We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach bungalows off the beaten path”
Review of Wattana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wattana Resort
Ranked #38 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great beach bungalows off the beaten path”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Wattana for 4 nights in January. It was the perfect little place with its own secluded beach. The bungalows were fairly basic but still very comfortable. The staff was very attentive and welcoming. They also offered taxi service, laundry service, motorbike rental, WiFi and a restaurant all on the premises which was nice because the resort itself is a bit out of the way.
The only downside was there was litter in the sea in the mornings when the tide was high. Also, careful of the step down into the bathroom - it can be slippery when wet. Overall, a great little place for a quiet, relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krixie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    34
    15
    2
    6
See reviews for
22
45
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed at Wattana Resort for 6 nights in August 2011. Loved the quietness, the super-friendly family who runs the resort and our bungalow. Bungalow was clean, felt new and had a great view. Plus there was some space between bungalows. A big positive was the super comfortable bed that we had. Beach is definitely not the nicest on the island (but it's quiet!), food was ok, but these things are minor in comparison to all the good stuff. Will definitely go back to Wattana.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We stayed there 9 days at the end of Feb. 2011 - we tried all the 3 types of bungalows (800-2000TB) and all where good. It is good place form the kids, food is pretty OK but the best is the silence and relaxed environment, no bars or karaoke no music in the restaurant and no sound from the mountain roads.
No Pool but a great pool next door (which can be used)
Good free Wi-Fi
easy access to the larger beaches and waterfalls which should not be missed
overall very pleasant, low key and cheap :-)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mobius6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2009

A good stop in the calm part of Koh Pha-Ngan, bungalows on the beach are wonderful

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backpacker666666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed at the Wattana resort for 6 nights at the beginning of our family trip to Thailand this summer. We are a family of 6 so rented a family bungalow and a standard bungalow between us. The bungalows are basic but clean and cosy. The beds are pretty hard but they are pretty much the same everywhere in Thailand. We chose the location because we wanted to be far away from the crowds coming for the full moon party. It was a perfect location for a family, but if you are looking to party it is probably the wrong place for you. Each bungalow has a hammock and you have clean towels when you arrive, but just be aware they aren't changed after that.

As other reviewers have said, it is a family run resort, so we feel like we really got to know the owners and their adorable little girl who visits with everyone at meals. Out of all of the places we stayed on our trip, this was number one for my kids, probably because it was so friendly and personal. We were picked up from the ferry by the owners and brought to the resort. The food is fantastic here and the price is reasonable. We went to a few other places but ended up eating here for most meals as they were the best. The beach is right out the door. We were a little disappointed that the water was very shallow during the day and not really swimmable until the evening, but we discovered that this time of year most of the beaches on the North and West sides of the Island are like this. We walked into the little village along the beach often. There are some great little seafood restaurants right on the water in the village that are worth trying.

We rented a longtail boat for a day and toured the East side of the island to various beaches. The swimming is much better this time of year on this side of the Island, but it is true that you can get stuck there. The weather turned on us when we were at Bottle Beach and we were stranded for a few hours until the storm let up. Koh Mah is a 30 minute walk or a 5 minute scooter ride and had some good snorkeling. The beach there was a little dirty and there is construction going on so I wouldn't want to stay there. We hired a driver to take us to the beaches on the West side of the Island for the day which was reasonable.

My husband and I were in Koh Samui for our honeymoon 20 years ago and brought our 4 kids back to Thailand for our anniversary this summer. Koh Phangan is definately much quieter and nicer than Samui and we would highly recommend the Wattana if you go.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summertrip2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2009

We stayed in the modern bungalow for 4 nights and the resort is very relaxing and quiet. The resort is at the end of the bay and is about a 10 - 15 minute walk into town. There is also a restaurant which is open all day. The only downside was that our room wasn't cleaned during our stay and we had to ask for clean towels and bath mat and change the toilet bin. However nothing else could be faulted so was good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruby_york20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2009

I LOVE this place, LOVE the staff and family that run it, and cant wait to go back.........

As soon as you arrive at the resort, you realise how friendly, accommodating and welcoming the staff are. I have travelled and stayed on more than 12 island, and this, by far was the best experience.

Staff
This is a family run business, and they go out of their way to help. Whether it is getting taxis, hiring scooters, booking your tours, advising on places to visit, they will always bend over backwards.

Accommodation
The huts are well priced (compared to the expensive dodgy places I stayed at) very clean (no strange smells or insects from the drains) and just has a good feel about it. Most of them have a hammock on the pouch, with views of the ocean, which is about 10-20 metres away.

Food
All the food we ate here was delicious, from the breakfast to dinner. The prices were really good, and we were impressed by the quality of the meals.

The Resort
It is located on the end of Chaloklum beach, which is a clean and enjoyable beach, away from the touristy areas. There is a variety of water sports on the beach.

Things to do
Close-by you will find shopping area, bars and restaurants, an elephant camp, archery and great beaches, tours leaving for day trip to other islands.

This place really feels like home and you will plan your next trip there as soon as you leave. I would recommend Wattana to all my friends and family, and hoping to stay with them for 3 months, so I can explore the rest of the island.

You can book directly with them at
http://www.wattanaresort.com

  • Liked — Clean rooms and amazing staff'
  • Disliked — Having to leave...........
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lioness10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
2.7 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
536 reviews
2.9 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
0.2 mi away
Viva On The Beach HOTEL
Viva On The Beach HOTEL
#49 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mandalai Hotel
Mandalai Hotel
#52 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buritara Resort & Spa at Koh Phangan
1.7 mi away
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
#41 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wattana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wattana Resort

Property: Wattana Resort
Address: 69/2 Moo.7 Chaloklum Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wattana Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Wattana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing