We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Äntligen semster som det ska vara/Holidays how they should be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Äntligen semster som det ska vara/Holidays how they should be”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Smekmånad med Kjell ;-) Arlanda to BKK was hell, skrikande små barn... argh, what to do???

Book Spa Honeymoon @ Anantaras snygga pärla!

I have been going to different places in Thailand for years, but this time we were really impressed by a beautiful resort and the great spa, even my husband liked it.

So what was bad? the location!!!
We was a little disappointed with the rough seas which according to the staff is unusual and as we were in the area a couple of years ago, also around sport lov I think it is true. They staff are great & very friendly and in the polite style we all love so much, wish we could get that in Stockholm. It is not cheap, but we was not surprised because the room was reeeeeeeally nice and we know that good hotels in Thailand are always more expensive than the outside. But we are to old for backpack...HAHAHA ;-) om det är inte dags att ta sig till fjällen LOL.

I really like the decoration and how the team is there and you don't need to tell them... not like Dubai. If you go on a honeymoon, great place...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frida_Ida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Frida,

Thank you for choosing Anantara Rasananda as your Honeymoon destination and we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay.

We hope you can return one day and enjoy our island paradise once again.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,512
    314
    102
    31
    14
See reviews for
314
1,332
42
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Very clean and asquetic hotel with minor thai touch. Some things were very good, like complementary wiskey in the room every day, sport facilities and pool, also good words to chef, confectionery definetly was the best. But overall I was not sutisfied, because hotel is much sales oriented and try directly to sell in different extra services with high price, it was much disturbing. Also hotel do not take any responsibility of transfer from airport to hotel and vice versa.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GustavsCESU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear GustavsCESU,

I sincerely thank you for your feedback which is helpful in our efforts to continuously improve service levels in all areas of the resort and for all guests coming to Anantara. I am terribly disappointed to read that during your stay you felt the service was not heartfelt but very sales oriented. Our guest comments are a great learning opportunity and we will continue to use them to carry out the necessary measures to correct and further improve us.

I do hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa and it would be my utmost pleasure to be your contact for any future arrangements.

With my warmest regards, I remain,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stay date 2nd - 9th Feb.

Amazing :-)

This is a stunning resort. It is not cheap but the level of service is unsurpassed by anything I have ever experienced. Koh Phangan is one of the most stunning locations I have ever been to and this resort makes the most of it. We stayed at an Ocean Villa, everything is provided for you even Apple TV. The food is also excellent – even so they charge the same as in Europe. We were constantly amazed at the attention to detail wherever we went. The staff all seemed to enjoy their work and were very keen for us to enjoy our stay. This place is so relaxing that after only a couple of days we felt totally chilled and relaxed - my congrats to the management of this wonderful paradise resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTurgut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2013

While I normally do not leave any Trip Advisor comments, I thought this one really deserves it. I staid 8 nights with my family and had a fantastic time. Whenever we travel we often have problems with our dietary requirements; here it wasn’t an issue at all. The General Manager met us up on arrival and I informed him about our requests. We ended up eating in every day, the chef cooked for us personally and the staff was just absolutely delightful.
We stayed in villa no. 9, directly on the ocean. While we spend most of the time on the fantastic daybed just in front of our villa, we also took long walks on the pristine beach. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We just left Rasananda after 10 days there. We were happy with our room but disappointed by the service all the time.
We had chosen the lagoon villa for its privacy and it has been a perfect choice; we had room 17. The pavillion was lovely, nice little private pool and the housekeeping was efficient and friendly.
But we have been disappointed by the rest.

First of all, there was everyday problem with getting good sunbeds at the beach. Rooms directly on the beach get their own sunbeds reserved but for us was the sunbeds hunting everyday. This is definitely not what you are looking for in this category of hotel. So people were waking up and straight putting bags on sunbeds to book them for the day.. definitely not nice to start your day like this.
Second, every day at the breakfast, the same person was asking us our room number, even though they even took a picture of us when we arrive to recognize us. At the end, it feels really you are nobody that they always ask you your room number, never call you by your name etc. When you pay that much money to stay 10 days in a hotel, you definitely expect a bit more of consideration.
Then, the service at the beach was really really bad. The staff never looks at you so most of the time we had to get up to go to the bar to order something. Most of them don´t understand english and speak very poorly so makes everything complicated. You did not have the feeling at all that they were here to make your stay comfortable. It was really annoying to stand on your bed, making movements for five/ten minutes before anyone notices you... not what you expect in this kind of place.
Finally we would say that the restaurant was overpriced for the quality and service they delivered. Luckily you have good restaurants around (special mention to Beach house, right next door on the beach).

About the spa : very very beautiful spa. But again low quality of the therapists. We booked 2 treatments during our stay and we were both times disappointed. Treatments there are really expensive and you feel even more gutted as you have very good spa house in the village (thanaporn house to be recommended).

So altogether a "okay" experience. Villas are definitely nice and of a 5* hotel, really nice beach and environment. But the low quality of the service make you really disappointed at the end.

Room Tip: For privacy, lagoon villa, number 17.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A_S_O_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you very much for having taken the time to write about your stay at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa on Trip Advisor.

First of all I am sorry to learn that you left the resort disappointed and naturally I am concerned about the level of service which you experienced and I will look into these. However I am surprised by the comments about our spa as the in-house questionnaires that you completed after your treatments did not show any dissatisfaction but quite the reverse.

Once again, I feel very sorry that you had such a bad experience at our resort and I certainly will discuss each comment with my team to avoid disappointing our guest in the future.

With my warmest regards, I remain,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket Town, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I am not one to write reviews but after 12 nights at Anantara (which was in fact about our 4th choice hotel) I feel I would be letting down the staff and management of the hotel not to write about our experience...

This was a fairly last-minute booking and we were unable to get a room for all 12 nights at 3 or 4 other hotels we were thinking about on Koh Kood, Koh Samui and Yao Noi and so we ended up booking Anantara on Koh Phangan.

As it was a late booking we were unable to book our preferred room (villa on beachfront) for the whole stay but managed at last to get such a room for 5 nights before moving into a slightly smaller room also with sea view...

Both rooms, in fact, were very spacious with plenty of room to accommodate our 4-year old boy as well as us and with tasteful design of an obvious high quality.

The beach in front of the hotel was a beautiful sandy stretch with good swimming (something that I had missed previously when staying on Lamai and Bo Phut beaches in Koh Samui) even if the water was a little bit rough during our stay.

Food was excellent - a great array for breakfast buffet, an interesting lunch menu and some truly superb dinner buffets including a really special feast for Chinese New Year.

We spent a lot of time (and money ;) ) at the spa - but we were very impressed. The spa is set on various different levels in separate huts clambering up the hillside behind the hotel (which itself is very much on the flat) and is truly atmospheric.

Most of all though... ...the staff could not go further out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one. The restaurant was very flexible if we fancied something off dinner menu at lunchtime, for example; there was always help on hand if we needed assistance taking something up to the room; reception was helpful organizing excursions and transfers; the concierge helped arrange private Muay Thai lessons for me in the local village (and I have the bruises to show for it ;) )...

Thanks again to all for such a relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 10 nights in July 2012 and had the most amazing honeymoon ever. We upgraded our room to one with it's own private pool, which then lead directly onto the beach and our own reserved sunbeds. It was absolutely perfect. All the staff were wonderful, really helpful and friendly at all times. I could not fault this hotel in the slightest. The breakfast each morning was delicilous, you can either go to the buffet or choose from the menu on the table, whatever you decide it was always very tasty. If you are facing the beach and head down to the right there is a little mud track/path with several restaurants to chosoe from, all of the are very cheap and serve great food, we often saw staff members around this area once they had finished work, who still went out of their way to be friendly and say hello. There are several little shops which we frequented and also places to hire mo-peds. We did hire one one day, although the roads are not great and quite scary at times!! The only thing I didnt enjoy was the amount of mozzies around, beware, there are lots! The hotel do their best to keep them at bay, they fumigate the rooms and provide candles in the bathrooms. The local shops sell 90% deet repellant, which helped considerably. I tend to get bitten lots by them so found this quite annoying at times, but my husband didnt get bitten once, it depends if you are prone to them or not, if you are, take lots of repellants!

Room Tip: Upgrade your room when you get there, rather than in advance, it is about 50% cheaper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Pha Ngan
6.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
15.2 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
16.5 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#35 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
242 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#16 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas

Property: Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Address: 5/5 Moo 5, Tong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked discreetly at the base of a lush mountain, amongst towering coconut palms and just steps from the powdery sands of Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, 64 private pool suites and villas in seven distinctive layouts face the turquoise sea. Comprising indoor and outdoor living spaces ranging from 100 to 250 square metres, each sanctuary reflects its own charming character. In natural harmony with the exotic surrounds, wood and stone features provide a striking backdrop to rich hand woven silks. Luxury comforts inside range from a “blissful dreams” mattress adorned with 500 thread count linens, to a 32 inch flat screen TV with home theatre entertainment, and outside to an indulgent private plunge pool.Guests keep in touch with complimentary WiFi throughout the resort, accompanied by an extensive library with PCs alongside international magazines and newspapers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort And Spa
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Hotel Koh Phangan
Rasananda Hotel Ko Phangan
Rasananda Resort Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing