We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a point of reference!!!”

La Dolce Vita - Ristorante & Lounge Beach Bar
Ranked #38 of 427 Restaurants in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: La Dolce Vita Koh Phangan is a place of emotion and indulgence. Sit down, relax and let yourself be whisked into the combination of delightful tastes, smells and colors coming from the meeting of the Italian cuisine and the ingredients of Thai tradition. The menu offers a rich selection of authentic Thai dishes, fresh seafood as well as an excellent range of Italian specialties with many types of homemade pasta and pizza. The sunsets here will leave you breathless. Sipping a cocktail at our new Beach Bar, enjoying the explosion of colors of both sky and sea is a unique experience.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

If you are looking for the best cuisine in phangan you have to go there.
I'm Italian and italian dishes here are like in Italy very good...thay dishes here are the best i ate on my holiday cuisine is very accurate!!!LOVE IT!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JIMMY87_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 168 of 403 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2011

Me and my girlfriend went into this restaurant with high hopes, because of the earlier reviews on this site. It was a quiet night and there was only 2 other tables other than us. First when we ordered, it took some time(more than usually in Thailand) to get the waiter to understand the order. Second, the arrival of the food took at least 40 minutes(Sure, we ordered cannelloni and self-made raviolis but still)

All of this was okay since we still had the reviews fresh in our minds and expected the food to make up for the wait. For our surprise, it didn't. I've had better raviolis when I've bought one of those microwave oven-heatable ready-to-eat boxes at the local store, they didn't taste anything like I had expected, the tomato sauce was plain to say the least and the flavor of the filling inside the ravioli didn't even resemble anything of spinach or ricotta cheese, it was just bland. My girlfriend complained about the same thing.

In addition the portions were really small and left us both hungry but we didn't order dessert because we were afraid it would take ages again and the quality of our main courses didn't encourage us to order anything, rather just leave as quickly as possible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank minari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucpez, General Manager at La Dolce Vita - Ristorante & Lounge Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2011

Dear Guest,
we are sorry your dinner with us was disappointing.
However we believe that saying that our homemade pastas are worse than microwave oven-heatable ready-to-eat boxes is very unfair. Italian sauce is imported from Italy, as well as parmesan, gorgonzola, spaghetti, balsamic vinegar and several other ingredients. We have been successfully in business for over 4 years and being Italians we are pretty picky but regularly enjoy these dishes very much.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We stayed at Had Yao and luckly took a stroll up the beach to find this hidden gem. The restaurant food and service was so good that we decided to move to the attached hotel.
The restaurant is modern but true to the thaitradition and the view is great, especially at sunset. The food was perfectly preparated and we dined here many times.
The only reason not to recommend this place would be to keep the place as your own secret.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jonas49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

We ate here a couple of times and he food was ok. Although we were brought the incorrect dish once, no big deal. The location is very pretty. However on our third visit in a week we asked for the wi-fi password in order to check my mail on my ipad. The Italian owner refused to give us it, saying it was for guests of the bungalows only. We explained that this was our third visit to the restaurant attached to the bungalows in a week. He was most obnoxious and basically said "tough". So we left after we finishd our pre-dinner drink and never came back. We would have eaten here at least five or six times during our ten nights at a much bettter resort down the beach (Sunset Cove).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank swedensm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuciusKohPhangan, Owner at La Dolce Vita - Ristorante & Lounge Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2011

Dear guest,
we are truly sorry for having caused so much disappointment in your experience with us. However, since this is the first feedback of this type we receive, we believe there is a misunderstanding at the base of your comment and would like just to clarify these matters for letting future guests having expectations we can meet.
First, we do not claim we have wifi at our restaurant: there isn't any "free wifi" or simply "wifi" sign anywhere in the restaurant or in the menu, therefore we believe your expectation was not correct.
Second, the wifi network you mention is a network we have specifically set up under a different name for our bungalows which are a separate business.
For purpose of clarity, the reason why we manage wifi this way is that in the past (2008 and 2009) we had an open wifi system, but it was not strong enough to manage too many connections at the same time and both bungalows guests and restaurant visitors were very disappointed due to very low speed. Then in 2010 we tried with a more robust system with passwords. But that came for a small fee as we needed the support of a technical partner, but nobody was willing to pay and the technical partner interrupted the collaboration at year's end.
Therefore we consciously decided to manage the restaurant focusing on food quality and forgetting wifi, since all decent resorts nearby have their own networks for their guests.
Last, we apologize if you perceived us as rude, but we believe a decent conversation requires both parties to collaborate and be willing to both talk and listen, instead of yelling and blaming.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

If you are on the island - that would be a total sin to miss an exquisite mix of Thai and Italy in the stylish La Dolche Vita restaurant. Any dish in there prepared with the great love and worm of the Thai-Italian couple. You have to try the signature HorMok Tale (seafood with the gentle touch of the heavenly souse and nuts served in coconut) and the greatest tiramisu ever – to my taste even better then in Rome! Reserve a sit on the terrace overlooking a quiet beach and enjoy! You will never forget this – I know, I haven’t!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lofam69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dolce Vita - Ristorante & Lounge Beach Bar also viewed

Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to La Dolce Vita - Ristorante & Lounge Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing