We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic place!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Coast Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
West Coast Beach Resort
Ranked #62 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a perfect place on the island with it's private beach, bar and restaurant.
After reading some other peoples reveiws, i have to laugh a little bit about 'wild animals' there are lizards, geckos, spiders and although i have not seen them i am quite sure there are snakes and other animals you might find on a tropical island that is their natural habitat.
I have stayed at this resort for a few years now, and the access to the resort is down a windy sandy gravel track towards the coast, i never myself had a problem with the manager Jaco, and if it makes people happy he has actually left now to teach kids north of Bangkok.
It is quiet there, it is the opposite end of the island to Haad Rin (where the beach parties are)
This i find better as you can escape the madness of the parties and just chill out in a hammock away from the chaos!!
I found all of the staff to be helpful, polite, and go out of there way to make my stay as pleasant as possible, i will definatly be there again in dec 2013!
With the experience of riding a bike/moped i learnt over there, the roads on the whole of the island are to say the least a bit dangerous, the hills in to Haad Rin have cost a few people there lives and a few pound in bike repairs. It is not clever but i usually crash every year at least once.
Taxis are available on request, 100 baht to Tong Sala (where the boats come in) and 200 baht to the full moon beach. Which is very reasonable given the location.
I honestly love the place, met some fantastic fellow travelers that have stayed there!

Room Tip: The pool rooms are more expensive with air con but are so nice over the swimming pool, and the veiw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honest_paul1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    37
    13
    9
    65
See reviews for
14
72
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Can only agree with other reviews this place is awful. Dirty, ridden with bugs, sheets are stained and don't look like they've ever been washed. It's an embarrassment. Don't be taken in by cheap prices on offer; they find ways to push the price up and threaten if you don't pay up. This place should be shut down, fast.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I think that I have to write some good things about this place. After come here we were a little bit scared about this place because we had read many bad reviews. But I only can say that I've been sleeping in worst places than this one. The beach is quiet and nice. I don't have any complain about the people who works here, they are kind and friendly. Our bungalow was clean and there were no spiders or bugs, only termits, but they don't go out of the wood. I think is a good place if you want to stay quiet. The truth is it is a little far away of all, but what you need more? Shops? People? I think it is a really nice place and it's not expensive. What do you want for 400 baht per night? A 5 star resort??? This is Tailand!!! And the last thing, we are in a tropical zone, should not be bugs???

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irene5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

In our four week travel through Vietnam and Thailand, this was absolutely the dirtiest, most unfriendly and overpriced "resort" we came across. By making the mistake of taking a guys word on the ferry over to the island and looking at a, what is now, extremely unrealistic pamphlet of the place, we ventured up the island on the hook, line and sinker of the "free taxi" up to the resort. We should have known as we turned down the unfinished, pothole ridden dirt road with very old looking bungalows littered across the property. The food was mediocre at best, the restaurant was dirty, along with the pool, beach, ROOMS, BATHROOMS and the tick infested dogs that hung around the restaurant. (Did I mention along with ants in the sugar jar, that were picked out by hand and then given to guests for their coffee, a rat ran across the floor of the restaurant during dinner?) NO BLANKETS were included in the price, dirty pillows, and a foul smelling bathroom, along with a grungy mosquito net, which we probably should have been grateful for due to the fact that there was no real true walls from the outside mosquitos and cockroaches. We witnessed Jaco get in a verbal aggressive pissing match with two guests for their tab.
No way, not ever again. Terrible.

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KCBS2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Astounded by the positive review below! This place is precisely as bad as all the negative reviews you'll find here. Wished we'd had internet available at the Donsak pier so we could have looked this up before accepting the touts offer of a night in one of the bungalows for 300Baht.

This place is totally isolated and to try and squeeze an extra nights fee out of you they have this ridiculous rule where you have to tell them you wish to check out the night before or they will charge you another 50% of another nights stay. Because we arrived at night we ended up having to spend 2 nights here as we spent the morning of the second day looking for a better place to stay. Food wasn't actually that bad and i didn't really have much contact with the Manager except to pay the bill so can't comment on his behaviour. But the dishonest way of luring you there and the appalling state of the bungalows warrants a terrible rating in itself. Just felt like our rickety shack was going to just topple into the sea at any moment taking us and all the huge spiders, lizards and cockroaches with it. Just terrible!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iammmattdoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Very friendly personell and really good food. Beautiully located by the beach with no nighbouring resorts. A sort of up dated backpacker place. Maybe not so good swimming for the children due to lots of stones in the water, however the pool are was great. Very affordable prices.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camilla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ao Nang, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

After reading some reviews I can only agree! We got approached by the tout on the ferry to kho Phangan and it sounded really nice! We planned to stay only one night anyway, but it was a mistake! We rented a overpriced motorbike and went out for dinner! I didn't wanna spend my cash on this place. After we got back a few hours later, my wife realised someone went through her luggage! The thief only stole a flashlight! Lucky us, because my camera was there too! We think the thief was looking for drugs! Apparently they work with corrupt policemen together!
Anyway avoid this place at all cost! I'm disappointed and angry and wish the hotel goes down!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NinoandAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.1 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
0.2 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#31 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
#67 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
#33 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
#72 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Coast Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast Beach Resort

Property: West Coast Beach Resort
Address: 59/3 moo 8 | Salad Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Haad Gruad Beach Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West Coast Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Coast Beach Resort is fresh and ready to provide professional service. For travelers who want to take in the sights and sounds of Koh Phangan, this is the perfect choice. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your West Coast Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haad Gruad Beach Resort And Spa
Haad Gruad Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing