We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dream Honeymoon”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

First off - This was our first stop for our Honeymoon and we had the best time ever!! The Hotel deserves all the good feedback it is getting.

Experience and service:

- The service was exceptional – staff were very helpful and friendly (from the GM Patrick , hostess Julia and especially the staff).
- The main pool is beautiful and bar inside the pool was great.
- The Hotel is clean has a classy feel to it.The Rooms are great – we stayed in an ocean pool villa and it was great. The Garden Pool villas are obviously the best, but I won’t say the best value for money as all rooms are great with its own private pool.
- We had dinner twice at the Hotel and I thought it was exceptional but expensive.(But worth the extra spend)

Location

- The Hotel is situated on the north east coast of the Island. Depending on what you want, the location is great. As mentioned we were on honeymoon and that was perfect - it’s in a quite area but still walking distance to the village where you can find lots of restaurants and Pubs. Although the west coast of the Island is more beautiful than the east - you won’t find this luxury accommodation there. You better of renting a scooter and do a day trip site seeing the west coast. The sunset and ocean views on the west coast are spectacular!!

Full moon party - If you are there for the full moon party – it’s about an 45 – 60 minutes’ drive. Although it’s easy to travel by taxi or boat I suggest you stay closer to the full moon party if that is your objective.

Best & Worst:

- All in all I can say that the whole experience of the hotel (great & friendly service, great rooms, main pool and beach bar, as well as the location) and then the scooter trip to the west coast made this a memorable experience for me and my wife.
- The only negative is food,drinks and spa are expensive at the hotel (compare to pubs and restaurants close by) , but there is all kinds of pubs and restaurants close by if you don’t feel like spending 190 Bth on a beer. On the up side there is a daily happy hour at the hotel

I would like to thank Anantara , (Patrick , Julia and all the staff) for a memorable honeymoon.
Cheers
Christiaan & Tammy

Room Tip: Obviously the garden pool views are great, but not as private as some of the other rooms - all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ck_claasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Christiaan and Tammy,

Warm greetings from Koh Phangan to South Africa!

Thank you very much for your review and I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your honeymoon with us. I hope I will have the chance to welcome you back to our little island paradise in the close future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,512
    314
    102
    31
    14
See reviews for
314
1,332
42
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, UK.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one week in February arriving after a very long journey, tired and in need of a shower to find our room was not ready! The staff reacted very quickly, we were provided with a couple of chilled beers and visited by the Manager Patrick who assured us we would be settled quickly which we were. We loved the hotel, the room, the position, the food is excellent and whilst I agree with some of the comments regarding the expense that only applied to the wine in our opinion. I think consideration could be given to providing water free of charge which we have been used to in other hotels in Thailand, but really can't find anything to complain about that would warrant a mention. I hope we will return.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank McGaffney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Mc. Gaffney,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us and I am very glad to learn that you have enjoyed your holiday at Anantara Rasananda. It would be our utmost pleasure to welcome you back to our little island paradise.

Till hopefully soon

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

After crossing the sea from Samui, we had to drive in shuttle bus for 20 mn to reach in a still relatively secluded area our hotel. Very warm velcome and efficient check in, hotel people are extremely friendly and efficient . The best rooms are definitely along the beach at the ground floor level. For the other yu have access through specific passages. The hotel area is not so large and in a way the beautiful pool is litle smaller for the number of guests. The beach is beautiful, no vendors, no music, yu can rest under the thai sun very relaxing.
Room are very clean, modern ,confortable. Service is little slow at the breakfast and some times they turn on the bed late in the evening when yu already sleep! Except that everything is more or less exactly what is said on the picture.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review following your recent visit at Anantara Rasananda.

Your comments on breakfast and turndown service are a concern to us and we will look into them. Otherwise we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I hope I will have the chance to welcome you back to our little island paradise.

Kind regards

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We came to Rasananda after three hectic days in Singapore and three equally hectic days in Siem Reap and from the minute we were met at Koh Samui airport we couldn't have been better looked after. I knew we'd gone for the private speedboat option but had assumed there would be some element of waiting around a ferry terminal or hanging about for one reason or another and there was nothing of the sort. A friendly welcome at the airport, five minutes in an air conditioned car to the hotel's pier, paperwork dealt with in minutes, cold drink, and away on the boat. Similarly on arrival although the sea was a little rough to land on the hotel beach itself it was another couple of minutes in another air conditioned minibus around from the next bay and we were at the resort being welcomed like old friends.

There are some people who'll write reviews detailing every little aspect of their stay somewhere. I'm not going to do that, not because it's not deserved but one of the main things about the Rasananda in our experience was the constant unexpected additional touches to the service and to list them all would be to spoil the surprise.

The villas themselves are stunning. Our villa wanted for nothing. I hadn't been overly bothered about having Apple TV when we booked, but it came into its own on the second day when it poured with rain for exactly the length of time it took to watch "Ted". Go out for the evening and you come back to find the room transformed, "turn down service" doesn't really cover it.

A couple of previous reviews have made some odd comments about various aspects. One complained about the breakfast, alluding to lack of variety. The mind boggles at the thought of the kind of elaborate breakfasts this person must prepare for themselves on a daily basis at home to find the Rasananda's selection wanting in any way, but each to their own, I suppose. Perhaps these are the sort of people who call the concierge if a leaf has the cheek to fall from the tree into their plunge pool, I don't know. And for the record, there are no dogs in the restaurant. There are dogs on the beach, granted, clean and friendly dogs who leave you entirely alone.

The grounds are beautifully maintained. There are always members of staff around keeping the place tidy and they, like all the other staff, are so friendly it's really quite humbling.

The food, though more expensive than outside the hotel, isn't ridiculously priced by any means and it's very good. We ate in the hotel on a couple of evenings, the Sea and Salt buffet and the Surf and Turf evening, we'd recommend both. For the sake of variety it's well worth exploring the street behind the hotel as there's a good selection of bars and restaurants, we went to Again & Again, Rasta Baby and Luna and again would recommend them all, as we would the small bar next to Luna run by a delightful and apparently tireless lady called Diwai. Just along from the Rasananda there's another bar almost on the beach which is also well worth checking out.

If you feel like taking your life in your hands by all means rent a scooter from one of the shops in the village (there was far more in the village a couple of minutes' walk from the hotel than we'd expected there would be), you can hire one for about £8 per day. Don't knock them over, it gets a bit costly. Equally don't accidentally ride them through a yard full of dogs, although it does wonders for developing your acceleration / steering skills. Probably better to get a jetski instead. Or go diving...if you head onto the beach, turn left, and wander up for a couple of minutes there's a little dive shack (red sign with UK / German flags) and a man called Gerd who'll take you out to Sail Rock which is regarded as the best dive site in the Gulf of Thailand.

Ultimately once you consider the luxury of the villas, the quality of the food, the beauty of the grounds, the excellent facilities, the beach, the pool bar, the spa, the fitness centre (which in fairness we meant to go to pretty much every morning and never actually got round to, but it's definitely there if you can summon the energy) and everything else the Rasananda has to offer there's really no reason not to book your holiday there. But the absolute icing on the already brilliant cake is the staff. From the GM, Patrick, who welcomed us personally and kept in touch with us throughout our stay, to every member of his team we encountered, the service was absolutely faultless. We're lucky enough to have travelled to some really nice places but hopefully haven't become complacent about it and I can honestly say I've never been so well looked after by such a genuinely nice bunch of people, consummately professional yet genuinely friendly. Even having got off the speedboat back on Koh Samui we were encouraged to sit and chill out on the little private beach with a complimentary bottle of wine as we had an hour to kill before we had to check in, which went a long way to tempering the jolt of being back at the airport and having to fend for ourselves again. If you choose to visit Rasananda I hope you enjoy it as much as we did. Our thanks again to everyone there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nibblewise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this amazing review after your recent stay with us.

We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed your experience at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa so much and truly appreciate all the positive comments.

I sincerely hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to our little island paradise.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a pleasant time at this resort:)
We were there on November 2011.
We enjoyed everything there...I totally recommend this resort!
The 2 chef cuisine were very nice, pleasing all with fresh cooked meals...I am vegetarian and I was surprised with all their care and concern with my meals.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully decorated,good air conditioning,little pool;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Elliker,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the food that we served. Our two sous chefs are very proud to receive a special mention.

We hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to our little island paradise in the not too far future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at the Resort for 10 days from the 15th-25th of February this year. Despite the resort being on the northern part of the Island in thong nai pan noi village where quite frankly there isnt much to do, i have to advocate this as being a good thing but more on that later.

We arrived at the resort and were immediately greeted with fresh lemongrass drinks and towels by the friendly staff, the entire check in procedure didnt take much longer than 4-5 minutes and we were able to fall asleep in our Garden Pool Villa. The "Jungle"-ish design of the resort was very beautiful and refreshing. You felt that you had the opportunity to be isolated if you wanted to and yet so close to the actual "main hotel area" (Pool, Bars, Restaurant, Beach) if you wanted to get out for a bit. Either way the gardening and the fish ponds and the wooden path ways have been scuplted and (are) maintained so beautifully it immediately feels like you have stumbled into your own little jungle paradise.
The "Main" hotel area with the stunning pool is directly connected to what can only be described as beach with a ridiculously.. out of this world .. view. It is simply breathtaking. You can just lay down on one of the beach benches for the guests and let the entirety of what your eyes and brain are processing sink into you. Quite frankly i am under-exaggerating because its tough to find words for such a remarkable place. The architects chose very wisely when they picked that spot. The Design of the Hotel fits seamlessly into its surroundings and when walking from one area to another the transitions are just simply seamless.

The Staff and Service are Beyond excellent. While sometimes there have been slight language difficulties they were minor at best and easily ignored because of the overwhelming friendliness and excellent training. Just to give you an example about the attentiveness of the server staff: At breakfast we usually enjoy smoking a cigarette, the staff after the first day recognized this and outfitted us with an ashtray before we could even ask.
Additionally we were asked before we could order if we would want an iced cafe latte and a mint tea (our usual choice of breakfast drinks). There were many more examples like this, they simply made the stay more enjoyable as you felt that the staff were trying to make your stay and experience and comfortable and relaxing as possible. There simply was nothing standing out to us where we could think of being a possibility for improvement. Yes they are that good and if you stay there you can expect to be treated in a kingly fashion.

As for the cleanliness: Everything was spot on clean, the staff checks every piece of cutlery, glasware etc and any mistake or accident is immediately remedied. The rooms were spot on pristine, roomservice is doing an excellent job at cleanup and making your room look spot on like the first time you entered it.
The rooms themselves are simply gorgeous, as mentioned earlier we had a garden pool villa. The shower was fantastic, so was the entire bathroom and "veranda". The pool is great, refreshing and has an excellent design. The bed is ridiculously comfortable to sleep on and i definitely appreciated an appletv, wifi connection and speakers being integrated into the room so you can enjoy your music and your entertainment if you need to. If the island wasnt so beautiful i probably would have wanted to stay in the room for most of my stay.

As for the Spa, the offers there are great but compared to what the village is offering the prices seem a little bit over the top. We are talking about a price factor difference of about 5-10 times... which is considerable. Speaking about the village... there isnt a lot to do, there is a fantastic restaurant called Luna nearby and some nice vegan places, aswell as the usual 7/11 or minimart type of shops. Either way you can get what you want should you need something, otherwise the hotel will provide you with pretty much whatever you need. We enjoyed shopping for some beers in the stores when we were on our way back to the resort from the main city and villages on the island and then enjoying some cold beers on the beach. The Staff does not mind this at all so i recommend you tip them well as a token of gratitude.

Regarding Breakfast... i simply loved it. The staff is always friendly, the chef Donald Lawson is a friendly australian who prepares stunning food and is running a very tight and orderly ship. I simply loved the thai food breakfast station aswell as the large choice of fresh fruit and several different variations of juices and teas. They also prepare great omlettes and eggs benedict if you enjoy that specific taste. Otherwise i can only recommend that the croissantes are delicious and the differnt jams are delicious ( definitely try the banana jam!).

Talking about the staff again, the managers (includin Patrick Both) are friendly, always asking you if you are enjoying your stay and if there is anything they can do to make your trip more friendly, the Head Chef Donald Lawson is simply a charming guy who will go out of his way to help you in terms of food and the occasional chit chat which we enjoyed quite a bit. And if you have some time defintely take the Thai Cooking Kitchen Course. It was simply such a great experience.

All in all this is probably one of the top 10 most beautiful resorts i have been at and while i can understand that people will complain about the Price tag.. speaking in relative/global terms the price tag was more than fair and the value generated was very high. Genuinely the best experience I've had to date and we have already made up our mind about visiting again next year.

If you are looking for a romantic getaway for two then this is definitely the place to go to, especially if you want to enjoy Koh Phangans Beauty and escape the constant drunk-fest that is the South side of the Island.
Personally? I couldn't have asked for a better, beautiful, relaxing, charming and entertaining 10 days in Koh Phangan than what i had with Anantara Rasananda.

-Alex

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexB_Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear AlexB,

Thank you very much for your thorough review on trip advisor. It was a real pleasure to have you staying with us.

Thank you for choosing Anantara Rasananda and please do contact me should you ever want to visit us again.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This place is incredible, we stayed two nights for my boyfriends birthday during a trip to Thailand and wished we could have stayed for 2 months. I'll sum it up simply.

PRO'S

- Great price in low season
- Biggest, most comfortable beds
- Beautiful, serene location
- Private without being isolated
- Perfect staff
- Fantastic breakfast (best I've had in a hotel)
- Plunge pool on our balcony!!!
- Free alcohol in our room
- Free management cocktail and canape evening was amazing
- Beautiful beach
- Incredible massages
- iPod dock in our room

CON'S

- We weren't allowed to add on extra nights at the price we'd booked for, the price doubled

I'm looking at all the Anantara Resorts now, if only the rest were as cheap as this one!!

Room Tip: The most basic room is pretty incredible, wouldn't spend more on the beach front villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elmo1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear elmo1984,

Thank you very much for your review and I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed the facilities and services we have to offer.

We hope you will come back and spend another holiday with us.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Pha Ngan
6.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
15.2 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
16.5 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#35 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
242 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#16 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas

Property: Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Address: 5/5 Moo 5, Tong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked discreetly at the base of a lush mountain, amongst towering coconut palms and just steps from the powdery sands of Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, 64 private pool suites and villas in seven distinctive layouts face the turquoise sea. Comprising indoor and outdoor living spaces ranging from 100 to 250 square metres, each sanctuary reflects its own charming character. In natural harmony with the exotic surrounds, wood and stone features provide a striking backdrop to rich hand woven silks. Luxury comforts inside range from a “blissful dreams” mattress adorned with 500 thread count linens, to a 32 inch flat screen TV with home theatre entertainment, and outside to an indulgent private plunge pool.Guests keep in touch with complimentary WiFi throughout the resort, accompanied by an extensive library with PCs alongside international magazines and newspapers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort And Spa
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Hotel Koh Phangan
Rasananda Hotel Ko Phangan
Rasananda Resort Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing