We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place - but stray dogs impact the experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place - but stray dogs impact the experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful location. Great beach.

We had a super room - with private daybed, jacuzzi bath, outdoor shower and our own little bit of beach. We had a powerful aircon unit, and a mosquito net over the comfortable bed, so all the boxes were ticked.

The staff are fantastic. Laid back and friendly, but they get the job done well.

The food in the restaurant is of a very high quality. In addition, there are other very good (and less expensive) dining options nearby, so you have plenty of choice. Betterthansex is a great little place in the village, and the beach club next door to the hotel wasn't bad.

A nice touch: The rooms have Apple TVs in them, so you can AirPlay music and movies from your iPad if the weather turns miserable.

Our only disappointment was the number of big stray dogs running around. Having them dig a hole in the sand and lie down next to us on the beach was a little annoying, but having them sit right at our table in the restaurant was downright unpleasant and certainly detracted from the "luxuriousness" of the experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bot_Bott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,415
    302
    101
    31
    14
See reviews for
281
1,266
40
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tiefenbronn, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

this hotel is for sure the best hotel I have ever been so far.
the location itself on Koh Phangan is great if you are looking for a real quite hotel just do nothing beside relaxing.
The bungalows are located directly at the beach (at least the one we had) and the beach is private area with only a few hotel guests using this area.

The bungalows interiour is great, using a lot of lokal stuff for the decoration and materials. The bed is using Seally mattress and we have had to force ourself to get up and enjoy the beach and the private pool each bungalow is providing.

Having breakfast directly on the beach putting your bare feet in the sand is a non-forgetable experience and also the breakfast offered by the always friendly team of Rasananda is very delicious.
We also have had diner twice in the hotel, which can be also recommended beside the price for the meals in comparison with the possibilities in the small village outside.

Overall I would be glad to come back again and would not hesitate any second to recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pdo3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Seldom have we stayed so nice. Truly romantic and beautiful !!! The pool suite was to die for and the beach at thong Jai pan crystal clear with white sand. Service and dining is perfect.

The spa is also great! Try the hot stone massage and you are in for a treat.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DannyBoyDiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Me and my new wife booked to stay here as part of our honeymoon last month. We stayed at the Banyan Tree in Koh Samui for 6 nights prior to moving across to Koh Phangan and Rasananda for a further 5 nights.

And if you want 5 star luxury, I would suggest you visit Banyan Tree instead. Now Rasananda was in a gorgeous location with picturesque views and a laid back environment, however it didn't compare to Banyan Tree when it came to food, service, friendliness, facilities or attention to detail.

The first day we arrived, we noticed the TV wasn't working properly, the complimentary mosquito repellant didn't work, there were no sun loungers on our decking areas as depicted on the website and one of the bath robes was missing its belt and so could not be fastened. Not major issues but not something you'd expect for paying 5 star prices for somewhere claiming to be 5 star.

We also were not informed about the welcome cocktail party that was hosted on the first evening of our stay. We also only found out on our last day that there was a drink-of-the-day offer we could of taken advantage of - my wife is a solicitor so she read the T's and C's believe me - but there was no information on this!

Now everything we experienced here was good, however it was not 5 star like Banyan Tree was. The breakfast buffet/beach restaurant was good, however the open aired restaurant resulted in countless flies buzzing around in the morning and mosquito's attacking you at night.

The bedroom was fully air-con'd (albeit very noisy when trying to get to sleep) and the bed was extremely comfortable, clean and spacious. However the open-plan bathroom wasn't our style. No air con in the bathroom meant you had to get ready in the bedroom to avoid sweating away! As the lighting was dimmer in the bedroom and the wardrobes were in the bathroom area, making getting ready more of an effort than it should of been. This also meant that the bedroom door had to be opened and closed continuously, allowing mosquito's into the room and a cockroach on one occasion (in which the staff did clear away when asked).

We stayed in an Ocean Pool Villa (number 9) however the decking area immediately outside our bedroom was overlooked by palm trees so we couldn't sunbath on the terrace. This seems insignificant however the Villa next to ours (the same type of Villa costing the same amount) had a much larger decking area with much more open space. So check which room you have prior to arrival as ours wasn't representative of the brochure pictures.

The beach was awesome, soft sand and our private sun loungers immediately outside our Villa. However there were stray dogs on the beach which although well behaved, this is not what I expected in a 5 star resort.

So all in all a nice experience however it was not a patch on Banyan Tree, Koh Samui

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kevin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Rasananda, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear kevin b

Thank you very much for sharing this feedback. Without making excuses we apologize wholeheartedly for the shortcomings you experienced. It is indeed the attention to detail but more importantly consistency which makes a hotel great and it is clear we let you down. We have taken note of all the points raised and will work hard to correct them.

Thank you again and please know that should you chose to return, we would welcome you back generously and I can be contacted directly in order to assist with anything in future

Best Regards

Mark Eletr
General Manager Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneAustralia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Firstly my apologies for the lateness of this review. We stayed there back in June in an Ocean Pool Villa for 6 great nights. From the time we arrived at the waiting area in Samui for the transfer over to Rasananda we could not fault anything. The crossing over in the resorts boat was quite rough with choppy seas but not once did we feel insecure during the crossing. The person in control masterfully powered on and off to get through the chop and make the trip as comfortable as possible.

Staff were waiting on the beach to greet us soon as we arrived and we were handled fairly quickly and transferred to our room. I have read other reviews about some rooms having lack of sun to their pool but the villa were in was great and had plenty of sunshine. The room was well presented and all features were explained. I remember that the second day we were there we had a problem with an internal door that locked and could unlock it. Within 10 minutes of a call to reception we had a maintenance person down to fix.

Reserved lounges on the beach were a nice touch as was the cocktail drinks one night with the management team. The breakfasts were good with a combination of buffet and a la carte eggs etc also loved the coffee from the coffee machine at breakfast so good to be able to get a larte or cappuccino. We mixed our dinners between a couple of restaurants in the nearby village and dinners at the resort. I have read elsewhere those who have said in their reviews that the resort is over priced for dinner, but have to disagree. Yes it is more than in the village, but the quality and service is excellent.

Beach is fantastic with soft sand and loved the happy hour round the pool bar in the afternoon. We were approached a number of times by food and beverage managers seeking feedback, taking a very proactive approach. Before we left Australia there were a few reports on staff turnover and new staff not trained properly. I went to the gym upstairs most days and when on the treadmill I usually saw staff meetings taking place across in the next building upstairs or staff training being done. It is apparent that they are investing in staff to make sure that they achieve the right level of training. The gym although small was well equipped with a fridge with cold water in after the work out.

There was a wedding there during our stay and the detail that they went to and communication to guests was very good.

We used she spa when we were there and the attention provided by the staff and ambience of the resorts spa was very good.

The checkout process was well handled and the labeling of luggage to our next point of stay back in Samui was well done. Hardest part was waving goodbye as our boat departed.

Mark thank you to you and your team , sorry that I took so long to do a review, I thought that I had done one when I did one for the Anantara Bophut, but recently realised that I hadn't

We loved the place so much am about to make a booking to go back next June so only about 240 days to go................can't wait!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbTraveller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have just returned from the most amazing stay at the Anantara Rasananda, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were treated as personal friends of the staff.
We were welcomed on arrival by the most lovely staff, even the Manager Mark and head chef came to welcome us and introduce themselves. Nice touch. We were travelling as a group of 9 people (a check-in logistical nightmare for any hotel) not the Anantara they even offered to set a table on the beach for us for the duration of our stay.
Then we were shown to the most amazing garden villa I have ever had the pleasure of staying in (and I have stayed in some nice hotels in Thailand and Indonesia) It had its own private decking and plunge pool. The rooms are huge and sparkling clean, I could have had a seperate party in the bathroom alone. Free spirits and fresh ice bucket were delivered to our rooms daily. The staff are wonderful, organised, welcoming and discreet. I asked for a cake to be delivereed one morning for my husbands birthday there was no bother at all we even had a jug of tomato juice and all the makings for bloody Marys broughty to our table as well. I think it was Rin at the restaurant that organised this for me, a huge thank you to her she is so beautiful.
This place is truly paradise no stone is left unturned. The attention to detail and pride they take in their customer care is flawless.
Guests are given a personal farewell from Mark the manager, his wife and their little boy, such a lovely touch and it does make you feel special.

My only complaint is that we were only there for a very short 4 nights, My friends and I all unanimously have voted we will definately be back this time for longer and with our families in tow. Thank you Mark, family and staff for making this part of our holiday very special.
THIS PLACE SHOULD BE ON EVERYONES BUCKET LIST, I WILL DEFINATELY BE BACK.. See you next year.

Room Tip: A garden villa is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travel14_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

This resort is heaven-like with excellent rooms (though the private pool suite suffers from lack of sun above the the cold pool...) boutique hotel feeling (the hotel was full yet we hardly felt the other guests) and great location-right behind it there is a small town with cheap good restaurants and a minimart.

Excellent "treat yourself" resort

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liorlevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Pha Ngan
6.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
6.0 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
15.2 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
0.7 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#15 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas

Property: Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Address: 5/5 Moo 5, Tong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked discreetly at the base of a lush mountain, amongst towering coconut palms and just steps from the powdery sands of Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, 64 private pool suites and villas in seven distinctive layouts face the turquoise sea. Comprising indoor and outdoor living spaces ranging from 100 to 250 square metres, each sanctuary reflects its own charming character. In natural harmony with the exotic surrounds, wood and stone features provide a striking backdrop to rich hand woven silks. Luxury comforts inside range from a “blissful dreams” mattress adorned with 500 thread count linens, to a 32 inch flat screen TV with home theatre entertainment, and outside to an indulgent private plunge pool.Guests keep in touch with complimentary WiFi throughout the resort, accompanied by an extensive library with PCs alongside international magazines and newspapers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Hotel Koh Phangan
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort And Spa
Rasananda Hotel Ko Phangan
Rasananda Resort Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing