We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phangan Utopia Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Arrived at the resort and was absolutely amazed at how wonderful it was, we upgraded our room to a jacuzzi view room as we were just blown away by the view! Not only was the view amazing so were all the staff, this is a superbly family run resort, couldn't fault any of it. The food in the restaurant was great as was the breakfast which was included and gave you a choice from menu and all freshly cooked. They also provide a free shuttle service into the next village and beach. We hired a scooter for 200thb per day and toured the island. We were so sorry to leave and will definitely return. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Jacuzzi rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AandP2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 203 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Please be careful when booking this hotel. Yes it's a lovely location, a good distance from all the crowds in a stunning location.

DO NOT BOOK A GARDEN ROOM!!!! The photos on the website show rooms that are by the pool. They look lovely. The garden view rooms look over the car park, they have holes in the floor made of wood and are some of the most basic wooden bungalows I've stayed in. Bathrooms are interesting, outdoors, done tastefully (which is odd) they've spent time and effort revamping the bathrooms yet inside the bungalow is pretty basic. There is big gaps under the front door and bathroom door, no mosquito nets so be prepared to share with bugs. No safe either.

Having said that, the pool view and sea view rooms look lovely, modern and tastefully done. Staff are more than accommodating and restaurant is good. I would just highly recommend u DO NOT book a garden bungalow!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LauraMcDermid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

This family-run resort surpassed our expectations. Between our party, we stayed in 3 rooms, one Pool View and two Mountain View. All very clean and of a recently renovated/redecorated standard. Restaurant superb and staff very friendly and helpful. If there were any problems meriting a poor review in the past, these have certainly been addressed. Don't forget there's a free pickup as we paid for a taxi to get there.
We would recommend to all who are looking for a quieter slice of Ko Pha-Ngan.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Utopia Resort is a wonderful place to stay if you are seeking peace and quiet. The rooms are very clean and the beds are comfortable. The restaurant is amazing because chef is excellent. She knows just the right balance that makes Thai food so tasty. The staff is wonderful and are there to help you with what ever you need. I highly recommend the Utopia Resort.

Room Tip: I have rented both the sea view and mountain view rooms and feel that the mountain view rooms are mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swanzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Utopia resort has great view. We booked this place because of the peace and tranquility it could offer. The full moon party was practically at the opposite side of the island, so the best chance of avoiding the crowd of party peoples.

The room was big and clean with an old tv. Next time we will go for a room with sea view, which cost som extra money. The staff was friendly and very serviceminded.

There is free pick up from the harbour when you arrive if you contact the hotel i advance. But they charge you 150 THB for the same service when you leave. There is also free mini van service twice a day to and from nearest town Chaloklum.

The nearest beach is Mae Hat beach which is 10 min. walk form Utopia.

The telephone number on the hotels webpage is wrong:
http://phanganutopia.com/kohphangancontact.php

Epilog:
When we left Utopia Resort heading for Bangkok we booked the transportation at the reception. It almost when totally wrong. Due to a misunderstanding between the hotel reception and the travel agency we almost missed our flight from Surat Thani Airport. When the misunderstanding unfold the travel agency was about to charge us for an extra 1,300 TBH on top of the 1,700 TBH we already paid for the package. All the booking was handle in Thai between the hotel and the travel agency.

So be sure to have everything in writing and make sure that the hotel understand the flight time and place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller_from_DNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel 3 Nights and loved it! We probably had the cheapest and worse room but loved it anyway. What is so great?
1. Great silence away from the party.
2. Great personal! Helpfull and just good people.
3. Frog koncert in the evening
4. Close to a Nice beach - a hilly walk for 10 min.
5. Great view over the Island.
6. Great pool
7. Nature feeling

We Will probably come back!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The staff were friendly a helpful (get to know them on a itst name basis), and the views were absolutely gorgeous. It might put some off that the location is on the opposite side of the island from the full moon party, but the staff provides a free taxi. This is paradise for relatively cheap.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt111111294217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
5.1 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#36 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
254 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#15 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
311 reviews
1.1 mi away
Malibu Beach Bungalows
Malibu Beach Bungalows
#75 of 139 in Ko Pha Ngan
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
#14 of 408 in Ko Pha Ngan
710 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
#41 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maehaad Bay Resort
Maehaad Bay Resort
#34 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phangan Utopia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phangan Utopia Resort

Address: 85/2 Moo 7 | Koh Phangan, Suratthani, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 408 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $31 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phangan Utopia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Phangan Utopia Resort located in the north of Phangan Island between Mae Had Beach and Chaloklum Bay. It is situated on top of the hill at Had Thong Lang Bay with a fantastic sea view on the gulf of Thailand. Here you are welcome to enjoy the peacefulness and harmony of this favourable resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phangan Utopia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phangan Utopia Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing