We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even better than expected” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
CUMBRIA
Level Contributor
639 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,493 helpful votes
“Even better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have just returned ( April 2013) from a wonderful week in this resort. On arrival by private speedboat - well worth the slight extra as it gives you a quicker check in and later check out - we were met by several members of staff who made us all, my wife, daughter an myself, feel very welcome. We stayed in a beach front ocean pool villa. When shown to the room it was just perfect. Several people on here have stated that they felt these rooms are not private, yes people can walk across the beach but it just ain't an issue as they are slightly elevated and protected by shrubbery at the front. Room 8 was our villa and I would recommend. The benefit is you can just trott out of your room straight onto the beach. Brilliant.
We did have a couple of slight issues than when brought to the attention of the staff were delt with instantly and professionally, no way could you fault anyone for that. Not that we like to single out any particular individual as if you go you will find ALL the staff on this resort are super, but I must mention Caspar Wesener the Food & Beverage Manger his attention to detail and comunication in dealing with our slight issue is the best customer service I have ever encountered, well done.
Here are some of the points:-
Rooms faultless and very clean, perfectly furnished
Staff friendly and helpful and informative regarding the full resort
Hotel very well situated, quiet and accessible
Breakfast was not to fussy but plentiful with all tastes catered for
Beautiful well kept grounds very clean
Modern and current bar with experienced staff
Fabulous spa with very well trained staff, in beautiful settings
Well equipped gym
Very relaxing
All in all my view of this resort I very high, the staff are fantastic and the place is very memorable. We hardly ever consider returning to anywhere as there are so many places to visit. We have been lucky enough to visit and stay at some of the greatest places ever, Raffels Hotel, The Burj, Baros in the Maldives to name a few, the Anantara Rasananda can compete with them all an will return. This place is a must on anyone's travel list. A big well done to all the staff.
The only slight down side is, as all these high class places, they are more expensive for food and drink than the outside restaurants and bars, the other side to this is that cats don't jump on the tables were you eat and drink!! Although Koh Phangan is a fabulous little island and perfect setting well worth visiting.
WARNING do not use The Jip Shop for motorcycle rental as they come in cheap and then rip you off saying that you damaged it!!! AVOID.

Room Tip: The private speed boat is bout £200 - £300 return but gives you a greater flexibility. The beach fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MULCASTER2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We cannot thank you enough for taking the time to write such a thorough review. I am very glad to hear that your felt very welcome in our resort and that you met several of our associates during your stay. I am also very pleased to read that the small issues you have mentioned were dealt with quickly and in a very professional manner.

I sincerely hope we will have the chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,415
    302
    101
    31
    14
See reviews for
281
1,266
40
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Spent 8 days at the Rasananda with my Husband as part of our honeymoon in Thailand.

As it was our honeymoon we choose to arrive by speedboat, this was a wonderful start to our time at the Rasananda, we were greeted by Mark and a number of friendly staff! We were given a refreshing drink then shown to our room ( we were upgraded, free of charge to the garden villa)

The room was beautiful, privately located behind a number of screens in the lush gardens. We had a lovely private plunge pool (if a tad chilly) surrounded by a lovely garden and decking area. The villa itself was fabulous, beautifully clean with everything you would need (free spirits, turn down treats, fabulous toiletries in the bathroom and Apple TV)

We found all staff to be exceptionally polite and helpful. Unfortunately I became ill during our stay, the reception staff arranged to take my husband to a nearby large village to get medication from a chemist. He was driven there and back in the style and comfort of a large 4x4. The restaurant manager Casper also checked that I was feeling better a few days later, A nice personal touch!

There is a wide choice for breakfast, from continental to traditional Thai. We ate in the restaurant a number of times, both for lunch and dinner. The food was of good quality and a fair price for a 5* hotel.
We enjoyed a cocktail or 2 from the pool bar and we were entertained by Art on a daily basis!

There is a very small village behind the hotel, but it is remote so there is very little there. We would highly recommend the Luna lounge for amazing food and Tanaporn for a truly amazing massage!

This was our first visit to Thailand certainly will be returning soon!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrskymsims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing Anantara Rasananda as your Honeymoon destination and we are pleased to read that you have enjoyed this special occasion with us. We hope you can return one day and enjoy our little bit of Paradise again.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I have been on a 3 week trip through Thailand for her first trip home in 2 years.. We have been to 3 hotels and when i look at cost vs service I do question if the Rasanada is worth the money. I will start with the pros;
-Free upgrade on arrival to a far more expensive room (Beach front). It should be noted it is far less private but most people i am sure forgo that for the beach been literally meters away. This was not important to us as we live on the beach in Sydney.
-The rooms are amazing, they simply cant be faulted.
-Most staff are amazingly nice, especially the cleaner we had on the first few days.
-Very short walk to a wonderful village with everything you could need.
-Room service is very prompt.
-The gardens throughout the resort are amazing, its like walking through a rain forest.
The cons;
-Upon arrival we (only myself really) had a manager introduce himself and ask how was the trip, ect. This was great but no effort was made to direct a question to my girlfriend which made me think i was back in the 60s or that it was assumed I had brought my GF from another part of Thailand after only just meeting her (ie: working girl).
-Two of our 3 visits to the buffet breakfast made me feel like a thief as three seperete people on each morning kept asking for our room / information even when they had someone there with the information. It was not busy and should not have been hard to manage.
- The buffet selection is very small when I compare it to other resorts with similar prices.
-The boat to take us to the Island was 20min late (they warned it would be ten min late). It was explained that this was due to a guest arriving late. I felt it was poor form to keep 3 or 4 other groups waiting after they had paid because 1 other group could not manage the schedule.
-While we enjoyed a swim in our pool a random person (I believe staff) walked through our private area to use our door to get to the otherside. To do this he required to walk on our patio which had my wallet and phone on it. I believe he was staff because he had a person who appeared to be house keeping waiting on the other side to let him through. When I tried to call out both people looked at me, ignored me and shut the door as if this was normal... I called to complain and security did seem to return fairly quikcly but I did not get a sorry nor any explenation.

Room Tip: Do not get beach front if your looking for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Joel M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback regarding your stay with us.

While I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed our facilities, I would very much appreciate an opportunity to speak with you in person regarding our shortfalls as your input gives us great insight into areas which we can work towards improving.

I have attached my e-mail for you to reach me directly and I look forward to being in contact with you soon.

Sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
pboth@anantara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Simply delightful. Everything from the service, the room, the breakfast and even the shampoo was a treat. It is now our favourite hotel in all the world and we'll definitely be going for the ocean pool villa on our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Huong T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Huong T,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor; what a wonderful way to start our day. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us and I do hope to welcome you back in the close future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

First off, Koh Phangan is an island that is not easy to get to but well worth the effort. This was my first visit to the island and I was not disappointed. The Anantara is awesome. We had a lagoon pool villa with its own cool off pool. the lagoon pool villas are very private, not sure the beach front villas are as private since the beach is right there. we had a covered gazebo with a 2 person comfy bed for lounging by our private pool. what i really liked was how open the villa felt with huge windows & doors, yet it was so private. the rooms are large & very well appointed, the management thought of everything. and if you could possibly find something you need, they will get it for you pronto. excellent service from everyone and most of all the food is outstanding. its a very secluded setting so we wondered how good the food would be since we knew there weren't a lot of dining options nearby, but the food has been excellent. tables on the beach for every meal, great breakfast buffet included in room rate and dinners were beautiful. arriving by boat the staff stands on the beach to greet you & the boat guys carry your luggage off, not an easy task. you will get your feet wet walking from boat to beach but the water is incredibly warm. the staff also stands on the beach as their guests leave the property wishing them well. its just a really cool effort on their part. i will say that riding in a vehicle is kinda rough since the dirt roads are so rough, arriving by boat is much better than a car option. there is no downside to this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knewhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your TripAdvisor comment following your recent stay at Anantara Rasananda. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you appreciated all the small touches we constantly working on.

Now we hope there will be a second visit to our little island paradise.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

A beautiful hotel on a stunning beach. We had a garden pool room, so therefore no view, but the room didn't really need it. The service is great and the food not bad either. Really relaxed, very friendly, lovely breakfast, definitely recommend. Worth it for the speedboat trip alone!

Room Tip: Possibly worth paying the extra to get a sea view pool room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patmac27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your TripAdvisor comment and I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed all of our services and facilities.

We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our little island paradise.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Arrived by the speed boat- definitely worth it... wading onto to the beach with the staff greeting you and carrying your cases.

After a short wait at checkin we were upgraded to a pool sea view room (we had booked garden pool view) and it was an amazing view.... Room was to a high standard vodka, whiskey, apple tv and stereo, although we were asked to turn the music down twice!!

Breakfast was a delicious with fresh fruit, cooked breakfast- make sure your not late though!!!

We only had lunch in the resturant as we ate at some of the local restaurants - which are definitely worth a visit.

Beautiful hotel if you want some great service and rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazzieSlough_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your TripAdvisor comment and it has been a pleasure to have you as our guest. Reading your comment, I trust you had a wonderful time at Anantara Rasananda.

We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our little island paradise.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Pha Ngan
6.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
6.0 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
15.2 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
0.7 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#16 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas

Property: Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Address: 5/5 Moo 5, Tong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked discreetly at the base of a lush mountain, amongst towering coconut palms and just steps from the powdery sands of Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, 64 private pool suites and villas in seven distinctive layouts face the turquoise sea. Comprising indoor and outdoor living spaces ranging from 100 to 250 square metres, each sanctuary reflects its own charming character. In natural harmony with the exotic surrounds, wood and stone features provide a striking backdrop to rich hand woven silks. Luxury comforts inside range from a “blissful dreams” mattress adorned with 500 thread count linens, to a 32 inch flat screen TV with home theatre entertainment, and outside to an indulgent private plunge pool.Guests keep in touch with complimentary WiFi throughout the resort, accompanied by an extensive library with PCs alongside international magazines and newspapers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Hotel Koh Phangan
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort And Spa
Rasananda Hotel Ko Phangan
Rasananda Resort Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing