We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Tremendous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wattana Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wattana Resort
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Jeju, South Korea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tremendous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This place is excellent, stayed here for 3 weeks in December and January. I couldn't have asked for a more relaxed place to stay at, I'll be back in July. The family who own place are real sweet, the location is tops, the food is quality, the bungalows rock, in fact the whole place rocked, only wish I was still there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markjhiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    32
    12
    2
    6
See reviews for
21
38
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stay at this resort at big house, sea in front view, less than 20 meters. Nice & charming manager, good room with 2 double bed, quiet place, healthy breakfast. Good choice for vacation in Koh Phangan.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CWOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Wattana for 4 nights in January. It was the perfect little place with its own secluded beach. The bungalows were fairly basic but still very comfortable. The staff was very attentive and welcoming. They also offered taxi service, laundry service, motorbike rental, WiFi and a restaurant all on the premises which was nice because the resort itself is a bit out of the way.
The only downside was there was litter in the sea in the mornings when the tide was high. Also, careful of the step down into the bathroom - it can be slippery when wet. Overall, a great little place for a quiet, relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krixie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed at Wattana Resort for 6 nights in August 2011. Loved the quietness, the super-friendly family who runs the resort and our bungalow. Bungalow was clean, felt new and had a great view. Plus there was some space between bungalows. A big positive was the super comfortable bed that we had. Beach is definitely not the nicest on the island (but it's quiet!), food was ok, but these things are minor in comparison to all the good stuff. Will definitely go back to Wattana.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

We stayed there 9 days at the end of Feb. 2011 - we tried all the 3 types of bungalows (800-2000TB) and all where good. It is good place form the kids, food is pretty OK but the best is the silence and relaxed environment, no bars or karaoke no music in the restaurant and no sound from the mountain roads.
No Pool but a great pool next door (which can be used)
Good free Wi-Fi
easy access to the larger beaches and waterfalls which should not be missed
overall very pleasant, low key and cheap :-)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mobius6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

A good stop in the calm part of Koh Pha-Ngan, bungalows on the beach are wonderful

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank backpacker666666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed at the Wattana resort for 6 nights at the beginning of our family trip to Thailand this summer. We are a family of 6 so rented a family bungalow and a standard bungalow between us. The bungalows are basic but clean and cosy. The beds are pretty hard but they are pretty much the same everywhere in Thailand. We chose the location because we wanted to be far away from the crowds coming for the full moon party. It was a perfect location for a family, but if you are looking to party it is probably the wrong place for you. Each bungalow has a hammock and you have clean towels when you arrive, but just be aware they aren't changed after that.

As other reviewers have said, it is a family run resort, so we feel like we really got to know the owners and their adorable little girl who visits with everyone at meals. Out of all of the places we stayed on our trip, this was number one for my kids, probably because it was so friendly and personal. We were picked up from the ferry by the owners and brought to the resort. The food is fantastic here and the price is reasonable. We went to a few other places but ended up eating here for most meals as they were the best. The beach is right out the door. We were a little disappointed that the water was very shallow during the day and not really swimmable until the evening, but we discovered that this time of year most of the beaches on the North and West sides of the Island are like this. We walked into the little village along the beach often. There are some great little seafood restaurants right on the water in the village that are worth trying.

We rented a longtail boat for a day and toured the East side of the island to various beaches. The swimming is much better this time of year on this side of the Island, but it is true that you can get stuck there. The weather turned on us when we were at Bottle Beach and we were stranded for a few hours until the storm let up. Koh Mah is a 30 minute walk or a 5 minute scooter ride and had some good snorkeling. The beach there was a little dirty and there is construction going on so I wouldn't want to stay there. We hired a driver to take us to the beaches on the West side of the Island for the day which was reasonable.

My husband and I were in Koh Samui for our honeymoon 20 years ago and brought our 4 kids back to Thailand for our anniversary this summer. Koh Phangan is definately much quieter and nicer than Samui and we would highly recommend the Wattana if you go.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summertrip2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phangan hotels
2.8 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#21 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
3.0 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
3.4 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#33 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#29 of 92 in Ko Phangan
3.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mandalai Hotel
Mandalai Hotel
#36 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
#37 of 92 in Ko Phangan
3.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wattana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wattana Resort

Property: Wattana Resort
Address: 69 2 Chaloklum Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wattana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing