We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Island Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have just come back from 2 weeks in Thailand and was incredibly spoilt, staying in some wonderful hotels but I think this was the best of the lot. Imagine the white beach and blue sea of desert island fantasy and you have this place. Arriviving by speeedboat arranged by the hotel the Anantara sits on the northern tip of Ko Phangan (which is not as developed as Koh Samui and far more charming). The hotel dominates the beach and is surrounded by a small village with some charming restaurants and a great vibe so the setting is ideal. The hotel itself tops the Mandarin Oriental when it comes to staff attentiveness and is run by a charming husband and wife team who embody the spirit of the team. We had a supposedly inferior garden room which was decorated well with some lovely touches like flowers on the bed. It also had its own pool. We simply did not want to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aidanstatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. It was a great pleasure to welcome you on property and we are delighted that our little island paradise made such an impact on you.

We hope to welcome you back in not too far future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,091)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

850 - 856 of 2,091 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent an excellent journey at Anantara Rasananda, very quiet, only 64 suites not all booked so this was not crowdy. The breakfast is delicious with a very large choice. Beach is very clean as well as the ocean. the village is very close so you can enjoy the village restaurant and spa.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurent_Sabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Sabine,

Thank you very much for your review after your recent stay with us. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your experience at Anantara Rasananda. Now we hope you will come and stay with us again in the close future.

Kind regards

Patrick Both
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at the Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan on the last leg of our honeymoon in June 2012 and it was everything and more that we had hoped for! We splashed out and stayed in a beach front villa for a week and it really was a dream come true!

The staff were fantastic and provided a level of service that we had never before experienced. The dishes are on the expensive side but you'd expect that at such a high class hotel. That said it is worth noting that the local villiage is an absolute hidden gem and provides a good selection of small atmospheric venues where you can taste delicious food at a fraction of the cost. 'Sex on the Beach' is a great bar and at 'Handsome Burgers' you can purchase the tastiest burgers in Thailand!

My wife and I simply have to return one day and i would absolutely reconmend this hotel to anyone seeking a similar experience.

Room Tip: Go for the Bech Front Villa and you will not be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattyWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Mr. Williams,

Thank you very much for your review. It was a real pleasure to have you staying with us and I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay so much.

I hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to our little island paradise in not to far future.

Kind regards

Patrick Both
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Getting over to Koh Phangan was made so easy with a private speed boat offered by Anantara. It took approx 40 minutes from Koh Samui and it was an enjoyable boat road, not too rough.

When we arrived we were greated by the General Manager and Food and Beverage Manager which was a nice personal touch. You got the feeling straight away that it was a small resort and you were not just another number. Checking in was a breeze, they knew where to take your luggage so you can relax from the moment you arrive.

This part of Koh Phangan was certainly different to the hustle and bustle other parts offer. This was quiet and peaceful, yet close enough to local shops if you did require some extra sunscreen or to potter about.

There were a few hotels lined up on the beach, and this was certainly the pick of the bunch. I was told it was recently renovated and the rooms had old charm but were certainly kept up to date. They offer some of the mini bar for free with some alcohol included, you dont usually get that so it was a nice touch.

The food was fantastic, we ended up eating all our meals there. There Chef introduced himself and he did a great job on every meal. He knew all our dietary requirements and would personally recommend dishes to us at each meal. It was a nice personal touch, you dont have chefs venture out of the kitchen back home!

I highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a more peaceful break, or if you want to come and relax after partying at a full moon party nearby. I would also recommend it for honeymooners.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCRTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor!

It was a real pleasure to have you staying with us and we are very happy that we were able to provide you with such a amazing stay.

We hope to welcome you back to our little island paradise in not to far future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Recently spent one night (which wasn't nearly enough) at Anantara Rasananda, it was perfect. All the staff are friendly and welcoming to all your needs, the food was delicious and the location was beautiful. The rooms are spacious, we had a plunge pool which was great. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone! Great honeymoon spot!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelcl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Claire,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for recommending us.

We hope to welcome you back to our island paradise in not to close future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I just visited this property for the fourth time.

It has certainly improved each time, and is a wonderful place for a holiday or day of beach/sun/ spa and lunch.

The trip here from Samui is wonderful when the weather is fine, fun and picturesque. How fun arriving right at the resort's beach by speedboat! This saves time and makes enjoying this beautiful spot a much better prospect for those with limited time - it's so easy!

The villas here are luxurious, spacious and comfortable.

The food here is a highlight, especially in the resort but also with local options nearby if you are here for a longer stay and mix it up. Both western and Thai food is outstanding.

The management are extremely present, welcoming and farewelling guests and ensuring everyone is having a good break.

The beach here is bliss. Nice soft sand and clear blue water. A real standout for Samui/phangan.

The local village is literally meters away, so whilst at the resort you feel completely secluded, you have lots of options nearby if you want to get out and enjoy the local side of things.

Not the place to stay if you want a huge resort or a big city feel with lots of shopping etc, but one of the best getaways in Thailand if a beautiful beach, nice pool villa and great food is what you are after.

We will certainly be back with guests.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AR592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you very much for this fantastic review after your fourth visit to our resort.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed our little island paradise once again and that you feel that we continuously moving the resort to the next level.

We look already forward to welcome you back to Anantara Rasananda.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was our third beach hotel in our 3 week holiday and we only booked this for 4 nights and i wish i had booked another couple. This hotel was just stunning. Not too big and gorgeous setting, the gardens with the koi ponds were exceptional. We had a garden pool suite which was just amazing, so classy, really top end finish to everything. Apart from breakfast we didnt eat at the hotel as it was so expensive, so cant comment. There are really good cheap local restaurants to visit a very short walk behind the hotel. The staff were Soooo friendly though, i just had a perpetual smile on my face the whole time. Highly recommend

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear JaneT,

Thank you very much for you TripAdvisor comment following your stay at our resort. It is really nice to hear that you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed our facilities and services.

I hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to our resort in the close future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
6 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#5 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
738 reviews
6.4 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#10 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas

Address: 5/5 Moo 5, Tong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#1 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $250 - $1,281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked discreetly at the base of a lush mountain, amongst towering coconut palms and just steps from the powdery sands of Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, 64 private pool suites and villas in seven distinctive layouts face the turquoise sea. Comprising indoor and outdoor living spaces ranging from 100 to 250 square metres, each sanctuary reflects its own charming character. In natural harmony with the exotic surrounds, wood and stone features provide a striking backdrop to rich hand woven silks. Luxury comforts inside range from a “blissful dreams” mattress adorned with 500 thread count linens, to a 32 inch flat screen TV with home theatre entertainment, and outside to an indulgent private plunge pool.Guests keep in touch with complimentary WiFi throughout the resort, accompanied by an extensive library with PCs alongside international magazines and newspapers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort And Spa
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Hotel Koh Phangan
Rasananda Hotel Ko Phangan
Rasananda Resort Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing