We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tremendous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wattana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wattana Resort
Ranked #34 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Jeju, South Korea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tremendous”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This place is excellent, stayed here for 3 weeks in December and January. I couldn't have asked for a more relaxed place to stay at, I'll be back in July. The family who own place are real sweet, the location is tops, the food is quality, the bungalows rock, in fact the whole place rocked, only wish I was still there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markjhiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    33
    15
    2
    6
See reviews for
22
45
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stay at this resort at big house, sea in front view, less than 20 meters. Nice & charming manager, good room with 2 double bed, quiet place, healthy breakfast. Good choice for vacation in Koh Phangan.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Wattana for 4 nights in January. It was the perfect little place with its own secluded beach. The bungalows were fairly basic but still very comfortable. The staff was very attentive and welcoming. They also offered taxi service, laundry service, motorbike rental, WiFi and a restaurant all on the premises which was nice because the resort itself is a bit out of the way.
The only downside was there was litter in the sea in the mornings when the tide was high. Also, careful of the step down into the bathroom - it can be slippery when wet. Overall, a great little place for a quiet, relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krixie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed at Wattana Resort for 6 nights in August 2011. Loved the quietness, the super-friendly family who runs the resort and our bungalow. Bungalow was clean, felt new and had a great view. Plus there was some space between bungalows. A big positive was the super comfortable bed that we had. Beach is definitely not the nicest on the island (but it's quiet!), food was ok, but these things are minor in comparison to all the good stuff. Will definitely go back to Wattana.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We stayed there 9 days at the end of Feb. 2011 - we tried all the 3 types of bungalows (800-2000TB) and all where good. It is good place form the kids, food is pretty OK but the best is the silence and relaxed environment, no bars or karaoke no music in the restaurant and no sound from the mountain roads.
No Pool but a great pool next door (which can be used)
Good free Wi-Fi
easy access to the larger beaches and waterfalls which should not be missed
overall very pleasant, low key and cheap :-)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mobius6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2009

A good stop in the calm part of Koh Pha-Ngan, bungalows on the beach are wonderful

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backpacker666666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed at the Wattana resort for 6 nights at the beginning of our family trip to Thailand this summer. We are a family of 6 so rented a family bungalow and a standard bungalow between us. The bungalows are basic but clean and cosy. The beds are pretty hard but they are pretty much the same everywhere in Thailand. We chose the location because we wanted to be far away from the crowds coming for the full moon party. It was a perfect location for a family, but if you are looking to party it is probably the wrong place for you. Each bungalow has a hammock and you have clean towels when you arrive, but just be aware they aren't changed after that.

As other reviewers have said, it is a family run resort, so we feel like we really got to know the owners and their adorable little girl who visits with everyone at meals. Out of all of the places we stayed on our trip, this was number one for my kids, probably because it was so friendly and personal. We were picked up from the ferry by the owners and brought to the resort. The food is fantastic here and the price is reasonable. We went to a few other places but ended up eating here for most meals as they were the best. The beach is right out the door. We were a little disappointed that the water was very shallow during the day and not really swimmable until the evening, but we discovered that this time of year most of the beaches on the North and West sides of the Island are like this. We walked into the little village along the beach often. There are some great little seafood restaurants right on the water in the village that are worth trying.

We rented a longtail boat for a day and toured the East side of the island to various beaches. The swimming is much better this time of year on this side of the Island, but it is true that you can get stuck there. The weather turned on us when we were at Bottle Beach and we were stranded for a few hours until the storm let up. Koh Mah is a 30 minute walk or a 5 minute scooter ride and had some good snorkeling. The beach there was a little dirty and there is construction going on so I wouldn't want to stay there. We hired a driver to take us to the beaches on the West side of the Island for the day which was reasonable.

My husband and I were in Koh Samui for our honeymoon 20 years ago and brought our 4 kids back to Thailand for our anniversary this summer. Koh Phangan is definately much quieter and nicer than Samui and we would highly recommend the Wattana if you go.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summertrip2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
2.7 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
523 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mandalai Hotel
Mandalai Hotel
#42 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viva On The Beach HOTEL
Viva On The Beach HOTEL
#46 of 355 in Ko Pha Ngan
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Beck's Resort
Beck's Resort
#40 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
153 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
#38 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malibu Beach Bungalows
Malibu Beach Bungalows
#66 of 130 in Ko Pha Ngan
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wattana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wattana Resort

Property: Wattana Resort
Address: 69/2 Moo.7 Chaloklum Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wattana Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Wattana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing