We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful sunset” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Scene Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea Scene Resort
Ranked #20 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Marburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

The resort is well kept and clean. The beach is very small and during high tide it is difficult to find aplace to relax. We had a garden view bungalow but we could see the sea. Bungalows are clean with a fridge. Breakfast is simple but good. If you want to find another beach you have to rent a scooter for 200 bath. Food from the little restaurant is delicious and cheap. Beautiful sunset.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vule1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    53
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
29
78
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this resort for one month, beautiful private beach (sand is stoney, we brought swim shoes to avoid any discomfort), clean comfortable bungalows, friendly staff esp. owner and 'Aunty'. Good location near Tongsala (10 mins drive) although if you are not planning to rent a scooter may feel isolated.

Highly recommend Sea Scene.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timmy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We are family from Lithuania with two 10 and 7 years boys. This BB is for people looking silence and relaxing. I can only count benefits, and can not find any disadvantages...
So I like this BB for:
- Nice, small, privat, clear sandy beatch with huge stones about 20-50 meters from coast
- near to main peer (taxi cost for our family 300 BHT)
- cleen and comfortable houses in nice garden. We lived in No 1 with see view. It is 10 m from the see;)
- room is clean, is hot water, shower room is nice and new.
- cleaning rooms once in two days, but if you would ask it could be done every day and every time you want
- food is very delicious and price worth the quality (shakes or smoothies are 50 BHT but are all from fruits not from ice;) Also women in the kitchen are making all food fresh and increadable quickly. Max15 min to wait.
- everything you need could be arranged: motorbikes, snorkeling, cayaks and etc.
Prices:
1900bht one night for our family (2 adults, 2 boys) room with see view, also the other but the same room - 5 meters from our house with garden view is for 1200 bht.
Breakfast included and is good. You can choise from 5 meals. Also is capucino coffee:) from natural coffee beens. As mentioned tasty and full of fruits shakes are 50bht. Main meals from 90 to 120-140 bht. Cola with local brendy - 80 bht, very huge pancake with fruits and chocolate 90 bht.
- motorbike 200 bht for day
- kayak 100bht for hour
It is very close (about 200m) to main road, but you can not hear any sou d of busy road. By motorbike to the north of island about 15 min, to full moon beatch - 20 min. It is better to drive in day time.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Milcei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were greeted by the lady who runs the resort “mama” with a warm smile and welcome before being shown to our room. This was a lovely bungalow with a sea view and within throwing distance to the beach front. The section of beach the hotel is situated is by far the nicest along that stretch of sand. This is because there a few reeds not too far from the coast which get washed up every morning and whilst these remain along most of the beach, the Sea Scene staff make sure the area directly outside the resort is spotless. The room was very basic and we had to ask for room service and clean sheets/towels after three days since no-one had been along to do it. The food at the resort was very good, for the most part. We had three excellent meals and one that was less so. This warm, family run resort had won us over by the end of our stay and we were very sad to leave

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank selcouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

The best thing about Smile House was our rustic superior delux bungalow on the beach (although almost all their bungalows are within a stone's throw even if not beach-facing). The worst thing was a slightly disgruntled staff which refused us extra towels (we were only given towels for the shower). But all in all we had a lovely time. Smile House is off the beaten path, close enough to the restaurants of Thong Sala but also far from the party scene of Had Rin. A simple breakfast was included and served on the open-air patio. At one point the staff was kind enough to heat up the leftover food from our afternoon cooking class for dinner. They also have affordable, decent motor scooters for rent which we did for the 3 days we were there to get around. When we prepared to leave they helped us reserve a boat trip back to Koh Tao and agreed to a later checkout so we could spend out last morning on the beach. I would recommend Smile House with the caveat that they were not the best deal in town but we did have a good time.

Room Tip: We got the superior delux because we were on honeymoon but don't bother. It's only the most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We chose the lowest price accommodation and we got a garden view bungalow, quite small but still nice.

Problems
- water heater was not working, water pressure really low
- room was cleaned only after direct request at the reception
- geckos were often found inside the bungalow (might be normal in Thailand, but it happened only in this hotel to us)

Positive
- really nice location, directly at the beach. Beach cleaner than other spots on the island.
- snorkeling mask available for free at the reception, as well as books
- restaurant has good prices. Food was ok, not outstanding
- scooter rental service directly at the hotel. We had a brand new one and no problems at all during our stay

Overall a good compromise between money and service.

Room Tip: As far as we were able to see, sea view rooms are bigger than garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dieniner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights during the full moon party. We knew for what we paid we wasn't going to get luxury, but having paid similar prices for the past 3 weeks in Thailand we were fairly disappointed with the accommodation.

We had a garden view room which was the cheapest available. The room was basic but clean when we arrived. The issues we had were it wasn't cleaned once during our stay, and we had to use the same towel for 3 days. Also you only get one toilet roll, and have to go to reception to get a new one when it runs out!

Location isn't ideal, it's in the middle of no where. 30 min taxi to haad Rin which we went to for the full moon party and 10 mins to thong sala (100 baht each!), where the nearest shops & restaurants are.

The hotel is situated on a lovely peaceful beach, and the restaurant is nice which are the positives. Staff friendly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Little_miss_ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
4.0 mi away
Mac's Bay Resort
Mac's Bay Resort
#45 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#19 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baan Busaba Hotel
Baan Busaba Hotel
#55 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
V-View Beach Resort
V-View Beach Resort
#18 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.8 mi away
Phangan Beach Resort
Phangan Beach Resort
#26 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beck's Resort
Beck's Resort
#42 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Scene Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Scene Resort

Property: Sea Scene Resort
Address: Aow Plaayleam, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Scene Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sea Scene Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing