We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We spent the last 5 nights of our vacation to Thailand at Rasananda. It was amazing. Our bungalow was right on the water overlooking the ocean with a private plunge pool. We adored sitting on the beach all day, having poolside cocktails in the afternoon, and then snoozing in our cabana by the ocean before getting ready for dinner. The beach was quiet and remote-at night we were the only people in the water.

The rooms and bathrooms are lovely and the beds were quite comfortable.

One thing we look for when choosing a hotel is being able to walk to a few things outside. There are a couple of local restaurants and a massage house very close by which we visited each day. There were delicious and this really made it perfect--being able to get out and about easily. We did try the hotel dinners and there were good but we enjoyed going out a little more. The hotel breakfast was wonderful as was the spa. I had a half day of treatments here on my 30th birthday and although it was pricey for Thailand it was worth the splurge--the spa itself is really beautiful.

The only downside was that my husband planned a surprise dinner on the beach for me for my birthday which was ruined when one of the staff came to speak to him about it and announced it in front of me. He had repeatedly told him it was a surprise so he was not thrilled once it was ruined. We still enjoyed the dinner and releasing the paper lanterns to celebrate. All the other staff are very courteous and friendly. We highly highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amk26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear amk26,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor and we are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We have to apologize again that we blew the surprise of the Dine by Design but are delighted that it was nevertheless a great evening.

Now, we hope to welcome you back to our island paradise in the close future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,480
    308
    102
    31
    14
See reviews for
301
1,311
42
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed at the Anantara Rasanada Resort for 10 days from 3 May 2013. Although the temperature was in the early thirties it was quite humid and we lost a few days due to tropical storms

From the moment we arrived till the time we left the staff were exceedingly courteous and helpful. Cannot find fault with their attitude and service and would be wrong to single out anyone as a consequence

The resort itself is fantastically positioned on one of the best beaches on the island and is stunningly designed. We stayed in the Ocean Garden Pool Suite No 1 which was immediately adjacent the central pool area, restaurant and bar. The room, as all rooms, were fitted out to a very high standard

We had taken formal evening clothes and were very surprised to note that at all times the style of dress was casual even at dinner. We did not wear footwear in the resort unless we were going out to the local village for our evening meal - very much the Maldives. Indeed, we were surprised that the resort provided his and hers black flip flops.

Be aware that the boat delivers you and leaves from as close to the waters edge as possible. So depending on the tide you may be at least knee deep in water. What we thought was superb was that both staff and managers are there to personally welcome you and also bid you goodbye

Our only complaint was that the sun loungers were exceedingly uncomfortable but understand that mattresses are shortly to be provided

There are a number of restaurants both on the beach and village giving alternatives to eating at the resort and our favourite was the Bamboo as opposed to the Bamboo Hut. All offer excellent value however, wine anywhere is a little pricey

We have travelled to Thailand previously and our lasting memories were of the amazing and diverse Thai food. Overall we were disappointed that the food did not meet our expectations in the hotel

Room Tip: Choose a beach front room at ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Chritopher B,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay even so you mentioned that the food was not to your expectation. We certainly will have a look what caused this dissatisfaction.

I also would like to thank you for the nice pictures you have posted from our resort.

I sincerely hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to our little island paradise.

Kind regards,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have just returned from a week stay at this beautiful resort. I too was concerned by some of the negative reviews and I am completely baffled as to what anyone could find to complain about! My husband and I travel extensively and enjoy upmarket resorts. This was undoubtedly one of the best all round. The setting is amazing and is on one of Koh Phangan's best beaches. This was our 3rd visit to the island and the most relaxing one set in the best possible surroundings. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Management was always present making sure we were having a good time and all our needs were being met. The food was delicious (one of the best resort breakfasts) We were fortunate enough to stay in one of the beachfront villas which was amazing. The only complaint I have is that the time went far too quickly! we cannot wait to go back and highly recommend this truely wonderful experience to anyone looking for a very relaxing, peaceful holiday in one the best locations with the best staff and service in Thailand.

Room Tip: if possible, choose a beach front villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Goodall,

Thank you very much for your review and we are very happy that we were able to not only satisfy you, nevertheless of your initial doubts, but also to make it on the list of one of the best all-around for you.

Now we hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to our little island paradise in not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

No doubt, the world is full of marvelous and wonderful places. The Anatara Rasananda Resort on Koh Phangnan should definitely be on this list and you should not miss out while you are on this island.
Of course I have not seen all the resorts on Koh Samui and Koh Phangnan and therefore I cannot compare but soley recommend. And i truely recommend to you to take this resort into consideration when planing to visit this area.

The Beach:
The resort itself is located on the east side of Koh Phangnan at the Thong Nai Pan Noi Beach. The beach is quite long and limited to each side with rock formations, there are 2 or 3 other resorts on the beach (to the left and the right) but they are very well integrated into the landscape and so it is not very disturbing. Also there will not be a lot of people on the beach since the beach is long enough for everyone and the hotels are more on the luxury scale and therefore no "hotel bunkers" with 400-500 guests.
The location on the east side of the island has advantages and disadvantages. One advantage is that the bay is rather calm and not a lot of underwater current and waves. It is a very clean sand beach and you can walk into the ocean without having to watch out for sharp corrals or sea urchins.
This leads directly to the negative part: no current = no house reef or underwater see life. While you will see the one or other fish when going into the ocean, do not expect to see much more. The current hits the island on the North and then goes to the left (West) of Koh Phangnan and not east.
It is up to you to decide if this condition is an advantage or a disadvantage for you depending on what you like. You will however see under the activities section that the disadvantage is not a big as it seems.

The Hotel:
The hotel is very nice integrated in into the beach and the landscaping done around and within the rooms is very astonishing. We had the Ocean Garden Pool Suite for the first 3 nights and the Ocean Pool Villa for the last 6 nights. Both are faced directly to the ocean with direct private access to the beach. You will have your own chairs reserved for you at the beach. The rooms come along with a private pool and a "Cabanja" - we only used the main hotel pool once during the whole trip and that was on the last day when we had to check out. The Ocean Pool Villa is the biggest room available and a stand alone unit. I think if we would go again (and we probably will) we would choose a Ocean Garden Pool Suite which is smaller than the Villa but with over 200 square meter large enough for a couple. While the villa is a stand alone unit (you are all by yourself) the Ocean Garden Pool Suite has a second floor with a Ocean Pool Suite. However, in our case the palms have grown that much that we never even saw a movement in the Suite above ours.

The Service:
The service staff is very very friendly. The hotel management is international (German, French, Italian) and very interested in your stay. The remaining staff is Thai and very nice and talkative. The only ones i did not appreciate were the front desk: they were not very friendly, and I thought they had a bad day but it continued during the rest of the week. They did everything very well but they just did not seem very nice and happy that you ask them something.

The Restaurant:
I have one big problem with hotel/resort restaurants: the price-quality ratio is almost never right. Next to the resort is a little town with plenty of shops and restaurants (thai, international, indian, mexican,...) and even the resort next door has a public beach restaurant with Thai price level. However, if the hotel charges 120 THB for a can of coke while I have to walk 2 minutes to buy on for 20 THB in the shop, I will simply not consume anything in the hotel. Same product, same quality. If they would offer it for 40 THB i probably buy it in the hotel because I am too lazy but 120 THB just does not seem reasonably. But well, again its up to you and I like it that one has the choice: consume in the hotel or go around the corner and try different things. And with the variety and quality of food in the little town next door I would certainly advice you to try local. A dinner for two with drinks normally between 400-500 THB.

Activites:
You can relax all day or you can be active. It is up to you. We did both. Since we visited temples and did elephant riding on our stay in Chiang Mai, we were not interested in such activities on Koh Phangnan and I had the feeling that it is the wrong place to do it there. However, we for exapmple went snorkling to the North with Jet Skis. We rented them for 1.5 hours, drove north went snorkling and came back (3000 THB). The cooking class in the hotel is very nice. It costs 1500 THB per person but you have your personal chef and the course takes 3 hours. You serve yourself a 4 course menu at the end and you can decide yourself what you want to learn from a long list of available dishes. We went to the Full Moon Party as well which is at the South of the island. I loved it but I can also understand why people would choose not to go - think carefully which transportation option you choose. We took a taxi from the beach for 250 THB per person. It was an adventure ;); the hotel offers a road transfer for 1500 THB.
The hotel even took care to stream the Champions Leauge Final at night at the hotel beach.
If you enjoy massages, I would recommend Tanaporn. It is 5 minutes walk from the resort and it is a cosy, very high quality massage paradise. Thai massage for one hour is 350 THB and normal massage 450 THB. This is probably 50 THB higher than what you get at other places on the island but I am 99% sure that the 50 THB is worth it. They are normally fully booked for 2 days in advance so plan carefully.

Over all the resort, the beach and the people more than fulfilled our expectations and therefore 5 stars. We will certainly come back. I will post some other reviews regarding the restaurants etc. on the island.

Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wishmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear wishmore,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on TripAdvisor and we are thrilled that we were able to surpass your expectations. We are also very happy to learn that you enjoyed our activities, excursions and culinary offerings.

Now we hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to our little island paradise.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrawarra, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

As our Chef Donald Lawson inquired as to how we were enjoying our meals, he was the first to hear the news that my partner had proposed during our stunning candlelit dinner, prepared by him. Was it the wonderful wine selection chosen for us by "The Wine Guru", that inspired the proposal, or the succulent entree of Seared yellow fin tuna loin with crisp cubes of saffron potato and a salad of snow peas, cherry tomato in olive oil, poached quail eggs, black olives and pea shoots? Maybe it was the Wild local Sea-Bass Fillet, pan fried with lemon scented roasted king scallops, cauliflower puree, lemongrass with confit potato and zucchini spaghetti! Well it just had to be Don's Thai Signature Dessert "Kanom Mo Geang", the famous "Petchaburi" baked yellow bean cake scented with jasmine flower and palm sugar, accompanied by white coconut sorbet. Who knows...I did say "Yes of course" Thank You Chef Donald Lawson for a wonderful evening. x

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Anne A,

Thank you very much for your review and we are thrilled that the proposal was a great success. Everybody, but especially Chef Don and Wine Guru Zack are delighted to hear, that you enjoyed your stay but especially your special evening. Thank you very much also for the fantastic pictures you have posted.

We hope to welcome you back to our island paradise in the close future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have spent 5 nights in May in Anantara with my boyfriend and it was probably the most relaxing holiday I had in some time.

The setting of the hotel is really amazing, with lush gardens, great beach, cute library. Our villa was beautiful with very comfortable bed, spacious bathroom and nice setting in the garden.
We chose to arrive by public ferry and then were picked up by the staff - as much as the speed boat arrival has its charm it also had its disadvantages in my eyes: you arrive with more people at once, so there are more of you checking in and most importantly - you do not experience how remote is the beach thanks to traveling through the jungle there..

The service is good, but you shouldn't expect European level of service in a 5 star hotel. We had some trouble with our apple tv in the room, and only after the (very helpful and nice!) operations manager heard about it, they managed to solve the problem (but then immediately). Don't get me wrong - the staff is very willing and kind, but there is definitely some room for improvement on following up on guest requests etc.

We had a few dinners in the hotel (sea food buffet, thai dinner, surf&turf) and it is definitely a pleasure to dine on the beach, however you need to remember its also quite expensive. An alternative are the restaurants in the village - i can recommend burgers in Handsome Sandwiches, dinners in Luna,... there are enough options for everyone!

We also had a spa treatment - its really worth trying it out, as the spa itself is so beautiful and employees competent.

Dont forget to try the Passion Sling drink in the pool bar, we had it almost every day :).

To sum up, I would definitely go back to Rasanda!

Room Tip: Villa 28 is quite, has a nice plunge pool with sun in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sugar_sunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear sugar_sunrise,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on TripAdvisor and I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. However, I am sorry to read that you experienced a problem with our Apple TV and that we only fixed it after Farah, our Executive Assistant Manager, got involved.
We hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to our little island paradise and please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future arrangements.

Khob khun krub

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I was concerned before my arrival at reading some less than positive reviews. I cannot understand how anyone could give this resort less than 5. It is fantastic.
If you want to shop or rage do not come here but if you want peace and relaxation - it is wonderful.
We stayed in a beach front villa but any of the beach front rooms would be nice, better to be on the ground floor and have direct access to the beach but even upstairs with fantastic views would be great. I personally would not like to be in the pool suite nor garden villa. They do offer a great deal of privacy but seem a bit confined for my liking.
The resort is beautifully maintained anyone who travels in tropical countries knows the damage that can be done in a short amount of time to hardware but the rooms and common areas are all fantastic.
The beds are extremely comfortable (not always the case in Thailand.)
The beach is beautiful with lovely sand and clear water - although tides around the island were very low we only had to walk out about 50m to swim.
The staff are also some of the best we have encountered. I cannot praise them highly enough. Nothing was any trouble, all spoke great English and were genuinely friendly.
We went for a tour around the island with Sam (well worth doing it is a lovely island), I used the spa once which was lovely.
The village - and it is only a village- has some great places to eat. We only ate at the hotel one night and tried a different local restaurant on the other nights.
We had a lunch a couple of times at the hotel. Make sure you try the green papaya salad with soft shell crab - ask for it spicy though.
Breakfast was great - make sure to try the yoghurt and fruit purees. One thing is don't bother with poached eggs (sorry Don).
I cannot believe people trying to compare the price of food in the village with those at the resort. Any resort will be dearer than local prices. I thought the resort prices were very fair.
This place truly offers excellent value on the quality/price scale.
I cant wait to return.

A couple of other points
1. Sun lounges were very comfortable but are often brought up high on the beach which in our location made them on quite and angle. We preferred to use of daybed on our deck anyway.
2. Dogs - although I am a dog lover I ignored the dogs and they ignored me, even the one that decided to sleep on our deck. Generally they looked in pretty good condition.

The only negative comment I have is that water should be provided with all meals. I did not like having to pay for imported water to drink with meals. Also on the beach and around the pool water should be provided as it is in every other hotel we have stayed at in Thailand. Fruit is nice but giving and topping up cold water would be much better.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieAnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear AussieAnge,

Thank you very much for your thorough review on TripAdvisor and I am particular thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us after you initial doubts. We hope we will have a chance to welcome you back to our little island paradise and it would be my utmost pleasure to assist you with any future arrangements.

Khob khun krub

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Pha Ngan
6.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
15.2 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
16.5 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#4 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
646 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas

Property: Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Address: 5/5 Moo 5, Tong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked discreetly at the base of a lush mountain, amongst towering coconut palms and just steps from the powdery sands of Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, 64 private pool suites and villas in seven distinctive layouts face the turquoise sea. Comprising indoor and outdoor living spaces ranging from 100 to 250 square metres, each sanctuary reflects its own charming character. In natural harmony with the exotic surrounds, wood and stone features provide a striking backdrop to rich hand woven silks. Luxury comforts inside range from a “blissful dreams” mattress adorned with 500 thread count linens, to a 32 inch flat screen TV with home theatre entertainment, and outside to an indulgent private plunge pool.Guests keep in touch with complimentary WiFi throughout the resort, accompanied by an extensive library with PCs alongside international magazines and newspapers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort And Spa
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Hotel Koh Phangan
Rasananda Hotel Ko Phangan
Rasananda Resort Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing