We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the few nice 'restaurants' in Haad Rin.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Monnalisa

Monnalisa
Ranked #22 of 358 Restaurants in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Ristorante Italiano pizzeria, real Italian pizza,the only Italian restaurant in Haad rin recommended by the Lonely Planet
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the few nice 'restaurants' in Haad Rin.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

After wandering around the whole of Haad Rin and finding nothing but cafe type eateries with basic furniture, table cloths and dirty menus with basic western content and not much eastern either, we came across the Monalisa which offers a nice restaurant feel and nice stonebaked pizza and homemade desserts.
One of the few places on the resort where you will feel like you are sat in a restaurnt.
It maybe wouldnt show up so well in other (nicer) resorts, but in Haad Rin it is in a class of its own.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 83Lol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    141
    50
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Italian food - loved the pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Monnalisa is one of several Italian restaurants in haad rin in koh phangan.
We have eaten there twice and were able to sample the pizza, pasta, fish, gnocchi and desserts.

Pizza with Parma ham and parmesan - I truly love this topping combination and this pizza does not disappoint. Ingredients are fresh. only downside compared to top italian pizzas is the lack of crispiness at the bottom that gives the added crunch. Highly recommended.
Home made Tagliatelle with Bolognese sauce - good dish, only issue was with the richness of the sauce which I believe is caused by the tomatoes. probably due to the lack of good vegtables in the island. Otherwise a sold dish.
Gnocchi with tomato sauch - my girlfriend loved this, if only it was a bigger dish.
Salmon - solid dish, but i would recommend other restaurants for their fish.
Home made Tiramisu - We shared this one as it was quite big. recommended.
Chocolate mousse - solid dessert.

Bottom line:
Very good italian restaurant which I highly recommend.
It is not cheap compared to other eateries but you will find the same price levels in other italian restaurants on the island.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank david_amir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice italian food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

nice pizzas and pastas, good service pretty fair prices. good location right in the middle of haadrin

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Uri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A slice of Italy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Had food here the night of the full moon party. Was very busy but we managed to get seating quite fast. Food was lovely and atmosphere was buzzing. A great eatery on the Island.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scrappycoco80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“service with a smile, and even great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

we had a la carte plate with mixed italian specialites.
3 different ham, sauges 2 cheeses and the fresh home made bread.
everything was super fresh and very tasty.
the service was great friendly with a smile

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monnalisa also viewed

Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Monnalisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing