We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing veggie food, great cocktails wonderful family business”
Review of Big Mountain

Big Mountain
Ranked #80 of 363 Restaurants in Ko Pha Ngan
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing veggie food, great cocktails wonderful family business”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Simply the best papaya salad in the world! Both my meat eating friend ate here almost every night and lunch time of our holiday. Lovely cocktails all reasonably priced. Charming family who helped us out to get to other part of islands for a reasonable fee and were so welcoming including their lovely children. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank HonestH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    30
    12
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“Excellent food, cooked fresh and served hot”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We ordered, stuffed paratha with feta and spinach, falafel and green curried fried rice. All food was cooked fresh and was absolutely lovely! Nice clean restaurant and could not fault the food, service or price. Definitely stop here for a lovely meal.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place, food could be better”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The food is not bad at all, I ate pad thai most of the time, but it's far from the best ones I ate in Thailand. The restaurant is in the very nice place though. Thai bbq is alright, except that you really need to know how to mix these things in order to make them delicious... Which means you need to know Thai cuisine well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rada P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not good value. Not good taste. Find another place.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Ate here once for lunch. My wife got fried rice. I got noodles in gravy. Both dishes were neither good nor cheap. The milk tea was bland. We wouldn't eat here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckaroobanzai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place good food!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We where looking for a place with fish bbq and saw the sign saying bbq big mountain. It wasnt what we expected but it was good anyway. You can choose between normal chairs and a table or a low table and sitting on cushions. In the table there is a pit where the staff puts the charcoal and on top of that there is a mountain. On the sides they pour water in which you can boil vegetables and on the top you can bbq fish and meat. It wasnt a typical touristic place but thats the good thing about it. And the icecream was indeed delicious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heleen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Mountain also viewed

Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Big Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing