We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute Honeymoon Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We visited Koh Phangan on our Honeymoon as the second stop. Our trip consisted of 6 nights Koh Samui, 6 night Koh Phangan and 4 night Bangkok.

I must say Rasananda in Koh Phangan tops it all.

We booked our package holiday through an Agency and I’m glad we did as we got a lot of freebies along with our package one of which was a free upgrade to the Ocean Pool Villa.

My review.

Getting to the hotel:

The boat trip from Koh Samui to Koh Phangnan was quick and comfy and it docks straight on the beach where the hotel is located.

Welcome:

We were given a very warm welcome along with a welcome drink. After a quick introduction to the hotel facilities we were taken to our room and WOW!!! When I say room I meant an actual Villa.

Hotel room/ Villa:

It consisted of a very big bedroom with Apple TV, Flat screen TV, An absolute beautiful decoration on our bed along with a free complimentary bottle of sparkling wine. A small bar and a work desk. Then there was a walk sizable in closet and big bath room Outside we had another shower, table and chairs our own pool facing the beach/ocean and another double bed under a canopy facing the pool and beach. Best of all was that we could actually walk straight to the beach without ever getting out of our villa. Also we had 2 deck chairs reserved for us.
Also a plus is that the in room bar had complimentary Vodka, Gin and Whiskey which were topped up for free every night that’s was a big benefit especially when most of your time is spent in your own villa.

Hotel Food:

The food in the hotel is excellent. Breakfast had anything you can think of and dinner was always based on a different theme. We also went out in the village to try out some local restaurants which were s also good and very cheap.

Hotel Staff:

The hotel Staff were some of the best staff I have ever encountered. Very warm, helpful and will go the extra mile to make your holiday a dream come through.

They even make a weekly free cocktail party with finger food and free wine, beers and cocktails where you get too meet all the hotel managers.

Tony Wrigley who I believe to be either the Head Chef or food and beverage manager, (not sure) was extremely helpful. He gave us a list of things we could do on the island and also places to visit while we’re in Bangkok. Every single morning he was in the restaurant during breakfast and he came to have a chat asking how are we doing and if there is anything he could do for us. What a brilliant guy.

Hotel Location:

The hotel is located on a very quiet and un-spoilt beach/village probably the main reason is because it’s not as easy to get to it from the main harbor on the Island. The one and only downside I found about this hotel is that if you want to explore the island it’s a bit of a mission to get to the other side of the island as most of the main road connecting to the other side of the island is very rough and muddy and could be dangerous when wet and raining but the good news is that they are currently building the road. When I was there it was about 50% completed.

The island:

The island is an absolute paradise. There are beautiful views where ever you look, and plenty of places to explore. I would recommend renting a small bike/scooter and explore the island there is plenty of things beaches to try out, but be very careful how to drive as roads are very steep and has very sharp corners.

Conclusion:

All in all I would recommend Rasananda and the island Koh Phangan to anyone. If I could I would go back there in a heartbeat!!!

Well done for Rasananda Staff you really made my stay a memorable one, KEEP IT UP!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean Pool Villa are their best Villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reuben_Grech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,045)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,007 - 1,013 of 2,045 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2012

Just spent three glorious days at the Anantara Rasananda and should have made it weeks. Location is stunning, right on the beach, soft sand forever, azure water. Wonderful rooms, beautiful teak wood details, indoor and outdoor showers - tough choice. We were beachfront and fell asleep to the sound of the surf. Plunge pool, sala, beach chaise, too many decisions to be made. The hotel management were at the cocktail party on Friday evening, very friendly and good listeners. Food was wonderful, Chef Tony outdid himself. Breakfast on the beach, toes in the sand, how decadent. Yes this is Heaven. Will we be back, oh yes, booking right now.

Room Tip: Beachfront best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tamarind0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful trip to Anantara Rasananda and it was fabulous. The resort is lush and tropical and maintained perfectly.

Staff/Service- the staff at the resort are wonderful. The service provided in every aspect is what makes this an amazing place to stay. Toke, the audio/visual tech, spent a hour fixing our speakers so we could listen to music! Pla and Ice provided great beach service and would set up sunbeds and deliver food and drink. All of the wait staff and cooks were so good and so nice. It is obvious that a lot of time is spent on training and it really shows. So many small touches that makes this resort stand out.

Room- we had a pool suite and it was wonderful. Plunge pool at the room would be much more useful if it was a little warmer as we would have used it at night. The bed and linens were very comfortable. Apple TV was great as we had some rainy nights. Cold A/C, hot water, complimentary spirits, water, and snacks replenished daily.

Food- Amazing breakfast and food in general. Very nice touch with the beach snacks passed around mid day. Scallops and risotto, AMAZING! Sea bass, hamburger, Tom Yum, awesome. Very nice wine selection eventhough it's a little pricey.

Nice little town for dinners outside the resort (and a fraction of the price). Luna, Jip, and the Beach BBQ (down the beach to the left of resort) were our favorites. Sex on the Beach and Hacienda were pretty decent.

Pick up at airport was very easy and we were taken to the cabana to wait for the boat. After a short wait we landed on the beach in the cove next to the resort as the waves were too big to land at the resort. Short 5 min car ride and we were there. Our flight departure was at 2:55 pm and the mid day boat ride probably wouldn't have given us enough time at the airport. So, we took the early boat and then were taken to their sister resort on Samui which is a short 10 min car ride. Once there we changed into suits and enjoyed the pool and beach before we showered, changed and headed to the airport.

Pros/Cons- When I asked my husband to name his favorite thing he said it was the service. When I asked him what his one complaint would be he really had to think hard (and I forced his to give me one) and settled on two occassions when they forgot wash cloths when making up the room. This was of course fixed instantly with a quick phonecall. My favorite was the service, and since I am forcing myself to put a Con I guess I would say that I wish the plunge pool could be heated. So as you can see we really didn't have any issues/complaints at all and really have to dig deep to find faults !!!

All in all, a wonderful vacation and I would certainly return!

Room Tip: we had a pool suite which we were very happy with as the garden villas seemed that they may be a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roatan_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Apologies for the delay in writing this, we stayed Oct 2011.

After spending 10 days of honeymoon hell at the Centara Grand in Samui (see other review) the Rasananda was absolute bliss, the only bad thing being the fact we only stayed 4 nights.

We were met by Mark the manager and from the moment we arrived we were very well looked after, Mark and his team were always available to discuss any requests. We also loved how attentive Tony the chef was, again he took the time to introduce himself and ask about our dietary requirements.

The team at Rasananda went above and beyond the call of duty, and when we checked out at 11am it was the Rasananda (not kuoni who were utterly useless throughout and ruined our trip of a lifetime) who arranged for us to spend the day at one of their sister resorts the Anantara in Samui, before we flew home in the evening.

Our room was just beautiful, not on the beach but was a two story with own pool, beautifully decorated (if not a little dark) and was exactly the blissful retreat we needed.

The food was out of this world, great selection at breakfast, if there was anything more that could be provided then they happily would help. We found the food at the hotel far superior to that at any nearby restaurant. Tony and his team do a brilliant job and were faultless.

If Kuoni hadn't treated us so appaulingly and left such a bad taste in our mouth regarding Thailand then we'd book to stay here again in a heartbeat, just not through them.

Perfect honeymoon resort, perfect staff, perfect location.

Thank you guys so much for making what started off as a honeymoon hell, into a honeymoon from heaven (if just for 4 days)


I would say that

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juice81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Me and my wife stayed there for one night and wished we could have stayed more...
The room we got had a small pool and it was just on the beach...I mean when we were having bath we were too exposed...but we really enjoyed the shamelessness....The room was done very beautifully and I really liked the ambience, beach walk...It was too romantic and too luxurious....
The only draw back was that it was too far from HardRin (the place for FULL MOON PARTY) Infact, it takes almost an hour to reach from hotel to full moon party...If u have come only for full moon party than I suggest that u should stay somewhere near HardRin .....but if u have come to enjoy Beauty of Koh Phangan-Romantic and sexy holiday-and ofcourse full moon party-ALL .......then this is an excellent hotel..Infact the best at Koh Phangan

Room Tip: Choose a beach facing room with Pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meghapuneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This was our second visit to the Rasananda in two years, the first being when it had just opened, and our visit in Nov 2011 after it had changed ownership. The villa's at this hotel are all extremely luxurious. The first time we stayed in a Thai villa,with two storey's and a private garden with pool, and the second time we splurged a little more and had an ocean front villa with pool (both gorgeous villa's), and we hardly used our pool as it was only about 3 strides to the sea, from our reserved sun beds. Breakfast and lunch at the hotel were to a very high standard. I can't comment on Dinner, as after doing nothing much all day, we thought it high time to stretch our legs each evening and stroll into the village to savour the local cuisine.
The spa at the Rasananda is also a treat, in a tranquil rock and waterfall environment -a truly relaxing setting.
The villa's themselves are very tastefully and luxuriously furnished. There is a coffee machine, plus local spirits and snacks refreshed daily. The turndown service is seamless, and room service is smooth and efficient. The team also are quick to respond to any requests.
Once we have saved our pennies, we will return.

Room Tip: Check out the local restaurants in the village, and in neighbouring bays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank APiper29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Our memories of Anantara Rasananda will always remain fondly , the place, the people and the food and the environment. RIght from our arrival at the airport to our transfer by a speed boat it was orchestrated with a finese and made us feel very welcome . We stayed in a Garden Deluxe Cottage with a in ground plunge pool with very well appointed rooms with attention to detail, like a four poster bed, nice linen , outdoor shower and also small things you need in toilets accessories, torch , umbrella's and even some snacks incase you felt peckish. It also gave us plenty of privacy and solitude and if we did need some company the beach cafe was a nice place to chill out or a the beach.

The food was of a very high order and Chef Tony spared no effort in making sure we were well fed each evening with a different theme and even had some musicians and entertainment in the evening. A nice evening desert sent to our rooms was a nice touch each night.

The most touching part of the hotel is not being very big , it felt very personal and yet had all the 'modcoms' you would expect from a five star property and was very clean and well maintained with a very friendly staff.

Great for a relaxing vacation , a short boat ride from Koh Samui and worth the travel from a busy Koh Samui to a relaxing Koh Phangan.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vijayeyunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
6.4 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
6 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#5 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas

Address: 5/5 Moo 5, Tong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $219 - $1,305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked discreetly at the base of a lush mountain, amongst towering coconut palms and just steps from the powdery sands of Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, 64 private pool suites and villas in seven distinctive layouts face the turquoise sea. Comprising indoor and outdoor living spaces ranging from 100 to 250 square metres, each sanctuary reflects its own charming character. In natural harmony with the exotic surrounds, wood and stone features provide a striking backdrop to rich hand woven silks. Luxury comforts inside range from a “blissful dreams” mattress adorned with 500 thread count linens, to a 32 inch flat screen TV with home theatre entertainment, and outside to an indulgent private plunge pool.Guests keep in touch with complimentary WiFi throughout the resort, accompanied by an extensive library with PCs alongside international magazines and newspapers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort And Spa
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Hotel Koh Phangan
Rasananda Hotel Ko Phangan
Rasananda Resort Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing