We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful resort, well blended in nature without too many excesses”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Rasananda is a very welcoming, well managed luxury resort that does not leave you with a sense of exaggerated excesses. It is located on a beautiful bay on the Island . It is near other resorts which gives you a chance to try other (simpler) restaurants, some offering excellent grilled fish and meats just on the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csltt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,091)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,218 - 1,224 of 2,091 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2009

My wife and I just spent four nights at Rasananda on our honeymoon and wish we could have stayed even longer. The hotel was great -- a very modern yet functional pool, clean fancy rooms, and friendly staff. We got to know the hotel and restaurant managers, since they were often asking us how were were doing. Perhaps best of all is the beach in front of the hotel. It's a beautiful clean beach, good for swimming or just relaxing. There are quite a few mellow restaurants / bars on the beach that are a short walk away for a change of scenery.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Stayed at Rasa nan da room # 18 for our three last nights at Thong Nai Pan Noi. Got a really good last minute deal so we only paid a third of the actuall cost and then got upgraded to the lagoon villa.

The room, pool and outdoor area with private lounge sala was perfect for relaxing and since you have your own entrance with closed doors its all very private. You can also close walls around the outdoors loungesala for total privacy.

Complimentary spirits like whiskey, vodka & gin with refill every day. Perfect cleaningservice in the room and poolcleaning everyday. Turndownservice with compimentary surprise from the cithen waiting for you every night after you get back from dinner. They also fill up the ice in the room twice a day and you only have to call and they come with moore if you want.
Your own espressomachine in your room with complimentary cofee to brew.

So for the price we paid and everything we got it was a great experience.
And we will surely be back next year again.....

One tip though, eat your dinners at the restaurant next door (Baan Panburi Beach Club)
One of the best places We´ve eaten at in Thailand & my boyfriend´s a chef......
And the price is less than a third of Ra sa nan da´s it´s actually the same owner for both Ra sa nan da & Baan Panburi beach Club so you don´t have to feel stupid not eating at Ra sa nan da.

And also make sure to go up to the small village if you want to buy anything. (water, beer, clothes) Or if you want to visit any nice bar´s in the evening. It´s a small road leading up between Star Hut & Baan Panburi restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Tramsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

This place does not have private pools as it promotes. It costs the same as some of the top hotels on Koh Samui and is in a different league - a lower one!

Speedboat transfer - cost around £140 for 2 people return, beach bars offered it for £20 for 2 return !

Manager doesnt seem to have control.

Staff are underqualified and dont know what they are doing - however I think this is down to bad management, not personal qualification!

Located on public beach, 'private pools' are either a) dug out of the public beach, free for anyone to come in and have a paddle...or on your balcony, in full view of public beach.

Be prepared to have passers by wave as you shower or use your bathroom facilities...a limp bush attemps to cover your modesty! Nudity is illegal in Thailand...did they miss that bit?

Honeymooners...watch out - plenty of other 'private' pool villas around in thailand that are better value for money.

Pool area or is that bar area, or restaurant, or beach activities, i forget..oh they are all in the same place, and so if you dont mind making best friends with EVERYONE there (you will not have a choice) this place is not for you. Very badly designed.

Marketing material emphasises privacy - there is none, anywhere!!

Very dark rooms.

We arranged to leave soon after arriving, realising this is not what was sold to us - and we were not the only ones!!

Lots of positive reviews on here, and I would say it is good for mid-market 3* travellers looking for a little fake luxury...if you are looking for a private pool villa, something a little special, to be made to feel special and not to have to call reception to ask where your bags are...look elsewhere.

A real shame, brochure and website look great...

Sugar coated Butlins.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelnowandforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Rasananda has so much potential - we were really looking forward to it as it seemed like a hidden gem. The plunge pools in each room are a lovely touch and the beach is gorgeous. The service is mixed - some people were excellent, friendly and helpful and others were very slow. The head chef Nick Hall was desperately passionate about his food and whilst the eating options were limited, I guess when MeNu opens, it will improve. We enjoyed using the small but functional gym and the spa was superb, run by an absolutely excellent lady with good therapists and very very good thai massage.. worth the extra expense as the quality of the beach massages are dubious. What took the shine off the amazing holiday was the manager lying about the private speedboat transfer. We heard four or five versions of why we had to get the ferry instead of the private boat - and none of them were true as the tour guides there on a freebie at the start of our holiday had found out the hotel hadn't yet bought the boat yet. Do not stay here and get the public ferry - it's awful and doesn't go hand in hand with the five star hotel, particularly after a long haul flight and transfers. The manager was generally pretty absent and didn't seem keen to talk to the customers unlike normal hotel managers. This needs to be improved and he needs to take more care over service. My watch went missing and someone else's sunglasses did too - and the manager wasn't remotely bothered about it even though i reported it three times. The aircon in our room smelt like raw sewage from time to time.. But apart from all this, most of the issues could be ironed out. The setting is gorgeous with good local restaurants (luna is good, as is the restaurant next door with the seafood bbq) and the spa is superb. If the staff can come up to speed in the restaurant and the manager become more customer focused, then this will be pretty near perfect. Would go back if we knew the speedboat was a dead cert.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukpdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

We only had 4 nights in Beachfront Pool Suite at the end of the resort. The rooms are fantastic - it's great to step out of the room and onto the beach (which incidentally is one of the best i've seen in Asia). It's a small intimate resort, and a few teething problems were expected as it's so new, but everything was a dream. We had our 3 year old with us, and with the beach as a playground didn't need a kids club!

There's a few smaller resorts and restaurants, but the beach is quiet, fantastically safe for swimming, no hassles, and if you stroll up the beach (towards the Santhiya) there's a fab little family cafe at the end who fire up a BBQ everynight.

We got a speedboat directly onto the beach (30 minutes from Samui) - clean and quick, so no problems there at all.

I get the feeling in a couple of years Rasananda will be one of the top resorts in Thailand, so i'd recommend seeing it before it takes off, and the prices are still reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moonchild123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

We came after a great stay at the best resort we have ever stayed - The Four Seasons on Samui. I Booked on a package for three nites. the trip to the resort was very very rough and dirty with a ferry trip amongst all the full moon party people, my wife and kids nearly were sick both on the boat (bad smell of alchahol and vomit) and carsick in the rough mountain ride to the resort.

Once to the resort, we had to wait to get our room but this was ok. Once at the room which was clean, my wife insisted to change to ground floor because the balcony and pool was very dangerous for the kids. The resort helped us but tried to charge more! !!! I refused. At night, the resort is very very noisey with the discos and beach club next door playing loud music until very late, 4-5am. Wife and children couldnt sleep.

The rooms are not very private and people could walk right to our room from the beach. we didnt see any guards either which made me feel insecure. My wife wanted to use the out door shower but was too shy cause we could be seen from the upsatir room.

On the beach, which was great, we were approached by many people selling stuff. I wont say what, but it wasn't suitable for kids.

Food was so so. Service so so and so slow. We ate at the bungalow next door but this was bad, but cheap. There was nobody to watch the kids and no kid center so we werent able to go to the Spa.

we might stay again If my wife and I were alone,but only for half the price and we would find our own way to the hotel.

There was also no manager who we could talk to.

We will go back to the Samui resort where our kids were taken care of and everything we needed or wanted, the staff delivered quickly and with no "negotiation". Everything at Phangan we had to negotiate even at this so called 5 star resort....? Not good for kids of any age.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KuoFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
6 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#5 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
738 reviews
6.4 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#10 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas

Address: 5/5 Moo 5, Tong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $250 - $1,281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked discreetly at the base of a lush mountain, amongst towering coconut palms and just steps from the powdery sands of Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, 64 private pool suites and villas in seven distinctive layouts face the turquoise sea. Comprising indoor and outdoor living spaces ranging from 100 to 250 square metres, each sanctuary reflects its own charming character. In natural harmony with the exotic surrounds, wood and stone features provide a striking backdrop to rich hand woven silks. Luxury comforts inside range from a “blissful dreams” mattress adorned with 500 thread count linens, to a 32 inch flat screen TV with home theatre entertainment, and outside to an indulgent private plunge pool.Guests keep in touch with complimentary WiFi throughout the resort, accompanied by an extensive library with PCs alongside international magazines and newspapers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort And Spa
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Hotel Koh Phangan
Rasananda Hotel Ko Phangan
Rasananda Resort Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing