We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pleasant stay at Tantawan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tantawan Bungalow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tantawan Bungalow
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Certificate of Excellence
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant stay at Tantawan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Tantawan bungalows for three nights and truly enjoyed our stay. The room was cozy and we had a huge balcony with amazing views. Definitely good value for money!
The restaurant was beautifully and uniquely decorated and the food was amazing. The staff was super helpful and gave us tips on what we should do on the island and how to get around. The owners took their time and effort to socialize with the guests and they even gave me aloe vera leafs for my sunburn!
The hotel is away from the beach but you can rent cheap scooters at the hotel so it makes all the beaches accessible. We can't really say anything negative about this hotel, the atmosphere was very relaxed and enjoyable and everything worked! Thank you Tantawan for making our stay so pleasant! We would recommend this hotel to everyone!xx

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty high up so if you struggle with climbing make sure you pick one of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eveliina9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent_Briggs, Propriétaire at Tantawan Bungalow, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Many thanks for this constructive message, always welcome :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    51
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
45
102
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

An amazing place where to spend your holiday in Koh Phangan!!! Everything is wonderful in Tantawan! Room, place, restaurant, sea view by the lovely terrace and the owner too!! In a perfect location if you want to live the real island life! Relax and fun in the same place!! Miss it so much!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lorybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent_Briggs, Owner at Tantawan Bungalow, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
A big thank you girls, enjoy the time :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here back in August 2011 but still had to write a review.

This place is simply amazing; from the pool to its food and location. We stayed in the charm bungalow. The view was incredible and we have happy memories of watching sun sets from the hammock on the balcony.

We must go back one day.

Only wish we stayed for more than three nights.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent_Briggs, Owner at Tantawan Bungalow, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Glad you liked the place, we do our very best to improve the quality day after day :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulsan, South Korea
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend went for our first time traveling together to Ko Phangan and this is the best place to be. We were greeted by a super friendly owner and welcoming drinks. It was a super special treatment being here. The staffs are friendly and smiling. Our bungalow is one of the highest and there's a lot of stairs to take but it's such worth it. We have the best view ever! Sunset on the hammock in our balcony. Nothing to complain about the room and we paid a fair price. And oh the food there are absolutely delicious! We are very happy with our stay. And I don't remember the name of one of the owner ( hope your remember us! ) but he's super friendly and helpful. Thanks for carrying our bags♥ definitely coming back soon!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank masnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent_Briggs, Propriétaire at Tantawan Bungalow, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We do remember you guys, no worries. Always a pleasure to deal with friendly people....Always welcome to our little TTW ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bornem, Belgium
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Spent a lovely 8 days there, during low season which is just what I like. Weather was, albeiit hot, still very nice compared to the rest of Thailand.
The place itself is lovely, nice bungalows spread out on a hill overlooking the sea. Nice swimming pool, and all is well thought out. I slept in both the wooden bungalows, which are very nice, Zen being the nicest one, slightly larger and a better view. My friend was perfectly happy with the smaller one so there's something to suit everyone.

Room Tip: Zen would be my choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent_Briggs, Propriétaire at Tantawan Bungalow, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Many thanks for this review guys, how's life in Belgium?
Greetings from Tantawan :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Can't help feeling that this is a glorified backpacker's accommodation which punches slightly above its weight, and is not cheap. We paid around 2000 Baht per night for the so-called exclusive accommodation, but we feel there are better value options in the area. In fairness we arrived at a time when Tantawan was playing host to at least 20 young people from a tour group [an issue which could affect more independent travellers in the future]. This meant that most of the energy of the staff, the pool and all facilities were sapped by the group, leaving few options for others. In order to access a pool we had to go to another venue and pay for use of the facilities. Apart from Vincent, the co-owner, who is absolutely delightful, and one of the evening bar dudes, the staff were not particularly friendly, which always makes it difficult to ask for assistance. The website is polished, and while not deceptive, it shows Tantawan at its very best. It is the type of accommodation and complex which ages quickly. We had no linen or towel change, and no room clean in four days, although we have since noticed that the website promises room clean. The room was certainly not presented like it is on the website photo. The fan was inadequate, although we did know that it was the only cooling on offer. We are fit people, but there should be a notice on the website stating that the steps are extremely steep in parts, and not especially well-lit. Then people can make an informed choice. Some of the gaps between the charming wooden verandah barriers are large and could be dangerous for small children. The swimming pool is an appealing shape but was unappetising after hours of use by a large group. The restaurant area is well-designed and offers magnificent views, as do most of the bungalows. Overall I suppose it was not what we were expecting.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbug61Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent_Briggs, Propriétaire at Tantawan Bungalow, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hello,

We feel absolutely sorry you didn't like the place,the service etc....We always try to give our customers the same attention but it is sometimes difficult to make everyone happy especially when the place is fully booked.

This being said, we highly recommend you to read all comments before booking, it saves time and energy to both parties.

We are wishing you all the best for your next trip :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have stayed at Tantawan on three trips to Koh Phangan, and I will look no further when planning another trip to the island. Vincent and Alain are great hosts and it’s easy to fall in love with the resort. Having travelled to Koh Phangan eight times, while staying at 11 different resorts in total, I’m in a good position to compare the accommodation offered on the island. Tantawan is by far the best value for money, and with its peaceful and relaxed atmosphere it even beats the luxury resorts.

The highlights of every stay at Tantawan include the beautiful sunsets that you can enjoy from the large sun deck, the swimming pool and the mussels! Don’t leave before you try the mussels with creamy white wine sauce with garlic. It’s not on the menu every day, as they serve them only when they are fresh from the sea, so make sure you check with Alain whether they got a fresh order on the day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent_Briggs, Propriétaire at Tantawan Bungalow, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Many thanks for these comments, always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phangan hotels
2.3 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#2 of 92 in Ko Phangan
5.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baan Manali Resort
Baan Manali Resort
#9 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
5.5 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#35 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#21 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
1.6 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#15 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 680 reviews
5.8 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tantawan Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantawan Bungalow

Property: Tantawan Bungalow
Address: 51/8 Moo 8 | Haad Yao, Ko Phangan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established for over 10 years, Tantawan Bungalows is situated on the West Coast of the paradise Island of Koh Phangan,Thailand. Management has changed since beginning of july 2013. Consecutively, the resort as well as it facilities have been revisited in order to provide best Tantawan customers experience (sunset restaurant creation, new swimming pool area, new bars...). Our accommodations are ideally suited for families, couples as well as independent travelers. We have single, twin and double rooms available in a range of styles. Some of the larger bungalows hold ample decking areas for relaxing while enjoying the breathtaking scenery. Our restaurant offers a combination of thai and western "cuisine" and uses the freshest of ingredients, sourced locally on a daily basis. A wide range of amenities and services are available to ensure customers' comfort and guarantee the best holiday vacations : - 15m x 6m swimming pool with poolside lounging and reading areas - Cocktail and soft drink poolside bar and its relaxing space - Restaurant and sunset terrace suited for romantic dinners as well as happy hour cocktails while glazing at the ocean and Ang Thong natural park - Evening specials with on screen entertainments (International sports and events follow ups) Wifi (available in all bungalows) and internet access (free self service computer) - Booking service and information center (ferry, island trips, car rental, taxi, water taxi, island transportation...) - Motorbike rental and free helmet - Parking, deposit box, postage, laundry service ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tantawan Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing