We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Nearby Hotels
Palita Lodge(Ko Pha Ngan)
$208
$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$297
$253
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pariya Haad Yuan(Ko Pha Ngan)
$91
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Longbay Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)
$131
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Hill Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)
$177
$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beck's Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)(Great Value!)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$41
$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Thongtapan Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)(Great Value!)
$22
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Havana Beach Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)
$77
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,131)
Filter reviews
2,131 results
Traveler rating
1,639
330
112
34
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,639
330
112
34
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapple tvocean pool villaour honeymoonkoh phanganthe general managersmall villagespeedboat transferluna loungeocean frontlittle touchesprivate speed boatjip shopbeautiful beachsamui airportpool barlocal villagesun loungers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,206 - 1,211 of 2,131 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2010

We stayed here on our honeymoon. It was fantastic. I can't really say a bad word about it, the room, our private pool, the communal pool were all pretty perfect. The only slightly negative thing would be the cost of eating/drinking at the resort. we only ate there a couple of times and it was really good food, exceptional infact - but expensive. The wine was ludicrously expensive, but it is in all luxury resorts in thailand. The beach has plenty of other places to go and eat at though, and the food is fab. There is also a place called Lunar bar in the village (not on the beach) which is well worth a visit.
I would 100% recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmaplews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2010

The pictures say it all! Very beautiful and such a lovely, tranquil spot with it's own private beach. The hotel was not even a year old so in fantastic condition and very clean. We stayed in the Thai Villa which was spacious and private with its own garden and jacuzzi.
Great for couples who want to just get away from it all.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBurrell10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2010

The Rasananda is one of the best hotels we have ever seen!

Many nice details in the rooms, very friendly staff, excellent location! All Villas and Suites offer spaceous indoor and outdoor living areas! Only steps from the sea with a great beach! And for those who cannot be without it... high speed WIFI connections everywhere!

We will go back in June this year and are counting the days already.

Yes, Rasananda is a dream. It is paradise. You will miss something if you don't experience it.

Stayed: January 2010
1  Thank AntjeBenelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

I've been fortunate enough to have stayed in some pretty wonderful places though the years and Rasananda certainly rates as one of the best.

The setting on the beach, the grounds, the pools, the restaurant and the rooms are beautiful and the service from the staff is superb - nothing is too hard for them. The rooms are fully equipped with everything you could possibly need and there were little touches that enhanced the experience - like a the midday snack provided to you on the beach (such as fruit kebab or ice cream) and the little treats from the restaurant left in your room at night with a personalised note from the chef or bar manager. Lovely.

It wasn't perfect though and they still have a few things to improve and a few issues, unfortunately, that they won't be able to fix.

We were meant to arrive by speedboat from Koh Samui directly onto the beach but the waves were too high that days so we had a rather tortuous bus transfer across the island from Bang Tai on a largely unsurfaced road best suited to a large 4WD. It did demonstrate how isolated the resort is from the main part of the island though - which was a good thing - but the local authorities desperately need to get on with surfacing the entire road.

Rasananda is located between some backpacker resorts and restaurants which largely wasn't a problem except on a couple of days when a yobby English wedding party at one of them created a fair amount of noise and ended at 2am with a some of the guests (apparently) trashing the restaurant where the Reception was held. Classy.

Breakfasts in the beautifully simple & elegant hotel restaurant were wonderful but we only dined there in the evening twice, mainly because it was always so empty and we wanted some atmosphere around us. The Friday night bbq buffet evening, however, was fully booked and I will remember it as one of the most magical evenings in my life. The combination of the food, atmosphere, live music, service and setting was just perfect.

There are some local restaurants on the beach which are fine, but nothing more, with the main reason for going to them being the setting and the price, rather than the quality of the food. The local "village" is very limited with a variety of very basic shops, thai massage places and cafes targeted at the backpackers.

The two hotel pools are small but the setting is wonderful - it really does look like the photos on their website. Our room was advertised as having a private pool but this is pretty misleading as it was more like an oversized cold bath - a bit disappointing to be honest. Indeed, we did ask to be moved when we first arrived as the noise from the local bar on the beach was disturbing us. They moved & upgraded us without trouble to the other side of the resort and it was fine after that. (Note - avoid rooms on the left hand side of the resort!).

Despite the little niggles I've mentioned, I would go back there in a shot. It really was lovely and the staff wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SamQ_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

We stayed here for 9 nights in December and it was just amazing. We booked an Ocean Garden Suite with pool, but were upgraded for our entire stay to the Ocean Pool Villa. This was amazing; very spacious, a beautiful bath room and all amenities and services you can imagine: 2x fresh ice and bottled water per day, espresso machine, coffee, tea, free whiskey, wodka and gin in caraffes, cleaning, towels, evening tea with each day a different Thai specialty and so on. I went to the Spa twice and although it has European prices, it was also of a very good quality. First I wanted to go to the cheap massages on the beach, but the environment of the hotel spa is so much better, that I choose for that one in the end.
We were only once in the hotel restaurant for dinner, because there are so many little restaurants on the beach and in the small village, that you cannot cover them all, and they are all very good (and cheap!). The hotel restaurant was also very good with perfect service, although the wine is very pricey for what we are used to.
The breakfast is amazing, so much choice that it is hard not to eat too much. And we have not experienced anything bad like bad service or food as has been mentioned in some reviews. The staff is very friendly and also always in a very good mood, so you feel really comfortable everywhere.
What I personally liked was that there were a lot of dogs around, I always miss my pets on holiday, and we have seen ourselves that they get good food and are taken care of. This completes my feeling that the Thai are very friendly people, when they also take care of their animals (and I have seen different in some countries!). The staff of the hotel did their best to keep the nosy dogs away from the tourists in the hotel (I can imagine that not everybody is as fond of them as we are), but they still do it in a friendly way, which is good. Tourists should also accept that it is part of life.

So, we can only recommend this hotel as a perfect place to enjoy the beach, relax, have great food and drinks.
It is certainly not the cheapest, but after our experience with it, we feel like they absolutely try to live up to your expectations. We would come back any time!! For further questions, anybody can contact us...

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angeliekske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews