Pha Ngan
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Seetanu Bungalows
Seetanu Bungalows
#21 of 372 in Ko Pha Ngan
469 reviews
6.5 mi away
Echo Beach Backpackers
Echo Beach Backpackers
#12 of 372 in Ko Pha Ngan
227 reviews
7.5 mi away
Mai Pen Rai Bungalows
Mai Pen Rai Bungalows
#50 of 372 in Ko Pha Ngan
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiralea Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiralea Backpackers Resort

Property: Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Address: 58/18 Moo 8, Haad Yao, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 372 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shiralea Backpackers Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the stunning tropical island of Koh Pha Ngan - home to Thailand's famous 'full moon party' - Shiralea is a boutique resort designed to be a backpackers paradise. Welcome to a 'flashpacking' experience. Shiralea was built by a group of travellers who wanted a haven to return to. With a focus on 'good times' we created a friendly and vibrant atmosphere which puts our guests immediately at ease. Shiralea is a place where strangers become friends, we designed the resort with a social aspect which sets us apart, our guests love how they can do exactly what they want at Shiralea- whether that be a crazy night at the bar or a quiet one watching movies. Shiralea is the ideal spot to set up for a few days you'll never forget. Located 1 minutes walk from the beautiful Haad Yao beach. Our resort has all the creature comforts you could want and we cater for all budgets - hot showers, comfortable beds, wall-mounted fan or air conditioned bungalows, an ensuite in each bungalow and your own balcony with a hammock. In addition to our 30 bungalows, we have great facilities to keep you entertained, including a restaurant that offers delicious and well priced Thai and Western meals, a great bar, free wifi, large swimming pool with Jacuzzi and poolside bar, movie lounge, a games room with pool table and a massage hut. Shiralea has everything you need to enjoy your 'flashpacking' experience, but it's the memories that our guests treasure. Lose yourself in the fine art of doing nothing or celebrate balmy nights dancing into the wee hours with new friends. Our staff always welcome our guests with open arms, so all you need to do is bring a bag of basics and a smile. We invite you to join the fun. Book your stay with Shiralea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shiralea Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiralea Backpackers Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing