We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for one night only. Do not recommend the food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phangan Utopia Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2011

The first impression was "WOW what a view!" But after a couple of hours it gets boring. It's pretty far from everything so its like being trapped in paradise. We booked 2 nights and it felt like a week. There's nothing to do up here if you dont take a taxi to some beach.
Both of us ordered different food both days for lunch and dinner and both got sick in the stomach after every meal. So the last day we decided to go eat dinner somewhere else and we were fine. So the kitchen is not so clean or the chef is not good, something shady is going on in the kitchen for us to get sick. The breakfast was poor, not much to choose from.
So afar from the breathtaking view we dont have much more to say about this place. Friendly staff. Stay here for one night and see the view, thats all.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PutteANDCarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 206 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2010

Best place i stayed during 2 weeks in Thailand. Staff we're fantastic with us. Definatly worth upgrading to the bungalows on the edge facing the sea. Outside showers and amazing views from balcony.

Would defiantly recommend and visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merfmerfmerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2009

The view is incredible!! The staff is also very friendly and helpful. They do the little plus that makes all the difference! I would recommend this place even if it is a little bit far but so peaceful and quiet!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaGlobettroter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

We booked a thai style room through hostel bookers which gets you a 30% discount. We we picked up from the ferry terminal by wolf and taken to the resort. The views from the resort are absolutely amazing. It is on top of a cliff and I got a lovely feeling of calm when we sat in the restaurant looking out.

The room was nice, in the traditional thai wooden style. The bathroom was outdoors which was nice taking a shower, but a little wierd when using the loo at night! the food was nice, although they have to take it outside when transfering from the kitchen to restaurant, so it arrives a little colder than I would have liked!

They do a transfer to the nearest beach, which is lovely! There is a natural sandbank to a little island which you can walk along, and the mamma's massage on the beach is the best massage I have even had!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s300bex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

I booked the rooms and paid deposit in January since they had good rates for April but as soon as we arrived in Phangan there was no pickup as they said. Phoned them and they said I had no booking and the rooms were full! Luckily I had a thai friend who phoned them and in 15 min sent pickup to sort out what happened. They said that their booking system crashed last week and lost all records. Since I had a bad feeling that thais are going to fool me I brought records of email booking and paypal receipt both on paper and on pendrive as proof of payment. After accepting my booking the receptionist said that the rates have changed since my booking and become more exp. and wanted to give me a lower rated room from what I have booked and besides this the type of room (seaview with big windows and balcony) were all booked. I insisted to have a similar room and agreed for a seaview with balcony but small windows. I realized that the system crash was a setup and they wanted me to forget my early booking and pay twice as much. Another ripoff is the fact that they hire pickup drivers from Chaloklam to take to to had rin and other nearby places for an exuberant price and this rises up to 500 baht one way on fullmoon party days.I tried to haggle a price with the driver and at first he accepted for 500 return but when he came to pick us up from had rin he said to wait for an hour because he had another pickup in one hours time, we agreed and offered him a drink insice a bar to kill the 1hour. when he took us back to utopia he refused the deal and wanted abother 500 baht. Besides all this, rooms are clean and nicely decorated. My girlfriend didn't like the fact that during the night there are big gechos all around the hut and other bugs strolling on the roof because the sound was waking her up. Said that be careful when you prebook with utopia and money wise its better to book at utopia if you want to visit chaloklam, mae haad, ko ma and nearby beaches because they offer free transport to nearby places and if you want to visit had rin or go to fullmoon party its more woth it to have accommodation in had rin

Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank TrevorC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed September 11, 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

This place was great! The view is unbelievable. The staff was the best...so helpful...no matter what we needed they helped us out. My only regret is that we only stayed one night! A little far from the Full Moon Party beach, but they arranged transportation for us. The food was great too!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vonstar19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
3.4 mi away
Loyfa Natural Resort
Loyfa Natural Resort
#18 of 413 in Ko Pha Ngan
353 reviews
5.6 mi away
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
#1 of 413 in Ko Pha Ngan
327 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
#12 of 413 in Ko Pha Ngan
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#22 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
624 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maehaad Bay Resort
Maehaad Bay Resort
#35 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
289 reviews
8.7 mi away
Silvermoon Beach & Jungle Resort
Silvermoon Beach & Jungle Resort
#26 of 413 in Ko Pha Ngan
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phangan Utopia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phangan Utopia Resort

Address: 85/2 Moo 7 | Koh Phangan, Suratthani, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 413 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $31 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phangan Utopia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Phangan Utopia Resort located in the north of Phangan Island between Mae Had Beach and Chaloklum Bay. It is situated on top of the hill at Had Thong Lang Bay with a fantastic sea view on the gulf of Thailand. Here you are welcome to enjoy the peacefulness and harmony of this favourable resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phangan Utopia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phangan Utopia Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing